We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay, nice staff”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was a perfect hotel, ideally located by the Duomo so good restaurants within very easy walking distance. Breakfasts were your standard continental fare but no issues with them. Wifi too which was handy. Don't understand the comment below re only one glass of orange - it's self service, you help yourself!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank speckledjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 773 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our last night in Italy. It was a wonderful choice. Orvieto is 90 minutes from the Rome airport allowing us to have breakfast and arrive to return our rental car with plenty of time to catch our flight.

The hotel is immaculate and the friendly owners were extremely helpful. Best of all is the location, right next to the Piazza but sheltered from the hustle bustle. Parking is available for an additional fee. Breakfast in the morning is served in a nice breakfast room and contained a variety of pastries, cakes, cheeses, meats, fruit and of course- wonderful coffee.

Orvieto was a perfect end to our great trip. We enjoyed wandering the cobblestone streets and had a fine meal on our last evening at La Palomba with friends who live outside of Orvieto.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation for the great location, free wifi and warm and welcoming owners. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night in August, 2013. The rooms are bright and offer everything you need. Breakfast was nicer than a lot of Italian hotel breakfasts; it included yogurts and cured meats/cheeses. GPS (Garmin) didn't easily find the hotel because there are two routes to enter Orvieto. One leads you into a pedestrian-only zone! Hotel-operated garage was convenient for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeskJobDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Good location, clean rooms but unhelpful, grumpy staff who really couldn't be bothered. Poor breakfast, (little choice and restricted to one glass of orange juice) again served by miserable staff who would clearly have rathered be anywhere else than in the hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Emily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A lovely family run hotel. We felt a genuine warm welcome and a sincere good bye. The hotel was easy to find, not always the case in a hill town, and parking was excellent. The free wifi reception was again excellent. While the hotel is in a side street you are less than 20yds from the magnificent cathedral. The atmosphere in the Piazza del Duomo in the evening is very Italian.
Would gladly return to the Hotel Duomo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlandmoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed with friends for four nights end-May/ early June. Location can't be beat, steps form the Duomo. Physical facilities top notch. Good-sized rooms, modern bath. Nice patio for lunch/drinks. Breakfast was first-rate, good selction. Beat of all was the family that runs the hotel, especially daughter Elisa, who can switch back and forth from English to Italian without skipping a beat. The were as accommodating as could be.
I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 701ralph_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is on a side alley just adjacent (50 yards) to the piazza where the main Duomo/church is so the location is as good as it gets in Orvieto. Short walking distance to the many side streets with dining and shops, had a great meal at Trattoria Da Carlo, as well as listened to music at night in front of the two cafes at the top of the stairs near the hotel. Charming town, this inn is more modern, very clean rooms, working AC, pleasant innkeeper who speaks very little English but manages to provide good service. Wifi available in most rooms (worked in our kid's room, not in our's, which was an end unit, but not a real problem as it worked elsewhere in the lobby, etc.). Great hotel for a family due to size of rooms and close location to all walkable interests in Orvieto.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chewync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 30 in Orvieto
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#22 of 30 in Orvieto
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: $84 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing