We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two strikes... YOU'RE OUT”
Review of Monalda Bevitoria con cucina - CLOSED

Monalda Bevitoria con cucina
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Orvieto, Italy
1 review
“Two strikes... YOU'RE OUT”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wandered in to Nonnamelia one evening and was greeted by an enthusiastic, charming server named Yo. We had a delicious meal with attentive service including some Italian lessons. We were impressed that our waitress spoke 3 languages!

Fast forward to the following night when we decided to return for dinner before a concert. We were immediately disappointed that Yo was not our waitress(there are only 2 waitresses). The other waitress completely ruined our dinner and caused us to be late for the concert. The service was inexcusable. We waited almost an hour for our first course. Our waitress never approached us to ask if we needed anything. At one point they brought out a plate of spinach completely separate from the rest of the meal. The cheese platter which was huge and beautifully arranged the first night did not even come close the second night. This was the menu item that brought us back along with the jovial waitress service from Yo. This second waitress should be fired before she destroys this potentially excellent restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4_4Dinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    19
    19
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I loved it”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I loved the inside decoration and the atmosphere!
I'm jealus of the record collection!!!
The food was very good, simple recipes but with fresh materials!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nantia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cool decorations and location”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I love the inside of this place. Very nice mix between the LP's on the wall and the projectors in the old tavern. Our server was average a little on the slow side but she seemed to always be in a rush for something as it was busy. The food was good but a little on the pricey side for the portions we received. I would eat here again as I thought the menu had some unique items on it. Nice to see a location like this starting a fresh restaurant not just another old pasta location like many in these small Italian towns.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal in Italy.”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We never thought it was not possible to have a bad meal in Italy until we ate in nonna Amelia. Food was terrible, service was awful and owner was so arrogant. She slapped the bill on our table and walked off without even looking at us. We were so appalled by her behavior. Please don't waste your time here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Saw this restaurant and thought it looked really nice from outside. (Shows that appearances can be deceptive). Waitress was abrupt and rather unfriendly. Waited 30 mins for appetizer. Ordered Gnochhi but was given or should i say thrown something else to eat. Waitress again not happy. My husband ordered a main which had no vegetables whatsoever. Had to wait for the bill which had a host of extras on it with no items listed of what we had. Am now having to munch on some crisp as still hungry!! Has to be the worst restaurant i've eaten in in Italy so far. Don't bother with this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank harpo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monalda Bevitoria con cucina also viewed

 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing