We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, modern restaurant”
Review of Ustaria da Checco

Ustaria da Checco
Ranked #25 of 60 Restaurants in Ortisei
Price range: $8 - $39
Restaurant details
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

On our first night in St. Ulrich/Ortisei we wandered through the city centre, looking for a nice place to eat. We ended up in Ustaria da Checco just outside the main street and squares. It was quiet when we arrived but fortunately other customers joined us later. The staff were helpful, alert and very friendly. We had three courses, all excellent. The risotto with herbs and goat’s cheese was wonderful, as were the bandnudeln with hirschragout. The cheesecake for dessert was not as we expected but very nice nevertheless. I really can’t think of any criticism. Maybe the red wine, which came at too cool a temperature; I like it at room temperature.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank ojstrijbis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2018

The food, service, and decor at this restaurant were outstanding! We loved getting off of the beaten path and stumbled upon this gem on a beautiful afternoon in October. Their signs in the alleyway caught our eye and we are so glad! They spoke a bit of English and the menu had translations. Prices were reasonable and the flavors of the various dishes were sublime. We would eat here again and again, but unfortunately we were just passing through Ortisei. Gluten Free Friendly, too!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

We were very excited to visit one of highly recommended restaurant by a local guide, but it turn out to be a big disappointment to my family and friends.

We have 6 people in the group, and we are foodies who love to order many dishes for dinner. Some of us order 2 dishes and hence we need a bigger table to fit 6 of us comfortably. They have us instead 2 blocks of tables and put 2 chairs at both ends. The restaurant was not busy at all and we request the waiter if she can add one more table.

We asked politely for few times for the additional tables because we will order a lot of dishes, and to our surprise the waiter replied us by saying "I hope you order a lot" in unfriendly tone and expression.

Cutting the story short, we just walk out from #ustariadachecco and heading to a nearby local restaurant instead.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Andre1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon M, Proprietario at Ustaria da Checco, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018
Google Translation


Buongiorno,

Se un cliente entra in un locale e come prima cosa chiede che gli venga riservato il miglior trattamento e miglior servizio
minacciando con una cattiva ricezione, ditemi voi come devo fare.
Prometto che sono rimasta molto perplessa
.
Semplicemente e gentilmente, come di solito facciamo, ho proposto due tavoli a loro scelta,
La nostra terrazza riserva veramente tanto spazio, anche i tavoli sono spaziosi e adatti per piú pietanze.
Non ci siamo capiti , purtroppo non con tutti i clienti esteri ci si capisce al volo

Vedo questa come un recensione inutile e TripAdvisor non deve essere usata come minaccia


Saluti Anita











Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2018 via mobile

The interior is modern and cool, while still being comfortable. The food was great. I had fabulous, tender lamb chops. My companion had the lovely trout.
The service was friendly and attentive.
Prices were reasonable compared to the rest of this absurdly overpriced town.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank jonathanh944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I like the atmosphere of the restaurant.. perfect mix of the modern retro and alpine styles.. quite different from the traditional "gardanese" style but elegant and chic!
I ate "Breaded Shrimps" which was completely fresh and delicious! After I chose a plate from the " menu of the day" according of the seasonal products: Tagliatelle with asparagus and fish. It was an absolutely harmonious dish! The asparagus was nice fresh tender but crispy the pasta was "abbondante" and the fish simply grilled well balanced the asparagus unique taste.
The staff was friendly and the tables nice prepared! The price as normal as an elegant "gourmet" restaurant in Val Gardena!
I wish all the best for the new restaurant! I will return surely.

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank EmeseG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ustaria da Checco also viewed

 
Ortisei, Val Gardena
 
Ortisei, Val Gardena
Ortisei, Val Gardena
 

Been to Ustaria da Checco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing