We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel with splendid views”
Review of Grien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grien
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with splendid views”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We stayed here for a weeks ski holiday with our two teenage children. The hotel was a little difficult to find because we didn't go far enough along the road - so keep going 'till the end and you'll find it!

We really enjoyed our stay here. The evening meals were excellent and they paid attention to little touches like laying the table especially nicely for our son's 18th. There were usually at least 4 courses and we had a Gala dinner and a Tyrollean evening. Breakfasts are very good too although there's nothing hot.

The hotel provides a minibus service to and from Ortisei and the ski lifts (which are about a kilometer away). They are very helpful and collected our ski stuff from the hire shop and put them in ski lockers in the garage for us. This service is very useful as they drop you right at the ski lifts so you don't have to park or walk miles in ski boots. They pick you up again when you call the hotel to request a lift.

Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. We had a room with balcony which had spectacular views over Ortisei and the dolomites. The children had a room on the ground floor with a garden which was very similar but without a seperate sitting area. The spa is very good but there are naked people! We tended to go early just as it opened and found it fine.

Ortisei is a lovely place with plenty of coffe shops and quaint buildings. We enjoyed skiing at Alpe de Suisi which had a run which we could manage but we found better runs for our standard (just off beginner) at Plan de Gralba - a little drive along the valley (20 mins). This has good parking facilities and very easy runs - we actually managed to ski right down the mountain!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sea_and_sun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    59
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
76
99
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

The Hotel Grien is big enough to have privacy and small enough to be cozy. The family running the hotel takes excellent care of the property and they and their staff take excellent care of their guests. We had never stayed at a half board hotel before (includes breakfast and dinner), but it was wonderful. They put a lot of thought into making each meal special, had good wine list, and delightful servers. Our room was clean, bright and had a lovely patio with flowers and lounge chairs. We loved being able to relax with a glass of wine in the evening in their attractive lounge or lobby. We felt that we definitely got our money's worth and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The attractive layout of the hotel, the food and wine, the views, the privacy
  • Disliked — internet was hard to connect to
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

We had an excellent week's stay in early summer. Warm and friendly welcome by the family. Very good spa facility, spotlessly clean, good service and great food too.

  • Liked — service, food, spa
  • Disliked — bedroom a little small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2007

we had 5 wonderful ski days, the hospitality of the guest family is excellent, the food very good and the wellness center is really new and clean. Everything was simply perfect, especially the view on Sasso Lungo!! A great experience!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank giadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
1.3 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
1.2 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#5 of 46 in Ortisei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 46 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Adler Dolomiti Spa & Sport Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#10 of 46 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grien

Property: Grien
Address: Via Mureda 178, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#12 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#23 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grien 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grien Hotel Ortisei
Grien Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing