We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“400 Years of Hospitality”
Review of FonteAntica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
FonteAntica
Ranked #2 of 20 Norcia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“400 Years of Hospitality”
Reviewed September 14, 2011

How long is your family living on this unique place? "We live here for about 400 years and before that we lived in he tiny village just 200 meters higer on the mountain........ David is full of passion talking about his domaine and the history of his family. What a magic place .... what a views..what a room...comfort.....kindness.. Italy at his best. Thanks for sharing your roots and warmth. Inge and Rob

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robispho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
109
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Polcenigo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Outdoors: This is place is tucked in the little village of Campi. The hike to "old campi" takes about 5 minutes and offers amazing views. From there you can trek all day. The countryside is breathtaking and very unique to any other part of Italy

Food: Sausage. Truffles. Hearty red wines and Orvieto whites. Can you ask for more? Two nights the family cooked and it was very good! Nights when they don't offer dinner you will have to drive about 10-15 minutes and there are many good restaurants nearby.

Hospitality: We really loved the host family. They are easy to talk to, comfortable to be around, and very friendly. They have special knowledge of the area and are happy to share it.

This is a really special place! It is small and offers amazing ambiance. I expect it will find its way into the big guide books very soon, it certainly deserves a "Favorite" ranking anywhere! The nice thing is that it will never feel crowded or touristy. It probably isn't for the type of traveler who likes big hotels, resorts, and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Beatifully resored agriturismo. Family run, with great enthousiasm and warmth, yet very profesionally. Good access to hiking, biking, horseback riding trails. This is the best agriturismo experience you can get.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RogierW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Fonte Antica is a beautifully restored old Umbrian farmhouse set in spacious grounds just below the very picturesque village of Campi Alto and with wondeful views over the unspoilt valley below. The rooms are spacious and comfortable; and the host is very helpful and very friendly. We had our dog with us; and he couldn't have been more welcoming. Good breakfast. The whole place has a very nice family atmosphere, and is very tranquil

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baroqueandroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We came to Fonteantica for a business retreat with a group of 12 colleagues aged 25 to 60. Everyone enjoyed it and appreciated the atmosphere, the friendliness and the food, while also taking advantage of a fully equipped meeting room during the day, and of a pool table during the evening.
As a group coordinator (and an Italian) I was particularly proud to see that there are still people who enjoy offering excellent hospitality and believe in what they are doing, to the point of infusing passion and dedication even in the minutest details. Giovanni, Paolo and Elisabetta: thanks to you we had a very productive time together, and we enjoyed every minute.

Keep it up and hopefully see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iannibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
4.3 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
587 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Elite
Grand Hotel Elite
#5 of 8 in Cascia
161 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Salicone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
#3 of 12 in Norcia
464 reviews
5.9 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 12 in Norcia
139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 12 in Norcia
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FonteAntica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FonteAntica

Property: FonteAntica
Address: Via Vissana 7 | Frazione Campi, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the owners and managers of FonteAntica we aim to fully express the spirit of enthusiasm we have for hospitality and the love that we have for our region and our land. In 2008 we opened the doors of our house to guests so that they might discover the roots that we have laid down here; it was, for us, a dream come true. The 18h century house has been fully renovated, carefully preserving the original features of the house as far as possible. This care has also been taken with each of our ten ensuite rooms (two of which are fully accessible for the disabled). The rooms have been restored using the best of materials and are furnished with original 18th and 19th century pieces, guaranteeing both your utmost comfort and the most authentic atmosphere possible. Our cooking is 100% Umbrian, made using our own genuine home produce along with other carefully selected local produce. We serve a fixed menu and the dining area is reserved exclusively for our house-guests. A hearty buffet breakfast of homemade dishes awaits you in the morning to get your day off to a good start. In the large park outside you will be immersed in the lush Umbrian vegetation, where the only noises you'll hear are the twitter of birds and the sound of water coming up from the spring. We offer our guests a wide range of services and activities. Indoors there is a reading room with a fireplace, a billiard table, table top football, darts and board games. While outdoors there are mountain bikes, a ping pong table, a children's play area, archery and an area to play the Italian equivalent of boules: Bocce. We can organise courses for those interested in cookery, Norcineria (the preparation of local cured meets and cheeses) and how to find truffles. We can also organise hill walking trips, walking trips with mules, pony trekking, mountain biking, tasting events, evenings and weekends with a theme, murder mystery dinners, hen and stag parties and small receptions as well as team building and motivational activities such as (rafting, obstacle courses, archery, Nordic Walking and walking with snowshoes). It's the ideal place for groups of friends, families with children and couples in search of some quality time together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your FonteAntica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing