We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vinosus

Vinosus
Ranked #34 of 168 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
brockport, ny
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great food and a fabulous wait staff. We sat indoors in a beautiful dining room but the outdoor terrace looked very inviting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank allan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    70
    18
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place for dinner, couple, family or business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This well placed restaurant is owned by a nice and crazy guy that is at first a professional oenologist. And this where this place shines.

The guy is very nice, just let him advise you and you will be delighted by the marriage between his cooking and the his selection of wines.

The place is sweet, it has quite some paintings and a nice ceiling that reminds the french decoration of early 17th. The main place is square which emphasises this french impression of "petit salon". There's also a terrace that unfortunately I couldn't test because of the weather, but I still visited it; must be nice and full in summer. It is situated right near the Duomo and you access it by the main plaza. It has a "small village" touch like all the restaurants that have their access near il Duomo.

Regarding the cooking it's good and fine and quite innovative. The meals are exquisite, especially the pasta cooked with mussels, from starters to dessert they are all very fine, ingredients are fresh and from the region. The prosecco is a poem. And this where you want the chief to advise you with his selection of wines. It can be a bit pricey but it's really worth the bucks. Just try it, chat with the guy and you're up for a very nice and sweet evening. Ask for his special dessert in a small jar, quite sweet but very delicate.

This place can really be a very nice spot for a romantic "serra". The only thing that wasn't my taste were the zucchini flowers, but it's really a matter of taste, they were perfectly done anyway.

A must go, and get a bottle or two of this prosecco of his, nuf said !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mourjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orvieto, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I really can't say enough about this place. The food is by far the best food in Orvieto in my humble opinion. As an american living in Orvieto for the last year and a half, this place has become my favorite treat. A perfect little oasis in the shadow of the Duomo. The staff are friendly and helpful (and speak English and other languages should you need it). The decor is beautifully elegant, but somehow not stuffy or pretentious. Go there.... you will not regret it. Such a treat!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbjuniper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Special Setting, soothing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A late summer evening, and on recommendation of our Italian host, we went here for dinner. Initially, I was a little concerned both by its proximity to the piazza, but also by the indoors nature of the restaurant. What I missed was that there is an excellent rooftop terrace overlooking the cathedral. To sit here, and have a view 300 years old is special - such that the food almost becomes secondary. However, it was prepared in a true Italian manner - let the flavors show through, and don't muck about too much. No bargain, but what do you expect in such a setting, and certainly not a tourist trap - almost all diners were locals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EuroBye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So good I'm reluctant to share this..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We returned to Vinosus tihs year, having found it a couple of years ago when visting Orvieto for the day.

Then, as now, it was a blazingly hot day in August. Then - hot, thirsty hungry and footsore - we had stumbled on Vinosus almost by accident, tucked away behind its inauspicious frontage in the less busy end of the Piazza Duomo. This time the thought of lunch at Vinosus sustained the male party members as we trudged from one shoe or postcard shop to another in the morning.

Lunch at Vinosus is a great pleasure; the terrace, almost invisible from the Piazza, gives wonderful views of the surrounding country and the rear of the Duomo. and with its wide umbrellas and comfortable furniture, is a great setting.

The food is reliably excellent, from the antipasti to the pastas & pizzas and the meat dishes, and I personally can report I had the best pasta dish I've ever eaten in the form of the Umbricelli Amatriciana I had there this year.

The wine list features the best local and Umbrian regional wines, and led on both occasions to savouring several bottles of the tasty Orvieto Classico Riserva.

Service is prompt and courteous - the staff reluctantly eventually revealing their English was loads better than our Italian.

Lunch is wonderful, but we have yet to try dinner; maybe an objective for next time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Banker_on_the_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinosus also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Vinosus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing