We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolomiti Madonna(Ortisei)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Rodes(Ortisei)
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$281
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Angelo Engel(Ortisei)
$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luna Mondschein(Ortisei)
$254
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garni Floreal(Ortisei)(Great Value!)
$79
B&B.it
View Deal
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
178
65
8
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
65
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese tastingfamily run propertylounge chairssmall hotelsasso lungoowners and staffsanta christinabefore dinnerfamily roomhalf boardsella rondamonicarainiershuttlegourmetpaulotown
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 254 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Knowing I wanted to go to the Dolomites, I researched hotels and read reviews for months-- and I am very picky. Regarding the distance. The way Ortisei is layed out, I am not convinced being right down town is that beneficial. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you back and forth as much as you want. Depending on the season, if the weather is nice, you could easily walk back and forth. The service of the hotel staff is excellent and they are all friendly. What made the hotel a 5 star is the food- all home-made and AMAZING. I plan to find an excuse to get back. If I had to say something negative it would be about the shower, could have been just our room, but it could use updating.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We have stayed in very luxurious hotels and the Hotel Grien is like a breath of fresh air. It is a spectacular setting and the owners take great pride in their mountain and its views. The hotel is extremely clean and everyone is exceptionally accommodating. We were fed upon our arrival at 10PM even though the kitchen was closed. The staff will drive you to the slopes and shops in the lovely Val Gardena region.
We had the same table for each meal and it felt like home. The owner is the chef and the meals were wonderful. Overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiller1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

excellent food, very friendly staff and ideal for little children because of the hospitality, the cleanliness and the patience of the owner

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank karamelaEgion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

My husband & I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in Italy. We had to book it at short notice after the hotel we'd booked into in Selva decided to renovate that week! The hotel is right on the edge of Ortisei, as high as you can go I think. We had a hire car so no problem getting around. The position of the hotel means the views are stunning - from every window it seemed!

The room was spacious & comfortable - the bed was huge & the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The food was plentiful & delicious, the staff were very friendly & helpful. I don't think they get many english guests because when we stayed none of the literature was in english - only french, german & italian - but the staff did speak english. They made us menus in english which was a lovely touch!

The spa was wonderful but do watch out for naked people - us Brits are just not used to it!

We really wished we could've stayed longer, and definitely intend to go back again - which I hope is indication enough that this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed here for a weeks ski holiday with our two teenage children. The hotel was a little difficult to find because we didn't go far enough along the road - so keep going 'till the end and you'll find it!

We really enjoyed our stay here. The evening meals were excellent and they paid attention to little touches like laying the table especially nicely for our son's 18th. There were usually at least 4 courses and we had a Gala dinner and a Tyrollean evening. Breakfasts are very good too although there's nothing hot.

The hotel provides a minibus service to and from Ortisei and the ski lifts (which are about a kilometer away). They are very helpful and collected our ski stuff from the hire shop and put them in ski lockers in the garage for us. This service is very useful as they drop you right at the ski lifts so you don't have to park or walk miles in ski boots. They pick you up again when you call the hotel to request a lift.

Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. We had a room with balcony which had spectacular views over Ortisei and the dolomites. The children had a room on the ground floor with a garden which was very similar but without a seperate sitting area. The spa is very good but there are naked people! We tended to go early just as it opened and found it fine.

Ortisei is a lovely place with plenty of coffe shops and quaint buildings. We enjoyed skiing at Alpe de Suisi which had a run which we could manage but we found better runs for our standard (just off beginner) at Plan de Gralba - a little drive along the valley (20 mins). This has good parking facilities and very easy runs - we actually managed to ski right down the mountain!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sea_and_sun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews