We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and wonderful restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staying here is all about location - centre of town, but more significantly ready access to a great restaurant serving some amazing local delights. There's tartufo with just about everything. This area is a foodie's delight and this hotel is a great base to explore from. Just be sure not to skimp on the rooms, book one of the better ones.

Room Tip: We willing to spend a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riddoch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and we look forward to see you again. We will be are ready to surprise you once again with some of our delicious dishes that you already mentioned!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 465 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is an old quirky hotel right in the centre of town, a minute or two from the Main Square very
and I really enjoyed the local food. Many of the rooms are very small - in fact the first Room that they gave us was so small that one of us would've had to sit on the bed if the other one wanted to move around the room. However the very helpful staff gave us another room although entertainingly they gave the room that we had refused to other members of our party who arrived later in the day. They too asked to move and were accommodated elsewhere. everything worked but bathroom in particular needed an upgrade. lots of early morning noise from street cleaners etc but the upside of that was an immaculate and stunningly beautiful town centre. I'm giving it 4 stars for the location and the food and because everything did work . But the owners do need to spend a bit on an upgrade - Very dark rooms would be improved by the removal of heavy dark furniture and paintwork and having to reassemble the concertina shower door each time was a bit of a pain as was fact that shower head was at chest height. ....but on the whole we had a fun time and weather was great so these were small things

Room Tip: 268 is by no stretch of the imagination big enough to be a twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you for the review and thank you for sharing your experience in Norcia.
For your next stay make sure to tell us any kind of request you might have so that everything will delight you!
As you saw, we are the oldest restaurant in Umbria and we have our rooms in very old bulding and this makes them all different in size, some have balcony, some have bigger bathrooms, some have shower, some have bathtub and so on.

We are glad you enjoed everything else about our hotel and we'll make sure your next stay will be even better!

See you soon in Norcia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having read many good reviews and wanting to stay in the center of Norcia, we were looking forward to our stay here. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Before saying why, I do want to give accolades to the desk staff as they were welcoming, helpful and very nice. They went out of their way to serve and be pleasant.

Our displeasure particularly relates to our room and its condition. There was white fluffy mold growing along side the bathtub, the bedspread had large stains, furniture was scuffed and the room generally had a presence of needing a thorough cleaning. The bathroom amenities were minimal. The room was very dark and gloomy but that is probably due to its age and decor. We were there for just one night but had it been more we would have requested a room change. When we checked out, we told of the mold and the desk woman seemed appropriately concerned and upset. I hope that something was done about it.

I think that the bottom line is that the hotel needs a facelift. And....this was just one room. Perhaps it was not indicative of the other rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed with HF Holidays after a recommendation from our last year's guide. The hotel is old and like a rabbit warren. If you like character this is for you. If you like all mod cons and light and airy characterless rooms it isn't. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful and the owners are very much on the scene and eager to please.

The evening meals were enormous and offered a wide variety of local delicacies. Wine was provided gratis.

My main criticism would be the size of the shower in the en suite. However my daughter booked separately so she could join us for one night and had an enormous room. The hotel was really accommodating in arranging for her and friend to sit with us for their meal and the free wine was offered to them too. It's little details like this that would make me overlook the minor irritations.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burtandjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
We are very glad you were delighted about the character and quaint charm of our hotel, as well as the wide variety of local delicacies offered by our restaurant Granaro del Monte, the oldest in Umbria.
We are sorry about the shower issue you had.
All the room in the Hotel Grotta Azzurra are different in size and I'm sure that the front desk would have helped you out if only you would have told them the problem about the size of the bathroom.
We look forward to see you again in Norcia and we will be happy to accomodate you in one of our Deluxe Rooms for your next stay.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there for four nights in early June. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. There was almost always someone around who could speak English. Rooms were OK, bathrooms nice and modern. Biggest complaint was the lack of light, in the halls and rooms. But the helpfulness of the staff more than made up for that. One night we asked them to arrange a taxi for us to go to a restaurant outside the city; they took us in the hotel's vehicle.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 701ralph_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Ralph,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Just like you said Hospitality is our name and we look forward to see you soon again in one of our Hotels.
Follow us on Facebook and Tweeter to keep yourself updated on our special offers!
Best Regads

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a package with Holiday Fellowship. It is situated just off the main square in Norcia. The hotel has lots of character. It is not luxurious but it is charming. We had a reasonable sized room which had a balcony overlooking the street. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food is very regionally based and good value. We had 6 of the evening meals there, plus a couple of lunches.
If you are looking for a more luxurious hotel, the family own the Palazzo Seneca. This is just at the back of the hotel Grotta Azzurra. We had an evening meal there and it was excellent.
Norcia is very pretty and is good walking country.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the review about your stay in Norcia!
We are glad you have enjoyed the charme and the character of the Hotel Grotta Azzurra as well as the Restaurant Granaro del Monte.
We look forward to see you again in Norcia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our second stay in the Grotta Azzurra, and this time we brought a party of 12 friends. The best rooms are comfortable (do not go for the cheapest ones) and it is right in the heart of town. Despite this, it is quiet, as the town is largely traffic free. Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is vast, and the food reasonable - but not gourmet stuff. Parking is fee, at the group's other hotel, just outside the city walls.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Dear Arnoldbak,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are glad you decided to came back to the Hotel Grotta Azzurra and we look forward to see you again soon once again with all of your friends!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 10 in Norcia
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salicone
5.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Elite
Grand Hotel Elite
#5 of 8 in Cascia
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 10 in Norcia
139 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel delle Rose
Hotel delle Rose
#3 of 8 in Cascia
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 10 in Norcia
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta Azzurra

Address: Via Alfieri 6, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range: $52 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grotta Azzurra 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporary close due renovation after the October 2016 Earthquake. Reopening on April 2018 stay tuned! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grotta Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Azzurra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing