We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coniglio Ever”

Tipica Trattoria Etrusca
Ranked #21 of 171 Restaurants in Orvieto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Coniglio Ever”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here to lunch in a rush, ended up having a full 4 course meal. Food, service, wine excellent-would not let us take wine we did not like, kept bringing new ones till we found the best to our taste. Best rabbit I ever tasted outside and inside of Italy. Photo of my teddy whom I carry everywhere with one of our two dedicated waiters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    112
    43
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food, incredible service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place was a real highlight of our trip to italy. The waiter, Saluman was so helpful and attentive - we feel like we made a new friend. We loved the food, especially the pasta. I had one with roasted veg, my husband's had mushrooms. We also ordered lamb and finished with tiramisu. Dont miss a visit here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amf_stc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yummy Bunny!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The homemade gnocci was great! The beef steak Florentine was delicious. The rabblt was quite delicious with its tantalising herb sauce. We swilled it down with a nice glass of local Orevieto wine. Worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidazerbaijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What an amazing find on a dreary day in Orvieto”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Mike and I were shopping for Ceramics in Orvieto and they referred us to Etrusca. We walked up the side street and were the only folks there since this is off season and a Tuesday during the winter. The welcoming was wonderful and the gentleman that was working in the kitchen called the manager/wine sommelier to come to help us. He was there in five minutes and helped us to choose an amazing local wine that was very reasonable in price. I have my own wine in Napa, CA called KaDieM Cellars, and so I am a bit of a wine geek. Once he heard this he invited us down into the wine cellar and the building was built in 100 AD -- a HUNDRED years before Christ. Then the recommended dishes were incredible - two different pastas one with black truffles and one with ham and tomatoes. We were so happy! Thinking we had no room for dessert, he made us a sampler of three different desserts that topped off the meal. We will absolutely go here again when we are in the area. Please go by and check them out!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karendfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really average food and service”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

A bit amazed this has such high ratings on Tripadvisor. Started with the "Chefs fantasy" antipasti that had raw mushrooms, undressed salad and tiny amounts of cold meats. More of a nightmare than fantasy. For mains we had cinghiale (wild boar) that was very tough and needed to be cooked a lot longer. On top of this it was pretty expensive relative to many other restaurants we have been visiting in the region that were higher quality. The only plus side for us was location, being so close to the Duomo, but then again most restaurants in the best locations tend to get by with serving mediocre food.

There are plenty of restaurants in Orvieto, I would choose a different one.

Helpful?
Thank Platinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipica Trattoria Etrusca also viewed

Orvieto, Province of Terni
 
Orvieto, Province of Terni
Orvieto, Province of Terni
 

Been to Tipica Trattoria Etrusca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing