We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in Orvieto”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Duomo for two nights, in one of the junior suites with a balcony. The location could not be more perfect--just steps to the duomo, and a view of the side of the duomo from our room. The owners were very helpful, and even though some did not speak much English we managed to communicate just fine. When we first drove into town, exhausted having arrived in Rome that afternoon, we parked in the Piazza Marconi as suggested in the website. I walked to the hotel as my husband waited with the car, and the owner accompanied me back to the Piazza to guide us in through the narrow streets. We had reserved a garage space, which is a must. The owners suggested excellent restaurants both nights that were just steps from the hotel. Breakfast was very good. The only scare we had was that during our stay it was very, very hot, and a sign in the room said that the air conditioning only ran during certain hours, which did not include overnight. I'm happy to report the air conditioning stayed on the entire time, or it may have been unbearable. We had considered staying outside of town, and I am very glad that we made the decision to stay in the center of town where we could explore everything without having the hassle of a car. We loved Orvieto, and the hotel was very much part of the great experience. p.s. Take the Underground Orvieto tour--fascinating!

Room Tip: HIghly recommend the junior suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmom909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 780 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hotel Duomo was a perfect hotel for my adult daughter and me. We had a standard room, and it was quite spacious. Often European rooms with twin beds push the beds together. This room (#202) was large enough that the beds had space between them, and there was still a lot of space around them. There was even an extra area with a table & chairs and views of the Duomo & the tower on the Piazza Duomo. The room was very clean and simple. The hotel's location is great...just a stairway away from the Duomo (yet surprisingly quiet), great for walking to restaurants, and 2 minutes from the bus from the funicular, the tourist information office, and the Orvieto Underground ticket office/starting point (fyi...a tour worth taking). Hotel Duomo is not full of charm or fancy but is definitely above average, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlquestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. It was clean, centrally located, had a good internet connection in the room (5 euro), adequate breakfast, spacious bathroom for Italy, and had a small desk and mini fridge in the room, which I need. The air conditining was very comfortable. There was an elevator, if needed (esp for luggage)

The owner/family members were accomodating when asked for restaurant recommendations. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Hotel Duomo is in the perfect location, the owners are charming and marvelously helpful, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the art makes the stay enchanting. The only thing they could do to make the stay better would be to offer the marvelous breakfast on the terrace, which is especially lovely. We stayed in Italy for a month, and next time we will stay longer at Hotel Duomo on Orvieto. It is an oasis!

Room Tip: Our corner room has a lovely balcony...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingJulianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We just returned from a wonderful trip to Italy. We picked Hotel Duomo from Trip Advisor and it lived up to what the reviews said. The owners are a family of four that all work day and night in the Hotel. They were wonderful, even to the point that the Daughter personally took our laundry to a friend who did a better job than we had ever experienced. The breakfasts were very good, coffee made to order by the Mother. Location couldn't be better as it was a 50 yard walk to the Cathedral Square which is breathtaking.

When we needed our car to travel other Hill Towns, it was sitting by the front door of the Hotel immediatly after we asked for it. Parking was secure and only a minute away from the Hotel.
Room was good size and was clean and well appointed. A perfect place to stay while in Tuscany/Umbril and use as a central point to visit other spots. We drove as far as Sienna with four other visits to various towns. The driving was easy as Orivieto is just off the A1 and accessble to the entire area for sightseeing.

We really were made to feel at home at Hotel Duomo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NandL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The welcome I received was kind and cordial. I arrived before check-in time and my bags were kept for me until the room was ready. The location was perfect!
The room was modern with interesting art and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large and had wonderful amenities. Breakfast was one of the best I had in Italy.
The staff was lovely and I felt very safe as a single woman traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank posie54Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We recently stayed at the 3 room bed & breakfast section which was 50 yards from the Hotel, as we needed a triple room. It was centrally located (a block from the duomo) & modern. We were not disappointed with the roomy and clean room with a comfortable bathroom and a/c. The breakfast included in our night's stay was large & very delicious, but the gem of this hotel is its staff. The owner, Gianni & his daughter, Elisa were professional, courteous & extremely helpful. For example, we were lost, trying to find the hotel & frustrated while driving the tiny mixed up streets. Finally, we gave up & parked the car in a plaza & went looking for the hotel on foot. Once we found it, Gianni walked back with us to the car & drove it to the hotel's parking lot, all with a smile on his face, These types of experiences is what makes the traveler feel welcomed & appreciated. Due to this, we will recommend this hotel to all our friends & look forward to returning to this lovely hotel in the future,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpcck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
506 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Inncasa
Inncasa
#1 of 30 in Orvieto
626 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#4 of 30 in Orvieto
389 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Virgilio
Hotel Virgilio
#19 of 30 in Orvieto
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Orvieto
#3 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing