We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent home made family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antico Bucchero

Antico Bucchero
Ranked #22 of 170 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent home made family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience having found Antico Bucchero in October2013. In a side street not far from the Orvieto cathedral, this restaurant was a highlight of our european holiday, sublime fodd passionately made and prepared. We had the wild rabbit ragu and spinach and ricotta ravioli that melted in the mouth. Deserts were fabulous and the desert wine risoli perfectly complimented. The staff were very attentive and the whole experience was so wonderful, we returned for a dinner that did not dissapoint. We cannot recommend this restaurant highly enough. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    150
    60
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for a fancier dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restuarant had more space in its layout than most and was really good for our more dressy, upperscale night out. Had a great potato soup, dreamy gnocchi quatro formaggi with a rich tangy, sharp cheese, and tagliatelle al ragu di con, which was rabbit, pasta ribbons and a rich red sauce. Their tiramisu was awesome. Some of the best wine we had in Orvieto.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family run, feel and vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent meal we stumbled into on our first night in Orvieto.

The brothers who run it were beyond welcoming and I couldn't have asked for a better start to my time here!

Helpful?
Thank UncleBrendy02124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wow. What a great place. Food excellent, service exceptional and great atmosphere. This will be easy top of the chain with more time. Had truffle bread to start followed by boar pasta and rabbit. All three perfect flavor and exceptional temperature. Desert was the best in 3 weeks of travel. Tiramisu, small on the portion
Size but again, exceptional flavor. Very pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynCvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went with family, including a baby, and the service was very good. We sat outside under umbrellas and enjoyed a variety of dishes - wild boar pappardelle, vitello tonnato, melanzane parmigiana and some delicious local (from Orvieto area) white wine. It is not on the main road but just off it, a few metres up an alley. A good find. The meal for four adults came to less than a hundred euros with two bottles of wine, coffee, soft drinks, etc. included.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Bucchero also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Antico Bucchero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing