We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
201
76
12
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
201
76
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boot room ski hotel wonderful hotel people watch restaurant staff just returned from a week pretty village experienced skiers storage space st christina the ski bus stop skiing holiday val gardena every evening great spa wine list superior room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 298 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Just returned from a week's family skiing with girls aged 11 and 14 at the genziana. Hotel staff excellent throughout and the quality of the food was exceptional. Nicely presented bar with a good range of drinks. Spa facilities with a modest sized swimming pool which was great post-skiing. Room allocated ski lockers with heated boot holders. Approx 10 minute walk to one gondola and 5 minutes to the other. Dinner a highlight of every day - 6 immaculate courses, a very good wine list and excellent attentive service. We are already planning our return!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank P4916WEdavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019 via mobile

Mr Monkeyhumble and I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Genziana, Ortisei, to anyone seeking the perfect ski holiday. It was our first time skiing in Italy after many years in Austria. We could not be happier about our choice. The beautifully designed reception and bar area made us feel at home immediately. Our room was ready and we were delighted by what 222 had to offer us. Unlike many ski hotel rooms it was bright and light with masses of storage space. Our balcony was of generous size and a relaxing place to people watch. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom well-equipped and spacious. We had a bath with shower over, hairdryer, robes and slippers, and toiletries.
The spa area is luxurious with a fantastic whirlpool, very comfortable main pool area, and lovely swimming pool with fantastic lighting effects. We enjoyed the peaceful ambience of the spa (we didn’t use the steam room/sauna/treatments but saw lots of guests doing so).
The food is fantastic. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, especially the fresh juice area. Evening meals were delicious, with imaginative starters, healthy soups, pasta course, a really good choice of mains, and the most luxurious desserts. Wine choices are excellent and well priced.
The team in the restaurant and bar are lovely, Bruno, Antonio, Gianluca. We had a lot of laughs with them, and some tears (see below).
The boot room is small but brilliantly organised, with each room having its own locker for skis, boots, gloves etc. Our boots have never been so deliciously warm and comfortable in the morning. It’s an easy walk to two ski lifts joining Ortisei to numerous other ski areas. The ski bus stop is in the square next to the hotel and free bus passes are provided.
Not to be missed are the free escorted ski away days (see your Genziana morning mail for details). We did the Sella Ronda (Orange route) with Gianfranco, a ski school instructor for over 40 years and former Olympic team coach. This cost us nothing except a very well-deserved tip to Gianfranco. Similar trips run every day and are not to be missed. As experienced skiers we still learnt so much and will remember the day forever.
Sadly I threw myself into a pile of soft snow on the Wednesday and seriously damaged my knee (many thanks to the Dolomite Sportclinic for patching me up). I write this review from my crutches! The team at the Genziana could not have been kinder, more caring, or more helpful. This is the mark of a truly great hotel - how they treat their guests in a crisis. Thank you for helping us at a time when we felt pretty miserable.
We will be back in January 2020. Please keep our room warm for us.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Just returned after a fantastic weeks stay at this hotel. Food is great, service and staff are brilliant and very close to all Ski amenities. 5 minute walk to Seiser Alm lift with skis and boots and literally 2 minute walk to escalator for the other local lifts. Fantastic skiing area, in fact the most beautiful we have ever been to. The town is more like a Austrian town than a typical Italian town, with lovely hotels and shops all around. The food in the hotel was superb all week with a choice of 6 courses each evening, including a lovely salad bar to start off with. The hotel has heated individual lockers for your skis and boots which was great as they were lovely and warm in the mornings. The restaurant staff must also get a mention, especially Antonio who looked after our area of the restaurant for the week. He always had a smile on his face and nothing was any trouble. All in all this is the best ski hotel we have stayed in in terms of service, food and boot room, it also have a lovely spa and swimming pool area. The reception staff were great throughout the week, and we hope we can go back next year. We would definitely like to stay here again for our next ski holiday. Thanks again to all the staff who made our holiday one to remember.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David6956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2018 via mobile

I spent 1 week at this hotel and faced lots of mess, heat facilities were out of order at nights and room was getting chilly, furthermore the owner of the hotel was so tricky and fishy : I have received email with breakfasts and dinners confirmed offer, but in 4 days after check in the owner of the hotel Giovanni told us that we had to pay extra charge for dinners, it looked very unfair and deceitful. If you want to spoil your holiday you are more than welcome to this hotel. The owner looked so shabby wearing his torn boots with a hole on the top when he tried to usher us to the car. Don’t waste your money and time by staying at Genziana! There are a lot of better hotels around , Adler or Covalino Bianco etc.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 23evgenyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

Just returned from a week walking in the Val Gardena area of which the first four nights were spent in this amazing hotel. From the moment we arrived we received the warmest of welcomes, nothing was too much trouble for the staff - when we returned dripping from one of the walks our boots and rucksacks were whisked to the warm room below to dry. It is quite evident how much pride the staff take in providing the service that they do. The food was out of this world as is the swimming pool and spa area in the basement. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable with all modern conveniences. We used Lukas the guide for 3 days and he was excellent, as a party of 6 it was a bonus to have someone suggest walks for us and have the inside information on which lifts and huts were open. Highly recommended and we will be back.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews