We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing family, amazing view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grien
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing family, amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The family-run Hotel Grien is one of those places to stay that makes traveling a joy. The two rooms my party stayed in were spotlessly clean, large and excellently fitted and finished. The view from the balcony was stunning (the best in Ortisei, I imagine). The hotel food was so good we didn’t bother finding a restaurant down in town for the two nights we were there. Rainer, the owner (I think), was friendly and helpful with whatever we needed, and was always present at his desk from when we went to breakfast to when we went to sleep.

If I ever go back to Ortisei, I would not hesitate to stay at this wonderful hotel again

Room Tip: We stayed in the Panorama rooms, which were new and a view to die for. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckystriker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    59
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
75
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is a gem in Ortesei. The management is warm, friendly and very professional. The room had a balcony with an amazing view and it had all the commodities needed. Breakfast was included and it was the best breakfast during our three weeks. The restaurant is very classy and the food was delicious! Unfortunately we waited until our last night to use their spa and wellness center and we blamed ourselves all through our trip. They also have a shuttle that takes you to the village where the bus stops. My only recommendation would be to have a better mattress. If you are looking for a place to RELAX and enjoy the beautiful views of the Dolomites, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones located in the lobby floor with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montalvomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

As being vegan, I really enjoyed an excellent dinner in their restaurant. The only place in the whole area that has a vegetarian option. It is also recommended in the micheline. The service was very friendly and the value was decent. It is recommended to order a table before in advance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itzhakhi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Grien is not the poshest or most luxurious or the most sophisticated. It is merely one of the nicest we have ever stayed at. Starting with the wonderful family that owns and operates it, Hotel Grien is overflowing with good vibes. Comfortable rooms with great views, food equal to any restaurant--yes, absolutely go with half board--easy access to the town and the mountains. It was everything we hoped for and the proverbial more. I would stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Go with the garden rooms...chaise lounges provided to take in the scenery from your small terrazzo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to Hotel Grien. Albeit, it was quite a few years since last, the Hotel, the food and the service was all the same as I remembered it SUPERB!!
The Avesani family really take care of their hotel. Our room as well as the public areas are spotless. The food is first class, and all have a local touch. The spa was new to us and added a new dimension to our stay, with three different saunas, a very large jacuzzi (bubble pool) and several areas for relaxation to choose from. This treat was very welcome after an active day in the mountains.
We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just returned from a trip to this lovely part of Italy...first - it is a good idea to follow the colored signs in and around town to get you to this hotel - follow the purple arrows - the hotel is easy to find if you do this (and the hotel confirmed this in their note to me prior to my stay). We arrived, were greeted warmly and shown to our room...the view was amazing - the village and the mountains - blue skies and sunshine...the bed was large with 2 fluffy duvet covers, bathrobes (for the spa), the room had a patio, chaises in the yard for our room (and other rooms had them as well) and the flowers and green plants surrounded the building and the patios were gorgeous. We tried the saunas (nude), whirlpool (also nude) and this is just how it is done (there are no leering eyes)...we particularly liked the turkish aromatherapy sauna...there are 2 areas for reclining and drinking water, tea, eating fruit, etc. that are nicely laid out for guests. There are massage therapists as well. Dinner was excellent and we were seated at a reserved table. We had a small starter and then served ourselves from the antipasti buffet (yum!), we ordered dinner, wine, and each course came with great service. Everyone at the hotel is pleasant and interested in your comfort. Our first morning we left the hotel and followed signs to a hiking trail - a great way to start the day. We returned, had breakfast and reclined in the sun for a bit. This is a really nice hotel that I would recommend to anyone visiting the Dolomites and Sud-Tirol.

Room Tip: We loved our patio room - open the door, see the beauty, recline in the afternoon sun - really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank takeoffitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have just returned from another fabulous skiing holiday and our second stay at the Grien. We received a warm welcome from Rainer and Monica and renewed our acquaintance with Hassim, our friendly and speedly shuttle bus driver. The rooms were as we remembered them - a little bit dated, but exceptionally clean and comfortable. The spa facilities were very welcome after a hard day's skiing. Food, wine and service were, as ever, excellent - in fact we all commented that the quality of the cooking had, if anything, improved since our previous vist. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfing_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#3 of 48 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#5 of 48 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grien

Property: Grien
Address: Via Mureda 178, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#13 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#23 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grien 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grien Hotel Ortisei
Grien Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing