We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are in the area,don't stay anywhere but the Cavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavour Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Novara
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you are in the area,don't stay anywhere but the Cavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

Stayed again at the Cavour for a few days.Standards as high as ever.Lovely rooms,spotlessly clean and excellent continental breakfast.Super staff - Mimmo,Annalisa and all the ladies - everyone there smiles unlike many hotels we have stayed at nearer to home.Excellent value also in our view.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    91
    44
    12
    9
See reviews for
31
50
13
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
86 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here for two nights on a business-trip. Location ideal: Close to the small but nice old-town and just a few steps from the train-station. The airport bus from Milano (45 minutes) stops just a few meters away.
Rooms are modern, nice and clean. Breakfast is good but nothing special. Price for accomodation is barely fair. Free wifi. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knabberbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
267 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

When travelling, I will always consult Tripadvisor first as to which hotel to stay. Therefore, to return the favour, in my numerous years of travelling I have since contributed more than 300 postings in all. And among these postings, many are of hotels in my favourite European country, Italy.

Since we needed a break from Turin to Varese, and we had wanted to visit Vercelli, which has a glamourous Basicilia just opposite its train station, we picked Novara since there don't seem to be a full fledged hotel in Vercelli. And Novara is merely 15 minutes away by train from Vercelli . And in Novara, this Hotel Cavour is rated number 1 on Tripadvisor. So, I took the plunge and book it for one night only.

By all fairness, this isn't a really bad hotel. It is definitely a modern and rather well maintained Business Hotel located directly opposite the Novara train station, superb location both for business and for leisure. And why did I gave it a lower than usual rating when I usually dish out a 4 or 5 star for all the Hotels that I have stayed at?

Upon check in, Ms Mimmo I guess, was very kind in granting us purportedly the biggest Suite in the Hotel, room 203 on the second floor. This room is gigantic for its size as well as a Jacuzzi bathroom. But I rejected it right away cos it is situated merely two rooms away from a busy road.

Then, I was shown to suite 301 but finally picked suite S1, on the 3rd floor. This is a much smaller suite but it is also the furthest away from the road, so its much quieter for jet lagged travellers like us. We slept very well with a comfy large bed but were woken up by bus noises at 5am.

But what we were most turned off with this sparsely furnished S1 suite were -
1. there is this faux Leather sofa (a bed, actually) in the sitting area. However, there wasn't any lights, coffee table nor TV and console right in front of it. So for two people travelling, why would anyone want to sit in that comfy sofa chair? To stare blindly at the wall right in front of you? Very strange indeed ... and very laughable, too.
2. that the only TV in the suite was merely 12-14 inches at the most. I thought they had since stopped producing such small TVs, when even my PC at home has a larger monitor ....
3. that the bathroom in S1 was so small .... but not complaining much here since I was offered room 203 with a huge bathroom in the first place
4. that the covered outdoor porch has got no chairs nor table to sit on and relax. They could easily turn that part of the wall into a balcony of sorts, with chairs and tables. By not doing so, this outdoor area is also totally wasted ....just like the sitting area with a sofa but no TV.
5. there is only one miserable dust bin for the whole suite?
6. safe not working, battery was low. Informed Reception but nothing was done ...
7. door to suite cannot be locked properly due to improper door latch, poor renovation skills.
8. very poor sound insulation from the corridor of the Hotel. Could hear people walking, opening and closing their doors.

Overall, you cannot help but to feel somewhat 'cheap' here. Hate to say this cos the Receptionist is really a very kind and soft spoken lady ... Felt that the Hotel has overcharged 160 euros for such a sparsely furnished suite and yet trying to cut ends by giving its guests less than what they deserved. Why not charge 180 or 200 euros and furnished the Suite in a nicer way? Guests would surely don't mind paying a little more for a more comfortable stay. Surprisingly, there is a coffee maker in the suite which we didn't bother to figure out how it works? Very puzzling, isn't it?

Breakfast at its basement level was also somewhat below par for a 4 star Hotel with little facilities like a fitness room and a sauna room. Frankly, after travelling to more than 40 or 50 Italian hotels to date, it still puzzles me what qualifies this Hotel as a 4 star property? Based on all my Italian experiences, it is at best a very good 3 star with a superb location, that's all.

Stay here for a night or two if you must, like I said before, it isn't a bad Hotel. And if you are not a light sleeper like me, ask for suite 203 if you can - very spacious with a Jacuzzi bath. As for light sleepers, remember to ask for rooms facing the back of the Hotel which is a carpark. Or if budget permits, the S1 suite is a definitely a quieter choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

Always a good stay at the Cavour. Owner Mario Berti demolished a landmark structure in the center of Novara and rebuilt with a very chic feel. Large "suite" rooms, with modern decor make this a very comfortable place to stay in a rather remote town. I have not come across hotels of this nature with as "hip" a feel anywhere in Italy. The beds are very stiff but that is usually par for the course. The Cavour is without a restaurant but only minutes away from the partner hotel, the Italia. While it is in dire need of a renovation, the food is still top notch. The Cavour does have a good breakfast buffet and makes efforts to keep its cool image fresh.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorNYC1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Beat the high prices of staying in Milan. Short train ride just across the street
Buy why shop in Milan? Novarra's shops are elegant, chic, cheaper -- very
Italian. Vico Luongo-outlet is nearby too! Hotel is fabulous especially Mimo Mecca, Concierge/Manager. A must and well worth the visit. (Dine at Due Ladrone--perfect
risotto and charming owner.)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martonewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed at the Cavour over Easter and were very impressed.We stayed again at the end of July and can only say what a super hotel it is.Great staff - Mimmo and Annalisa whom we dealt with could not be more helpful,lovely room with every mod con and very good breakfast service in contrast to many continental hotels.I'd have no hesitation in recommending the Cavour to anyone going to Novara.
Ps.Novara really is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nem31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

I stayed for 10 days in Hotel Cavour. Excellent place with each and every facility except resturant. Right in the middle of the city, near Railway station. I will mention about the staff, lovely people espicially Anna Lisa and josef. I enjoyed their hospality.
In case of my next tour to this city, I will love to stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhalidWah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novara hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa Novara
Hotel Europa Novara
#3 of 11 in Novara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 11 in Novara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Croce di Malta
Croce di Malta
#5 of 11 in Novara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Italia Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Albergo Parmigiano
Albergo Parmigiano
#8 of 11 in Novara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavallo Bianco
Cavallo Bianco
#7 of 11 in Novara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavour Hotel

Property: Cavour Hotel
Address: Via San Francesco d'Assisi 6, 28100, Novara, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Novara > Novara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Novara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavour Hotel Novara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing