We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cinghiale at last!!!”

Trattoria La Palomba
Ranked #8 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cinghiale at last!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It has been a while since our wonderful winter trip to Italy. One of us had last stayed in Orvieto in 1988 as a student visiting the Signorelli frescoes. So here we were some 25 years later on a one night stop over between Firenze and Roma. It was a little chilly and Orvieto was half closed but after a few chats with the locals it became clear that La Palomba was the place to try all those lovely rustic Umbrian classics.

La Palomba is a family restaurant and we received a warm welcome. On the night we arrived it seemed like a local reunion of some sort was taking place as everyone seemed to know the host and owner Giampiero by name. So the vibe was highly convivial and a good time was had by all.

As a student 25 years ago it was strictly pizza and the odd panini - the best of Italian cuisine was well out of my price range. I had dreamed of trying Wild Boar back in the day so you could say this meal was a date with destiny.

We loved it - Trattoria La Palomba was one of most memorable meals in nearly a month in Italy including some superb meals in Sicilia, Roma and Firenze.

We knew that Cinghiale was going to be our main course so primo piatto was the only chance to experiment. My wife chose the lovely Stracciatella broth/soup a real local treat. Hearty, refined and rustic, but most of all warming with a subtle citrus tang. We had spent a chilly winter's day taking in a few sights in Orvietto so this was the perfect way to warm up a little - classy comfort food.

I chose the umbricelli al tartufo which is a very upmarket carbonara with grated black truffle atop - molto suggestivo and aromatic. Yum x 10!!!

Then the moment arrived... the famous wild boar stew. This is a grunty, rustic number with enough protein to keep you going for days. Well worth the wait. I will not attempt to describe the full majesty of the taste of this meal other than to say book a table next time you are in Orvietto

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HamishConey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    419
    85
    29
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“+”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Extremely pleasant staff. Prices: insalata mista 3-50, boconcini cinghale 9-50, wine 5 for 1/2 l, coperto 2.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank physicus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Happy to rediscovered a good restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Back a few weeks ago I had the chance to dine at Trattoria La Palomba in Orvieto and it was a real rediscover since for many years I didn't have the pleasure of having a meal there.
La Palomba it was and still is an excellent dining choice on the Orvieto restaurant scene.
Quick service, even on a busy night, friendly but professional service, competent and really willing to help with food orders. Large menu with lots of local specialties. Wine list adequate for the menu dishes, Orvieto is a wine town and it couldn't offer an appropriate selection of local wines that can beautifully match the food. I enjoyed the local dessert list as well. Price in line with comparable restaurants and good dining prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtravel_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabriano
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unforgettable flavors”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Eccellent dishes, the best are Umbrichelli al Tartufo and roasted lamb. Very regional specific Wines.The service is fast and the owner expertise and gentle Aldo wing children. I'll come back for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corcovado67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
423 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Reliable Long-Established Orvieto Restaurant”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the years and it never disappoints. It is warm and cosy, small and intimate, family-run. The homemade pasta is wonderful. It is frequented by both locals and visitors alike as it good value and appeals to people who love good local food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Palomba also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Trattoria La Palomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing