We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Luna Mondschein
Nearby Hotels
$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Digon(Ortisei)
$135
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Platz(Ortisei)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Angelo Engel(Ortisei)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rodes(Ortisei)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grien(Ortisei)
$231
$224
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
244
95
23
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
95
23
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel shuttle busski roomnice hotelfamily runon demandski seasonevery aspectwould highly recommend this hotelspent a weekval gardenareceptiongondolaskiingslopessparelaxationdinner
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 370 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is rated 4* and probably deserves it. "Good" looks like the best word to characterize it - but do not expect more than that.
Location is not perfect but hotel ski bus can take you to the slopes in the morning and back to the hotel in the afternoon. The first day the driver made us wait for 45 minutes at Seceda and showed up only after we called him three times changing our tone from polite to anxious and than to quite irritated. After we complained at the reception he changed his attitude and we had no problems of that kind any more.
Breakfast is ample and decent, dinner is inconsistent - some dishes are outstanding, some are really mediocre. Good wine list is completely spoiled by incompetent service - the 50/euro Tuscany or Piedmont reds are serviced at room temperature... I do not blame the waiters - they try their best but the management seems not to care about such trifles.
Rooms are nice but we failed to find slippers - were brought after request.
There is a spa and swimming pool in the basement - the smell of chlorine chases you over the whole ground floor.
I am not the one who is always picking holes - the hotel is OK in general and worth the money you pay during the ski season. But it is not something "out of this world" as some reviewers say.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oleg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I spent a week here in February for a ski vacation. We were a group of 30. The hotel was wonderful. They seated us in one end of the dining room for breakfast and dinners. Although they wanted us to keep the same table , they didnt balk when we did our own seating. The food was very well presented and varied. The waiters were terrific. They dressed as women and carried on one night for carnival The local wine was superb. The bar, tended by Guido each night was lively, maybe more because our group of New Yorkers are party people. A seating room off the lobby was a nice quiet place to relax and read . The pool and sauna were a relaxing end to the ski day. Special kudos to Jahn the shuttle driver. He was always available and prompt to deliver us to the Gondola, pick us up and bring us to town. This is a family run establishment for I think 5 or 6 generations . They know how to accomodate guests.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious and one side faces the mountain tram .
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed there for 7 nights in February, 2013 for a family holiday. Excellent hotel; nice, cozy, very clean rooms, helpful staff. Nice SPA/pool part for good relax after skiing - nice, warm water in swimming pool, good sauna area. Food: wide choice of tasty meals (for me - as I practically do not use salt - meats were too salty), meat, fish, pastas, yummy desserts. Tasty sweets and snacks at the hotel bar for those returning from skiing. Hotel is located close to Ortisei centre and 10 min walk from Alpe di Siusi lower station (ski shuttle excellent).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bozena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

When viewing from outside the hotel was not very promising. Once I entered I was positively stuck by the nice lobby and extremely friendly staff. Rooms are big enough to feel very comfortable, even for a longer stay. Food (dinners !) is excellent. Shuttle service to the slopes never disappointed me - the Slovak driver was very helpful. First night was a bit too hot - had to ask temperature reduction. Did not use SPA nor kids area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maciej U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere but maintains a very high standard of service.
Our room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed but did not have a mini bar or kettle.
The food was generous and the menus interesting and the quality very good. The bar was comfy and the complimentary snacks enjoyable. The spa facilities and pool were excellent.
The ski room facilities were good and the free hotel ski shuttle bus was brilliant.
All the staff were friendly and attentive.
Overall this is a very good hotel and a great place to stay for a ski holiday in Val Gardena. Ortisei is a beautiful and interesting small town and is well connected to the ski areas. We recommend you stay here rather than in Selva.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews