We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional staff, very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Antica Rupe

L'Antica Rupe
Ranked #4 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Orvieto, Italy
1 review
“Professional staff, very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Professional staff, good food with different specials according to the day, as well as the usual menu. All very good but the rice puddings are a bit stodgy for the summer. Comfortable dining area with privacy between the tables. Excellent restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    186
    33
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
420 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Always Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We always enjoy visiting this family run restaurant when we visit Orvieto and had a wonderful lunch here yesterday. The homemade pasta starters were excellent, pasta cooked to perfection with a hefty spinach in the ravioli and very tasty umbrichelli arrabbiata. Our mains of tagliata all aceto and filetto manzo were both beautifully cooked, tender and delicious. The service by Angelica was excellent, attentive and friendly. We will return again soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
420 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A Favourite in Orvieto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This restaurant is one of our favourites in this wonderful hilltop city in the middle of Italy. It is family run, Mama Angela in the kitchen and two brothers serving and front of house. The restaurant is always warm and cosy and great atmosphere. It is a little off the main street so less frequented by visitors and well-supported by the locals. The pasta is freshly homemade and there are usually seasonal specials. This time we had ravioli with butter and fresh sage and the local specialty pasta of umbrichelli arrabbiata - both were delicious. Out second courses were the daily special of Osso Bucco and Tagliata. The veal was large, lovely and tender, slow-braised and would melt in your mouth. The beef was also tender and very tasty. There is a great selection of reasonably priced local wines. Our bill came to 58 Euro, which included a bottle of wine and sparkling water. There was no room for dessert after this meal! We will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

L'Antica Rupe was recommended by our hotel in Orvieto, as well as by someone at the reception desk of our hotel in San Gimignano. It's located on a little piazza a short walk north of Corso Cavour. My wife and I both started with the insalata ricca, a salad of radicchio, pears, walnuts, and parmesan. Then we both had dishes based on a local pasta, "umbrichelli." I had umbrichelli con tartufo fresco, and my wife had umbrichelli al'arrabiatta, both of which were very good. (Actually, I must say that the truffle sauce was excellent.) We also shared a bottle of a very good Orvieto Classico Superiore, recommnded by our server.

Although we arrived shortly after the restaurant opened, and there was only one couple ahead of us, by the time we left, the spacious restaurant was nearly full -- on a Tuesday evening in November. As far as we could tell, the rest of the diners were all Italian, and parties included businessmen as well as couples and onme or two families. Despite being busy, our server was friendly and efficient. We were very pleased.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_in_Applegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quaint spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Upstairs quiet and good location. Fresh pasta capellini and pappardelle with cingale all wonderful, we also just had a Demi liter of house red wine that was wonderful and very inexpensive. They also have pizza.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank patriziphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Antica Rupe also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to L'Antica Rupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing