We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, perfectly comfortable, and a great value”
Review of Hotel Digon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Digon
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly, perfectly comfortable, and a great value”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Digon in the spectacular Val Gardena for 5 nights in September and it was one of the best holiday experiences of our lives. Here's why:

Service: The beauty of the region was enhanced by the excellent service provided by the Hotel Digon, and specifically by Daniel, son of the owners, who appeared to be able to speak any and all languages. We were the only English speakers there for most of our time, so we appreciated him very much. Klaus was our excellent waiter, and he could not have been more competent and warm. We were picked up in the town centre on arrival, lent walking sticks, and treated very well. The staff were always cheerful and prepared to answer any questions. Flawless.

Location: The hotel's location, away from the town centre, was, for us, perfect-- no other buildings overlook the hotel, so we had complete privacy in the room and on the balcony and could leave the window and curtains open at night. This arrangement would be difficult to find in the centre of Ortisei since the houses and hotels are very close together. The walk to town was an easy 15 minutes, mostly downhill. We took the bus back home-- the bus to/from Castelrotto and the centre of Ortisei stops directly in front of the hotel.

Services: There is no pool at the hotel (or spa, or sauna…) but access to the lovely Ortisei public pool was free (swim caps mandatory, so bring one or buy one there). Guided hikes were also free, but a bit of a challenge for English speakers as they were conducted in German and Italian. We got by with our smattering of Italian and French, and the guide was very accommodating.

Room: We loved our room in the new building: bright, spotlessly clean, with a great shower (no bath), double sink and bidet, comfortable bed, fluffy duvets and lots of storage. We liked that the floor was bare pine rather than carpeted. There was a very nice view from the balcony over green lawns and down to the valley.

Food: The half-board plan is a fantastic deal. The quantity of food is very generous, and the quality, while not at the fine dining level, was very good. Breakfast is a buffet of cereals and yogurt, fruit salad, pastries, boiled or scrambled eggs, bacon, cold meats, cheeses and breads. The dinner menu was presented each morning, giving an opportunity to request substitutions, which were never a problem. The menu featured quite a bit of beef and veal when we were there. We recommend that you let them know clearly in advance what you can and cannot eat: one of us did not eat beef, but they confused this for vegetarianism. As it turns out, the vegetarian options were delicious, if cheesy. The wine list was good, but pricey-- least expensive bottle was 14E--but they will hold a partially consumed bottle for you for the next night, if you wish.

Suggestions and downsides: It is hard to find fault with such a wonderful place, but there are a few very minor issues that could be addressed to make the Digon even better. Tables in the dining room were assigned by room and did not change over the course of our stay-- which is fine if you have a nice table looking out to the valley, but not so great if your table looks out to the car park. We would have appreciated a rotation of tables so we had a change of view and new neighbours to chat with. The exterior lighting was on a timer that went out too late for us, so we couldn't see the stars. I would put the lights in the control of the rooms, or turn them out earlier. A less expensive house wine by the litre of half-litre would have been appreciated.

Last point: We arrived at the hotel as a female couple in what appears to be a fairly conservative area. In our experience, some hotels will switch us from a booked room with a double bed to two singles when they see us, or treat us differently from straight couples. This can really affect the tone of our holidays and make us uncomfortable. I am happy to report that the Digon staff never missed a beat—there was absolutely no weirdness or tone, and no attempt to shift us to a room with twin beds. In fact, we were upgraded—for no apparent reason — to a higher level room on arrival. We really appreciated this excellent service and will most certainly return to this hotel on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2due
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    62
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
82
103
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Our 3-night stay at the Hotel Digon was by far the best experience we've had traveling in Europe. Be sure to take the half-board option; the price is much less than what you'll pay eating elsewhere and the generous breakfast buffet and 4-course evening meals are absolutely delicious. This was the first place we stayed in in Italy that offered baskets of fresh fruits and lots of vegetables as part of every meal. Our room was enormous, trimmed with fragrant new wood; it had wonderful beds, a luxurious bathroom, and a balcony that looked over a mountain valley right out of "The Sound of Music". The family goats and chickens occasionally parading past below us added to the charm.

The hotel is out of town and most guests seemed to arrive by car, but we had no trouble arriving by public transportation (train to Bolzano, then bus to Ortisei). The hotel owners very generously offered to pick us up in town and drove us back in to the bus station on the day we left. They also had bikes available for guests to use, free guided hikes, complementary aperitifs on the terrace, and very inexpensive WiFi compared to what we paid in other hotels - just 3.5 Euros for 24 hours. Plus the area itself is outstanding for sightseeing and all sorts of outdoor activities. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2009

The Stuflesser Family provide Excellent service! Upon arrival our group of 27 American/Candian tourist/skiers were made to feel at home. Illness/ Emergency Hospital trip and travel glitches were handled promptly and efficiently. All staff were consistently pleasant, helpfull and able to answer many diverse queries. Excellent, varied food coupled with wonderful regional wines made the dining experiences enjoyable. The rooms, common areas and property were kept spotless. Avalanche road/tunnel closures necessitated revised travel plans ; which the staff capably arranged. A bus departure at 1:30am was cheerfully dealt with; complimentary beverages and pre-planned luggage/ ski loading ensured a smooth procedure. After check out , when no longer technically guests ; the Family assistance in forwarding forgotten personal items was invaluable. We met other guests who have chosen to return to this Hotel and my husband and I would certainly do the same. Jim and Lorraine Kropf

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2008

This is my fifth visit to Hotel Digon and it never fails to impress me. It's situated in a very quiet area just outside Ortisei/St Ulrich and very close to the most wonderful walking areas in the Dolomites. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is fantastic. Frau Schuflesser is a wonderful cook and is always happy to cook non-meat dishes for me. The breakfast is as good as any five star hotel can provide. They use excellent ingredients and cook with care for their guests. The atmosphere in the hotel is extremely friendly and the service from the family and staff is immediate and courteous. I have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Digon and look forward to my next visit.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DolomitesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
1.2 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
1.1 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rodes
Hotel Rodes
#37 of 46 in Ortisei
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#8 of 46 in Ortisei
317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#29 of 46 in Ortisei
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Digon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Digon

Property: Hotel Digon
Address: Digon Str. 22, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ortisei
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#13 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Digon 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently renovated and in an ideal location both summer and winter, the Hotel Digon is an family owned and managed hotel with the main goal to do everything possible to provide an unforgettable holiday experience all year round. To mention is also the farm nearby from which organic products are taken from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Digon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Digon Hotel Ortisei
Hotel Digon Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing