We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and style”
Review of AlpenHotel Rainell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AlpenHotel Rainell
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfort and style”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

It is a Ladinian style hotel which offer comfortable rooms, good dinners and abundant breakfast. Perfect for families. I enjoyed the position for the view of the valley, although someone mught not love waiting for bus shuttle to get to the cable car stations or walking uphill to come back from Ortisei.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank oikos68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Hotel is located above Ortisei, close to the city center and the ski lifts. They are providing a minibus to transport their guests up and down the gruelling hill.

We got an upgrade to the chalet which is located 10 meters from the hotel. The chalet has an excellent view of the valley and has a large bedroom with a small sofa and coffeetable. In addition there is a huge bathroom. Luxury!

However, there is no wifi in the chalet, but you can connect to internet with a cabel.

The staff is very professional and dedicated to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The food is excellent and they serve a four course menue every evening.

The hotel has an agreement with a ski rental (Carlos) so you can either book your skis in advance or go to their shop, and they will bring and pick up your skis
at the hotel.

Alpenhotel Rainell is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at, and we are definitly comming back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeoandTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed three nights with half-board (which seemed to be the norm for the other largely German-speaking guests) and were glad we did. (In case you aren't aware, this part of Italy is more German-speaking than Italian, and overall, the area combines the best of German and Italian cultures, though most folks you'll encounter as a tourist will also speak some English as well as some French.) Breakfast buffets were enormous, and dinner portions were as well. You will not go hungry, and though this is not big-city fine dining, it is regional cuisine nicely prepared and with reasonably priced wines. We especially appreciated the fresh salad greens plus tons of add-ons. The half-board option meant that we could hike all day (and eat lunch--with beer or wine and espresso!--at huts along the way), come back to the room, get clean, and then go downstairs to a lovely dinner (in a very attractive dining room with big picture windows) at our leisure. No getting in the car, searching for parking, finding a just-OK place to eat.

We stayed in Ortisei because we wanted to hike in the Dolomites, and though the other nearby towns are also cute, Ortisei seems to be the largest, have the most going on, and the most gondolas (plus a new train) that helpfully cut off the steepest/least interesting vertical feet so that you can gain access to the interesting trails. The owner provided great advice for hikes both days.

We splurged and stayed in a larger room (which we weren't in long enough to fully enjoy because the weather and hiking were so great), but I think they all have balconies, and the beds are very comfortable. The place looks relatively new, and it nicely combines traditional design with contemporary style. If we ever get a chance to go back, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

we arrived there following a recommendation from the very helpful tourist information office in Ortisei. with no reservations the offer we got was 140 Euro per night for 2 persons for Half Board.
the room was a bit small but with great view.
the hotel location is a bit up on the hill, easy to get to the city center but not see easy climbing back after hiking in the mountains...
the Hotel staff was absolutely amazing, as their creativity and effort the made adjusting the dinner out of the menu to vegetarian requirements are absolutely admirable.
few areas for improvement:
1. when we arrived the hotel (before register) they claimed for having Jacuzzi which on the day after appeared to be active by coins. a bit dissapointing as they let us think that the Jacuzzi is free for use.
2. it's quite weird asking for money for wifi when you already have the infrastructure, especially while budget hotels provide this service for free.

overall, despite these 2 issues I have mentioned we had a very great time there thanks to the amazing hospitality and the very good dinner we had there. George (the owner) was extremely helpful and patient and gave us very efficient and useful info regarding the hiking possibilities in the area.
without those issues my rate would have been excellent!
highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reliabletraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Rainell is one of these places that you come across and everything just delights you.

The rooms are spacious and perfectly decorated in a mountain style. Spotless, perfectly clean, great beds, great showers, great views of Ortisei and the lift of Alpe di Siusi.
Breakfast is amazing - the warm croissants just out of the oven are to die for!
Georg and his team are extremely welcoming and helpful.

Yes, there is a short walk uphill from the center to the hotel, but easy and refreshing. would definetely go back there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piaccere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We absolutely love Alpenhotel Rainell, and have been staying there the same week in February for seven or eight years. The owners and staff are excellent - always friendly and helpful. It is incredibly well situated, with beautiful views and the convenience of skiing out. Their ski hire program with a shop in the village means ski equipment is delivered and picked up. We don't even bother to rent a car. The food is consistently very good and the rooms comfortable, fresh and clean. A terrific hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLedermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

This stop was the highlight of our trip. Staff was wonderful, room was comfortable. We added dinner for 11 Euros - and they even accommodated a vegetarian version of the meal for us. It is a steep hike down to town, but the view from the hotel is worth it!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
2.2 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#5 of 46 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 46 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#15 of 46 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#29 of 46 in Ortisei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlpenHotel Rainell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpenHotel Rainell

Property: AlpenHotel Rainell
Address: Via Vidalong 19, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#16 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#19 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#23 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpenHotel Rainell 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your AlpenHotel Rainell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AlpenHotel Rainell Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing