We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome equal to none”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A welcome equal to none”
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We drove to Orvieto after picking up a car in Rome. We had a rather larger car than expected as we booked an automatic. Thanks to the GPS, we approached the hotel without difficulty until we encountered a truck parked in one of the narrow streets and 2 men talking. When we asked for help, one of them turned out to be the owner of the hotel. He took the wheel and we arrived in style. Both he and his daughter, who speaks English fluently, were just as helpful throughout our stay. Hotel was lovely, in a quiet location just off the main square and the Duomo, which is not to be missed. We drove to Civetta, which was quite an experience, but were very glad we had chosen to stay in Orvieto. We would absolutely return to Hotel Duomo.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    290
    61
    11
    7
See reviews for
153
408
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orvieto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Hotel Duoma had friendly efficient service with a very good selection on the buffet breakfast. Our room was spacious and clean with a balcony and like the rest of the hotel was individualised by 'real' modern art works in our room and around the hotel as opposed to boring 'hotel' art. All the rooms are named after significant local artists and architects.
We were part of a small group staying in Orvieto for 4 nights and we all found Orvieto to be magical, interesting and refreshingly relaxing. We had originally planned to visit other places close by but were quite content to stay put in such a beautiful medieval city, where we were made to feel very welcome. However if you didn't have a car, transport to other places was limited, but it really didn't matter to us. The hotel was almost next to the cathedral which is stunning both inside and out. We felt quite privileged to be able to view it floodlit at night after all the day trippers had left. On this trip we returned to Orvieto after 15 years and were not disappointed. It is timeless.

Room Tip: Ask for room Lorenzo Maitani for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumnrose_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

An absolutely delightful hotel.The service was excellent in every way. They even took the time to find a parking space for us. An unnecessay service that we really appreciated. The room was very nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast had a very nice assortment of items : cereals, fruit, pasteries, eggs...We thought it was well above average. The location could not have been better. It was near the main square and lent itself to easy access to all parts of Orvieto. Very quiet and peaceful..We slept well each night and were not bothered by the church bells. Can't say enough good things about the service and friendliness of all hotel personnel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acraw42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This well-run, immaculately clean hotel is not immediately adjacent to the famous cathedral, but is a stone's throw away - the surroundings are not that glamorous, but the hotel itself is stylish and has interesting paintings/designs hung on the walls - some by a local artist, others carrying forward themes in the cathedral frescoes. Our room was quite small, but comfortable. Breakfasts were particularly good, with very good fresh buns and cakes (as well as loads else)!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

Amazing view of the Duomo and just a few steps away. Rooms were lovely, the city is very charming. Be sure to enjoy the unique ceramics of Orvieto! Shipping items home was easy and trustworthy.

Room Tip: Room 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This little hotel is a wonderful place to stay for a weekend in Orvieto. The location is fantastic . . . . within view of the Duomo and with a charming staff. The rooms are clean and well appointed. We were a little "cool" in the room and the man came right up and set the heat to come on while we were at dinner. What a great place! The breakfast was "typical" Italian with yogurts, cheeses, fresh fruits, and pastries. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to make a trip up to Orvieto!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were traveling with our 15 year old son and 17 year old daughter. We spent one night at The Duomo Hotel, and we were very pleased with the decision. I thought our room was very nice. There were two large beds (double or queens?) and a twin bed in another small rooms. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beautiful Duomo, and close to the sights.

We parked about a half a block from the hotel, after dropping off our luggage. The lot was metered parking, but I think I stuffed about 5 euro in the box and it rolled over until noon the next day, which was just great, since we were planning to depart the next morning. One of the hotel staff drove my car around a very tight corner for me, which was much appreciated.

Reading previous reviews, I don't even recall the artwork in my room (room 102). It was a very nice room by any standards, with a little view of the Duomo. Quiet, clean, what more does one need? The bathroom shower was admittedly small, even by European standards, but we had no problems with it..

I think it is a plus to leave your key at the front desk. Many hotels suggested we do this. Not a problem and actually a convenience, considering how many pockets I have to rifle though in a day.

The family at the front desk were all terrific as far as I was concerned. Elisa speaks wonderful English and her father does quite well, too. Breakfast was "continental" at best, but a couple of cappuccinos were all I wanted, basically. There were quite a few carbohydrates from which to choose. Breakfast is seemingly not a big deal in Italy.

In summary, I see that my review is following a less than stellar review and I have to say I have no idea what these people are unhappy about. The hotel is reasonably priced, quiet, friendly, charming, in a great location, in a really unique town. This is not a 5 star hotel, but it is not priced to be, either.

We loved Orvieto and will go back again someday. We ate at Trottoria de la Grotto for lunch and thought it was very good. For dinner, we chose the L'Oste Del Re for great pizza and a litter of house wine. It was great!

I

Room Tip: Room 102 was good, but try same corner but higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auchledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orvieto hotels
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Piccolomini
Palazzo Piccolomini
#7 of 30 in Orvieto
484 reviews
2.4 mi away
Locanda Rosati
Locanda Rosati
#5 of 30 in Orvieto
368 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misia Country Resort
Misia Country Resort
#3 of 30 in Orvieto
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corso
Hotel Corso
#14 of 30 in Orvieto
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Italia
Grand Hotel Italia
#21 of 30 in Orvieto
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Badia di Orvieto
La Badia di Orvieto
#10 of 30 in Orvieto
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Vicolo Maurizio 7, 05018, Orvieto, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Terni > Orvieto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Orvieto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Orvieto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Orvieto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing