We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful...cannot complain about anything!”
Review of Sporthotel Platz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sporthotel Platz
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful...cannot complain about anything!”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Just spend 3 nights at the Hotel Platz in Bulla, 10min drive up from Ortisei. Was a little concerned about not being walking distance to the ski lifts but that fear quickly left. You can either take the ski bus every 30 min, or just drive 10min and park all day for €6. The staff at the hotel were amazing, extremely friendly and full of advice. The view is great, the room clean and very relaxing to come home to after all day on the hills, and the food is out of this world. I don't doubt the prices are also significantly cheaper than what you would pay down in the valley but the atmosphere would simply not be the same. I almost forgot to mention the two saunas and indoor pool, heaven. Though I was there with my fiancé (and found it quite romantic), you could easily have fun with your family, friends, or apparently even your dogs. There really isn't anything I would change about this place, affordable, full of character, and significantly more convenient than I thought it would be.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank raguanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    37
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have been to the Sport Hotel Platz several times, and I can only say that I love it more and more. The young and energetic team is superbe and very helpful. The food is excellent and sooo abundant, and the home made cakes are second to none. Not to speak of the wonderful and magnificent location, the Hotel overlooks Ortisei, you can be in the middle of it in no time with the very cheap and regular shuttle bus, and reatreat to the very quiet and idyllic atmosphere back at the hotel. Indeed, you can reach the 'Seiser Alm/Alpi di Siusi' directly from the hotel, even taking your children along, without having to take cars or cable cars. After a long walk in the beautiful mountains or an excursion, it is a great luxury to have a nice swim at hotel's (warm water) outdoor pool (at 1500 m altitute!); or relax and read your favorit book under the aged chestnut trees.

For those who need to stay 'connected' there is a free wi-fi area in the bar and restaurant area.

Andreas, one of the best barman I know of will serve you an excellenct cocktail or a nice cool 'Veneziano' or two :)).

All in all a supterb experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hann_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our second time at the Hotel. And it got even better. We had again a wonderful time. The location is breathtaking and the whole team did there best to make us feel at home!!!Food was excellent, especially the homemade Gnocchi, my favorite. A great place for kids and all people who enjoy hiking. Idyllic !!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Just returned from this gem just above Ortisei in South Tyrol.Lovely atmosphere.Delicious local food and ambient bar.All staff friendly and helpful.Leopold,mine host, runs his hotel like a private house party with guests from all over mingling and making friendships.Andreas and Werner,ski instructors visit to advise and arrange all skiing needs.Easy access to wonderful skiing,mountain walks by bus or own car.Winter or summer this little village feels like living on the Alm in Heidi days! Total escape and freedom!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelscoutEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We spend our family vacation there in June and had a wonderful time. The location of the Hotel is breathtaking. The rooms are a little bit small, but we anyways spend most of our time outdoors. It's the perfect place to go hiking, and mountain biking. Just need to walk out the door and enjoy the nature.
Leo and his stuff where amazing. We felt like family members and enjoyed the evenings sitting on the terrace chatting to the owner whenever he had time.
We will be back. Next time in the winter, to go skiing .
We really recommend this place especially because we felt like family members not just some Hotel guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Second time in 12 months and yet again the friendliness and value for money of this wee hotel shine through. Leo and his team are friendly, tolerant and pour great drams.
You're on the doorstep of the best and most beautiful ski area on earth and paying €60 a night for half board - it just doesn't come better.
The fixed-price menu food is, I would concede, a bit old-fashioned but after a day out on the slopes it generally hits the spot and the breakfast is spot-on.
A very difficult place to tear oneself away from all-in-all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thulefule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rodes
Hotel Rodes
#36 of 46 in Ortisei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#29 of 46 in Ortisei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Digon
Hotel Digon
#11 of 46 in Ortisei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Hartmann - Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Mountain Spa Resort Hotel Albion
2.5 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Platz

Property: Sporthotel Platz
Address: Bulla 12, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sporthotel Platz 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are delighted to be able to host you at our hotel in Bulla, an idyllic little mountain village on the slopes of Alpe di Siusi in Val Gardena, in the heart of the Dolomites, recently proclaimed a World Heritage Site. Enjoy your holidays in our little family-run hotel in comfortable, relaxing surroundings and let us pamper you. You will be totally at ease and will spend splendid days full of relaxation, excitement and good food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sporthotel Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Platz Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing