We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character and quaint charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Full of character and quaint charm”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed with HF Holidays after a recommendation from our last year's guide. The hotel is old and like a rabbit warren. If you like character this is for you. If you like all mod cons and light and airy characterless rooms it isn't. The hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful and the owners are very much on the scene and eager to please.

The evening meals were enormous and offered a wide variety of local delicacies. Wine was provided gratis.

My main criticism would be the size of the shower in the en suite. However my daughter booked separately so she could join us for one night and had an enormous room. The hotel was really accommodating in arranging for her and friend to sit with us for their meal and the free wine was offered to them too. It's little details like this that would make me overlook the minor irritations.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtandjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
We are very glad you were delighted about the character and quaint charm of our hotel, as well as the wide variety of local delicacies offered by our restaurant Granaro del Monte, the oldest in Umbria.
We are sorry about the shower issue you had.
All the room in the Hotel Grotta Azzurra are different in size and I'm sure that the front desk would have helped you out if only you would have told them the problem about the size of the bathroom.
We look forward to see you again in Norcia and we will be happy to accomodate you in one of our Deluxe Rooms for your next stay.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    171
    56
    20
    15
See reviews for
103
190
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed there for four nights in early June. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. There was almost always someone around who could speak English. Rooms were OK, bathrooms nice and modern. Biggest complaint was the lack of light, in the halls and rooms. But the helpfulness of the staff more than made up for that. One night we asked them to arrange a taxi for us to go to a restaurant outside the city; they took us in the hotel's vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 701ralph_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Ralph,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Just like you said Hospitality is our name and we look forward to see you soon again in one of our Hotels.
Follow us on Facebook and Tweeter to keep yourself updated on our special offers!
Best Regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week as part of a package with Holiday Fellowship. It is situated just off the main square in Norcia. The hotel has lots of character. It is not luxurious but it is charming. We had a reasonable sized room which had a balcony overlooking the street. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The food is very regionally based and good value. We had 6 of the evening meals there, plus a couple of lunches.
If you are looking for a more luxurious hotel, the family own the Palazzo Seneca. This is just at the back of the hotel Grotta Azzurra. We had an evening meal there and it was excellent.
Norcia is very pretty and is good walking country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for the review about your stay in Norcia!
We are glad you have enjoyed the charme and the character of the Hotel Grotta Azzurra as well as the Restaurant Granaro del Monte.
We look forward to see you again in Norcia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level Contributor
244 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our second stay in the Grotta Azzurra, and this time we brought a party of 12 friends. The best rooms are comfortable (do not go for the cheapest ones) and it is right in the heart of town. Despite this, it is quiet, as the town is largely traffic free. Staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant is vast, and the food reasonable - but not gourmet stuff. Parking is fee, at the group's other hotel, just outside the city walls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Arnoldbak,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are glad you decided to came back to the Hotel Grotta Azzurra and we look forward to see you again soon once again with all of your friends!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level Contributor
142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

There are a few much better hotels in town not the least of which is owned by the same family but its good value for money. The bedroom is somewhat old fashioned but functional. Best of all the wifi works all the time which I can't say for many hotels I've stayed in in Italy. Food and service is more than acceptable. The hotels position is perfect within the walled city just off the main piazza.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IanDeCesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was half the price of the wonderful hotel we had just stayed at on Lake Garda so I am probably being unreasonable to expect the same standards. But I did not expect to have to ask my wife to hold the shower spray for me because the fixing clip was defective, nor did I expect there would only be one place I could stand in the bath because of a massive overhead beam. Both room and bathroom are 'compact' (aka cramped)' and the TV did not work. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.
Others have commented on the adequacy of the breakfast, in particular the quality of the fruit. The management have taken note - they have reduced the choice - an apple or an orange. That is it.

Arguably the hotel is adequate at this price, does not in my view live up to its "imagine" hype in its brochure. I would not choose it again.

Room Tip: We had room 218 - quiet but cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike-john-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Four of us stayed for a 3 day 'chill' out and a base to tour the area. Our rooms were spacious, high quality and well decorated. The staff were efficient, very professional and very friendly and welcoming. We opted for half board which allowed us to choose (in its restaurant Granaro del Monte) either a starter & main course for lunch or dinner OR 4 1/2 courses from starter, 1st course, second course, main course, desert with wine!. The restaurant also had a wood fire where several of its meat dishes were cooked. Good ambience & knowledgeable waiters.

The food was some of the best I've eaten. Smoked salmon trout, Tagliatella with wild boar sauce (my favourite), Norcia sausage, local prosciutto.... it just went on and on. Over the 3 days we tried virtually all the dishes between us. Not one disappointed!!

Breakfast was the usual continental buffet style which was plentiful and a wide choice.

The quality of the hotel and its food were very high. In Mid-March we were charged €100 per room (Half Board for 2). Unbeatable!

Room Tip: We (2 couples) both had rooms on the first floor so can't advise if all in the hotel are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbyfan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grotta Azzurra, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for spending some of you time sharing your experience in Norcia here on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased you had the chance to eat in our restaurant Granaro del Monte, and the fact that you liked many of our dishes is for us a reason of pride.
You haven't mentioned the truffle, the most delicious dish that this land offers, so Truffle season could be for you a good reason to came back.
Follow us on Facebook and Tweeter and discover our special offers for you next stay in the Hotel Grotta Azzurra!
Arrivederci a Norcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salicone
7.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Fiorelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 12 in Norcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 12 in Norcia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.9 mi away
B&B Live Paradise Norcia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta Azzurra

Property: Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Address: Via Alfieri 6, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grotta Azzurra 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Grotta Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Azzurra Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing