We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful medieval country retreat”
Review of Corte Belvoir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corte Belvoir
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Slightly challenging to find but worth it for the charming hosts and tremendously warm welcome. Ideal location close to Norcia for restaurants and Castelluccio area for excellent hiking. Nice room/bathroom with good breakfast outside in the courtyard. Would definitely stay there again when visiting the area. Jocelyn, Tom & Paul

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only had one evening with Alessandro and Rossana, but it was perfect. My husband and I are fairly relaxed wanderers, as opposed to travelers. Well, that's not a problem with Allesandro as your host. We arrived much later that expected, didn't have a clear idea where we were heading, or what we would do when we got there. Alessandro drove into town to fetch us, organized a lovely dinner for us a local restaurant in spite of the hour, and then returned when we had finished to bring us back to Corte Belvoir.
The next day after breakfast he suggested a drive to Castelluccio and the Piano Grande and organized the itinerary which would get us to our scheduled meet-up in Valfabricca the following day.
Corte Belvoir is clearly built and run with devotion.
The area is spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very comfortable stay with a warm welcome from Alessandro and Rossana. We found it an advantage to be a few minutes drive outside Norcia in rural peace and quiet. Our only criticism is that we hit an unusually cold spell of weather for early June, and the heating at Corte Belvoir is switched off on 30 April, so the room was bitterly cold with thick walls and tiled floors.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights during an anniversary trip to Umbria at Corte Belvoir, an agriturismo just outside of Norcia. We selected it because:

1.It has the advantage of being close to the southeastern parts of Umbria we had an interest in seeing: Norcia itself, Sant'Eutizio, the Piano Grande, Castelluccio, Gola dell'Infernaccio, Cascia (for the Sagra dello Zafferano), etc.

2.It is within driving distance of San Donato Val di Comino, a hill town in Lazio where my wife's grandmother was born and where she is related to about a quarter of its 2000 residents. At the time we booked it, we were toying with the idea of a return visit to San Donato.

3.Its appearance is very romantic and unique. It was constructed to re-create the appearance of a medieval castle, complete with a keep. At this, it succeeds and then some! It wouldn't be difficult to envision it serving as movie set. Well done Alessandro!

4.It was quite reasonably priced compared with accommodations inside the walls of Norcia. The premium placed on hotels inside the walls is prohibitive unless you don't wish to drive at night.

The innkeepers, Alessandro and Rosanna are delightful hosts. Alessandro is most energetic and very generous with tips and advice, both for exploring the area and for dining. We have since returned to one of his suggested restaurants thrice. Rosanna is very kind and attentive, especially so at breakfast, which is extraordinary even by Umbrian standards. It's a tour-de-force of Norcia's meat and cheese specialties and should not be missed.

The Inn is about 8 km outside the walls of Norcia. Neither finding it nor negotiating the dirt, cinder and mud roads presented difficulty, though I suspect that less intrepid, less experienced American travelers might not find the challenge appealing. I know we wouldn't have on our first Italian getaway that involved driving. Perhaps I underestimate the intrepidity of Americans and novices of all nationality and don't sufficiently weigh the edge that modern technology like GPS navigation systems provide.

Rosanna and Alessandro keep the inn meticulously clean. The inn has lovely views of the bowl-shaped valley floor that Norcia is nestled in. Its proximity to the other interesting parts of southeastern Umbria makes it an ideal base. Its seclusion makes it deal for a lovely couples getaway, though families with a child or children would find it most welcoming.

Room Tip: Room 01 was spacious and comfortable. It has an excellent bathroom that is larger than a typical B&a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The B&B is nestled in the foothills of the mountains in Sibillini National Park. Hang gliders drift in the breezes just above you. Lots of beautiful hikes and drives are close by. Because the location is outside of town, the tranquility is absolutely undisturbed except for the occasional herd of sheep passing you on the road. The views from the B&B over the surrounding fields and mountains are lovely. Alessandro is a thoughtful and energetic host. He makes great suggestions of places to hike, restaurants, etc. so that your stay is memorable. He's also an excellent conversationalist. Rosie is quiet and makes the best cup of coffee for your breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyGurl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Alessandro was a fantastic host. We went for a long hour walk to the town for dinner, on the way back it began to rain heavily, he was so kind as to give us a call and see if we needed a ride back. So appreciated. Location is great, at the foot of the mountains and it is truly castle like as advertised. Do pay attention to his notes on what to wear. We stayed towards the end of the season and the heat was not on yet, so if you are coming in between seasons double check with him as it was a bit cold without it, just like a real castle!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank achang999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Corte Belvoir on the second leg of our trip to the Sibillini mountains. Corte Belvoir is ideally located for many outstanding hikes and a short 5 minute drive from the tourists and hustle and bustle of Norcia with its quality locandas and trattorias. With such a bounty on offer, Alessandro is your man. His knowledge of the area and it's "secret places" is exhaustive but it is delivered to his guests in a sensible, helpful and no nonsense manner. Alessandro has done the research - just follow his advice and you will enjoy your holiday. Our room (the Belvedere) was huge and cool, whilst breakfast was ample and on the terrace below. One of our fondest Umbrian memories will be star-gazing whilstk sat in the grounds of Corte Belvoir with a complimentary grappa or limoncello with the noise and lights of Norcia far below!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
2.6 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 10 in Norcia
603 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
#3 of 10 in Norcia
465 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salicone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 10 in Norcia
228 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#3 of 8 in Cascia
278 reviews
5.9 mi away
FonteAntica
FonteAntica
#1 of 20 in Norcia
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Belvoir

Address: 333 Vocabolo Quarantotti | Loc. Madonna Del Casciolino, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range: $106 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and remote naturalistic corner, where the sky is tinged with a remarkable shade of blue, located just inside the "Sibillini National Park", one of the most beautiful Italian national parks. Historic mansion, by the past centuries also belonged to the Benedictine monks, in a stunning location at only 2 miles from the town of Norcia and ten min. Drive from the grat plan of Castelluccio and the sacred sites of St. Rita of Cascia. Geographically located between Umbria, Marche and Abruzzo, in a strategic crossing point from where, with just one shot, places of great interest are easily reachable, this venue is the ideal destination for nature lovers, highly recommended to Hikers, Naturalists, Photographers and Star Observers. A perfect place of enchantment for those who are seeking a tranquil and particular lovely place and the right choice for those wanting a romantic getaway or a peaceful short vacation. Here you can enjoy a sensational stay like in a small castle, in an enchanted place slightly different from the usual other cities or country hotels, devoid of superfluous various technologies, but where only reigns the peace and the harmony of the surrounding mountains, the perfume of the woods and then ....All around wolves, foxes, wild boars, eagles and wild hares. • CORTE BELVOIR GRANTS AN EXCELLENT STAY QUALITY: The Guest House privides of splendid, very clean and comfortable suites king size bedrooms, very large with LCD color TV, Refrigerator, Bathroom ensuite (Bidet Shower Bath Hairdryer Toiletries complimentary NO HYDROMASSAGE). No telephone service in the rooms (The Guest House does not provide any switchboard service); To this end guests are kindly invited to come equipped with a cell phone. • Mostly indicated for couples, NOT designed for children and/or teenagers generally - Extremely tranquil place, classified as a historic, architectural and environmental heritage, therefore it is not recommended for children and/or teenagers or to those who value more worldly and action-filled surroundings. • Only B&B service (NO HB AND/OR FB - The Guest House does not provides half or full board service in anyway) - A sweet continentale buffet breakfast is served from 8 a.M. Until 11 a.M. In the suggestive breakfast room during winter time, in the splendid front stone courtyard during summer time. For excellent local restaurants and sightseeing, guests will have the best recommendations at arrival. • Check-in rooms available NOT before H. 02:00 P.M. - Check-out within 11:30 a.M. Late check-out will be on a request basis and subject to availability - A half day room charge is applicable for late check-out until 06:00 p.M. Hours - Rooms occupied beyond 06:00 p.M. Hours will be charged at a full day rate. • IMPORTANT NOTE - ABSOLUTELY NOT TO UNDERESTIMATE: It's warmly suggested to adopt a suitable clothing - We remind to the welcome guests that the entire environment (suitable to a very well prepared adult public and to those who appreciate these kind of stays), it's located at the feet of a mountain range and, sometimes, exposed to sudden weather change (violent gusts of wind or rain storms), therefore, during Autumn/Winter time (sometimes even in late springtime or end of summer), it's absolutely NOT suggested to those who particularly are too sensitive to cold or to cold weathers.>WARNING: From May 01th to Oct. 14Th every year, the Guest House service DOES NOT provide any heating service. For road safety then, during the coldest wintry months obviously, in case of sudden snowfalls, it's also warmly suggested to come anyway provided of anti snow/ice car chains and/or heat tires. • RESERVATIONS: All reservations will be accepted only and exclusively with the guarantee of a Credit Card to be shown at check-in (only Visa/Mastercard circuit accepted - Prepaid Credit, Debit Cards and Traveller Cheques NOT accepted), failing which the booking request cannot be accepted in any way. • FINAL PAYMENT: Guest can easily choose the payment method or by credit cards or in cash (WARNING: The details of a credit card will be anyway required at check-in as a stay guarantee, accepted only VISA/MASTERCARD circuit - Prepaid Credit, Debit Cards and Traveller Cheques NOT accepted). • Multi-lingual staff - Reception safe deposit box - Concierge - Luggage carriers - No curfew • Fax service (extra charge on demand) - Wake-up calls (on demand) • Coffee/tea service (extra charge on demand) - Laundry facilities free (Iron/ironing board) - Parking free • Gay Friendly • Entire environment for non-smokers - Pets are not allowed. • OUTDOOR AND SPORTS: The Guest House administration provides the best recommendations for plenty of outdoor and sports - WARNING: All the outdoor and sports services are NOT responsibility of the Guest House and are only and exclusively with extra charge - Booking and information please ask the Guest House reservation office prior to arrival. • TAXI TRANSPORTATION: This residence it's suitable solely to a public with own transportation means - The Guest House does NOT provides any Taxi services from Norcia to Corte Belvoir and vice versa - WARNING: This service is NOT responsibility of the Guest House and it's only and exclusively with extra charge - For Taxi service reservations and information please ask the Guest House reservation office prior to arrival. • Front desk reception open 24 Hours on 24 all the year long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Corte Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing