We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unfriendly owners (desk), but ...good restaurant staff and nice food!”
Review of Alpenheim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenheim
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Ortisei
Certificate of Excellence
Vlaanderen
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most unfriendly owners (desk), but ...good restaurant staff and nice food!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I would give an 'good' quotation for the hotel itself.
The food is great and always enough.
The pool area is big enough, and there's enough space to sun outside and you have wellness towels and bathrobe.
The staff at the restaurant is very friendly and patient to translate the menu if necessary.
There are a lot of nice rooms, but we've got a room at the first floor at the back of the hotel: above the kitchen and from 7:00 am on a coming and going of trucks...too much noise.
But then: the owners, who walk around with their dogs, have really an attitude. They don't give any information, are not friendly on arrival, do not ask if everything is at your wish....i never saw them smile...
Luckily we had a lot of nice walks and we get a lot of big smiles of the staff of the restaurant, they are top !
Would we recommend it to are friends ?...no, we saw a lot of beautiful other hotels in Ortisei

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Witteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
71
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We are returning to Alpenheim for almost ten years. I have read the reviews and in general can agree.
Location - very good, however still about one km from the city centre and the closest lifts = not for a lazy holiday.
Rooms - modern, clean, very well equipped, no AC (but not necessary in mountains). We were very satisfied!
Food - very good although not a "fine cuisine"
Wine and drinks - an excellent choice!
Staff and service - perfect! I have read a complaint that there is no constant bar staff - it is true but we never waited without service more than for a minute.
Sure, it might be better to have a constant person at the bar but it would increase the cost = prices and so decrease the value for money paid as a consequence.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jardaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Excellent hotel, very nice and well positioned. Very good dinners too.
Cons:
- this sort of hotels is expected to have constant bar service and more products
- the staff (expecially reception) should be more kind and should understand that they manage a high level hotel not a bed and breakfast. More kind and more guest satisfaction in a proactive way

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tcaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Hotel Alpenheim is a super family run hotel in the ski resort of Val Gardena. The service from the staff is excellant. The ski bus shuttle from Frederich is a great free extra from the hotel.
The food in the restaurant is brillant, very high quality. It also has a great sauna and swimming pool to relax after hard days skiing.
All in all a great hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My wife and I stayed here with our 7-month daughter in the 2nd week of September. This is a very good hotel. The staff is very hospitable, the food is truly good and extensive. Also there is a very nice bar. The rooms are very clean and very new. The hotel is situated along the general walkpath towards Ortisei centre, from where one can make easy ascents towards various pathways. The pool is very nice. We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here, and are considering ourselves to return for the winter season.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoda-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

This was our second Christmas at the Alpenheim. the first time we went with our son and we returned with our brother in law,his wife and my brother.

The family who own and run the hotel are all experienced hoteliers and it really shows. Rooms are spacious and we we grouped together on both occassions which made for more enjoyment for our group. There is nothing more irritating that having one room on each floor.

The food was always freshly cooked and with enough choice to meet the fussiest palate and a vegetarian who always found plenty to enjoy.

The double rooms with balconies have a wonderful view of the valley and the lit up nursery slopes and are ideal if there is a non skier in the party. There are smaller rooms at the rear fo the building which are absolutely fine and suitable for children and younger members fo the party who may have a more limited budget. The spa in the basement was a small delicious space to relax in and we all enjoyed the attentions of the therapist after a day on the slopes. The non skiers in the party were given advice on things to do in the town and greatly enjoyed the five pool complex to which we had free entrance with our stay at the hotel.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and when a 52 year old novice skier was missing at 6 pm, the owners really swung into action to find him contacting the emergency services, ski hire shops and his guide within minutes. It was an impressive performance and when he was found unharmed there was genuine pleasure and a warm welcome for him.

On both occassions we stayed we have felt we received excellent value and returned home having had a most enjoyable holiday. I would recommend this hotel to adults and families alike.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — parking a little difficult
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank susieqmunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2008

My husband and I just returned from an 11 day stay through Christmas and New Years at the Hotel Alpenheim. Our 'superior' room on the second floor was lovely and comfortable. (We did only have a bath, rather than a shower, something to ask about when booking.) The hotel staff was professional, efficient and provided all information needed in English. Upon arrival we received a pamphlet explaining the hotel services, meal times, and activities in the surrounding towns for the week ahead. We subscribed to the 'half board' option and found the breakfast selections abundant and the evening meals and 3 'gala' dinners delicious and quite varied in selection. The owner's knowledge of wine and the well-stocked wine cellar only added to our overall enjoyable, relaxing stay. This being our first visit to the Dolomites we found Ortesei and the surrounding mountain slopes and activities a fantastic vacation location for couples and families with many activities for all ages and energy levels (downhill and cross country skiing, nordic walking, sledding, sleigh rides, horseback riding, swimming at the indoor pool, shopping, great eating, spa-ing).
Hotel Alpenheim provides a pass to use the indoor pool in town.
Hotel Alpenheim is located about 15 minutes walk from the center of Ortesei along an easily accessible path. For skiing, there is a ski bus stop about 50 meters from the hotel and the buses run at a frequency of 15 minutes or less.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank USExpat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ortisei hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gardena Grodnerhof
0.7 mi away
Hotel Angelo Engel
Hotel Angelo Engel
#4 of 46 in Ortisei
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenhotel Rainell
Alpenhotel Rainell
#30 of 46 in Ortisei
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grones
Hotel Grones
#5 of 46 in Ortisei
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Hotel Luna Mondschein
#10 of 46 in Ortisei
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpin Garden Wellness Resort - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenheim

Property: Alpenheim
Address: Via Paul Grohmann 54, 39046 Ortisei, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Val Gardena > Ortisei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ortisei
#18 Spa Hotel in Ortisei
#22 Romantic Hotel in Ortisei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpenheim 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpenheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenheim Hotel Ortisei
Alpenheim Ortisei, Italy - Val Gardena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing