We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally tried it!”

Le Grotte del Funaro
Ranked #16 of 171 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the historic center and medieval heart of Orvieto, 10 meters from the elevator to the Campo della Fiera parking lot, there is a cave in the cliff that was carved out by hand. This atmospheric place witnessed the craft of rope making over many centuries. Today this cave is a distinctive and one of a kind restaurant where one can taste traditional flavours made new in unique and harmonious combinations, such as: Truffles, porcini mushrooms, wild game. Or, if you prefer, you can enjoy a variety of seafood, skillfully prepared, or take in the smokey aromas of our pizza baking in wood, brick ovens. We serve the highest quality products and excellent wines from our well, stocked "cantina". The rooms are made up of the original stone walls and vaulted ceilings of the cave and which fancifully meander onto different floors. It's winding, welcoming, rich in charm and history. In addition, we have a summer veranda which offers eating outside where you can enjoy the beauty of the landscape that surrounds the cliff.
Somerset Tasmania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally tried it!”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I walked by this place day in and day out during my month in Orvieto .I finally decided as it was my closest eating venue to try it one evening. What a gem of a place and delicious food and wine!Much, much more exciting than its exterior. It has outdoor dining but not suited to the time I was residing in Orvieto so I hadn't realised what a fabulous place it was.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    227
    80
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

All started well when we went for Sunday lunch.Good starters of smoked salmon for me and rustica starter for my husband. We both had the ravioli with ricotta and truffle. We were very disappointed with the main course as the ravioli tasted like rubber and the strong paste ( and lots of it) was not very nice at all. It tasted like a very strong olive and you could not taste the truffles at all.The chocolate pudding was dry. However my husband had the strawberries which were ok.
The service wasI good. and the setting is lovely. However it was expensive and there are better places to go. Would never return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jann58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The most amazing ambiance!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were told about this by the Owners of the Agri-tourismo we were staying at. We had been 6to Orvieto earlier that day and knew about taking the elevator to get up to this city atop a small mountain. The restaurant was right at the top about 20 yards from that elevator. We knew it was in the "Underground" of Orvieto, but when we walked down the stairs we were amazed at what greeted our eyes. It really IS a grotto and it was beautifully done every bit of it freshly finished and so unique and romantic! It was very private due to it's shape of undulating walls that were how this grotto was originally shaped! The food was the best we had in all of Italy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Fav!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our favorite in the city! We went here twice! The truffle pasta as to die for and my husbands steak was the best!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic setting”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The setting in the cave and the smell of the fire set the tone for a lovely evening. The food was very good. My boyfriend really enjoyed the mixed grill of game meats/foul. It was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grotte del Funaro also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Le Grotte del Funaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing