We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time and still impressed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“2nd time and still impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is our second consecutive stay in this beautiful property which means a lot.
Again, our recommendation for the room remains the 500s and 600s Junior Bio suits.
The breakfast has been further improved in variety - there are freshly squeezed fruit and vegetable juices which is a great bonus. There is a very nice new lounge area outside of the hotel but it can be fully used only in warmer months although it does add up to the overall charm of the place. They are also opening an outdoor pool in May.
The staff never fails to impress with excellent service which is also very personal and makes you feel home. Our waiter was Silvio who tried his very best to make our stay special but all them are really great!
Great variety and very generous portions of a very good quality for dinner. Healthy options including vegetarian and gluten free always available. There also themed dinners when diners have large buffet varieties of food extra to the menu (we had seafood and local dishes).
The only advice to the management is to concentrate on the local cuisine and don't experiment much for Christmas diner:)
The Spa remains a highlight of the property. Elvira is a true genius making every spa treatment special. Book it in advance and you get 5% off.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    122
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
299
315
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Upon our arrival, there was no welcome and had to be asked if we wanted any help with our luggage to our room. Our stay was for 7 days over New Years Eve so the hotel was filled with guests.

We stayed in the new wing and had a very nice room. The room cleaning service lacked with us having to ask for refills on lotion, soaps, etc. The spa area was nice with swimming pool and sauna's.

The breakfast foods were unfortunately far below good quality. The breads & croissants were stale, the fruit salad by the fourth day was so old that it began to ferment with a tingly sensation in one's mouth. I am very shocked as my expectations for this hotel were what one would imagine in a 4* hotel. For dinner it was the same. The salad bar was fresh on the first day and by the 3 day everything was stale and withered. The lack of attention to food quality and prep was just deplorable.

Having travelled to Ortisei, Selva and the Val Gardena area for many years and staying in many hotels with high ratings by TripAdvisor how disappointed we were to have stayed at this hotel.

If you are looking for mediocre quality of service, poor quality food but nice newer rooms and spa setting with what appears to be 20 year old carpet and just no personal warmth then you might like this hotel. I would honestly say that this should be a 2* hotel not even a 3* which we have stayed and are much nicer.

Remember this is a 4* hotel, so quality and attention to detail has to be compared properly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefJohnnyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 4 days at the Albion in early September and hiked with their guide Simon for 3 days. It was a truly great experience and just what we were looking for in the Dolomites. The food and the service at the Albion were also excellent and as the only Americans we felt very welcome since everyone spoke beautiful English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kams94528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
494 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Albion was our base for four days hiking around the mountains. The hotel is mostly great. Large, comfortable rooms, nice beds, good wifi, extensive tasty breakfast buffet, and attentive, kind service - especially the lovely, wonderful Nicole.

There were two development items:
- The English level was mixed. Some staff were good but others quite limited
- Checkout was a nightmare. I know this is a family place but people have schedules. When my family and I came to checkout the manager (George) was happily chatting with other guests. I understand that, but not for 30 minutes! When they finally left he did not know how to use the new computer and had to call in help. Normally this is not a problem but we had a tight schedule.

Despite that we happily recommend Albion and certainly would return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This july we went for the 4th time to Albion and again we are looking forward to next year; we love to combine a week in the mouintains with a week at the seaside. Ortisei and Albion offer you all you can expect from a stay in the mountains with the marvelous Sella mountain group nearby. On top the hotel answers to all we need : fully equipped rooms, variety of activities outdoors or around the hotel, great wellness and a swiming pool, even a fitness room.

Children have their own place to play and even our sons of 17 and 19 love coming along.The food is of excellent quality : a tremendous breakfast buffet, flexible lunch options and an eveneing menu with still plenty of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've had the pleasure to stay for one night in the middle of June. The host welcomed us with a great smile and a kind word, so we felt at home right from the start.

The room was fantastic, spacious, clean and the beds and matrasses were excellent. Just what we needed after a long drive.

The spa was big enough to be able to spend some time, especially the whirlpool with view on the mountains was truly special.

The food (breakfast and dinner) were exquisit.

I would recommend this hotel, as long as the keep this same price-quality level.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterlybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We are visiting this property for years, every year we are watching continual development of services and enviroment. Excelent food, friendly family enviroment, excelent spa area, lovely place overall. My wish - just hold on and remain the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuba274707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
2.5 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#3 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
2.0 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Uhrerhof-Deur
Hotel Uhrerhof-Deur
#8 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion

Property: Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
Address: Via Pineies 38, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#5 Family Hotel in Ortisei
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Spa Hotel Albion in the Val Gardena region of the Dolomite mountains is the ideal starting-point for your well-earned holiday, offering adventure and relaxation, as well as the chance to enjoy some shopping in the picturesque town centres in Ortisei and Castelrotto. Relax on the splendid terrace with its panoramic mountain views and enjoy the warmth of the sun and the fresh mountain air; the surroundings are a blend of modern and elegant lines, in the traditional Trentino Alto Adige style. The AVALON Wellness & Mondo Spa covers more than 2,000m2, with saunas, swimming pools with massage showers, Turkish baths and a tepidarium, the heated open-air "Alpine Sky Pool", the Kneipp Alpine hydrotherapy facility, the mountain lake for swimming and the natural spring-water fountain in the grotto. Here, you can spend unforgettable moments of relaxation while admiring a unique panoramic view. Our Alpine dishes will delight your palate, and are all carefully prepared by our Chef using fresh, local produce. Italian and traditional Alto Adige dishes offer a perfect blend of lightness and tradition. The 400m2 "Re Laurin" park and playground area, with its 8-metre high slide, will delight younger guests, while older guests can stroll more quietly in the hotel gardens. Located in the superb ski area known as "Dolomiti Superski", the Hotel Albion is ideal for Winter holidays. And in the Summer, the area offers a host of exhilarating excursions and a wide range of sports activities, from tennis to fully-equipped gyms and boules. At Alpe di Siusi and in Val Gardena, you will be tempted by a splendid 18-hole golf course, as well as facilities for riding, jogging, hang-gliding, rafting, canyoning, rock-climbing, skating, fishing and canoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing