We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and great attention”
Review of Palazzo Seneca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Seneca
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

So many positive reviews, that I don't really know what else can be said about this very nice property and about the very attentive staff.
The family Bianconi made very great efforts to refurbish the building keeping some of the main points of the original style, like the floor probaly dated back XVI century.
The sofa room and library room are really a piece of good interior decoration and relaxing atmosphere, and the small yet inviting spa center (very clean indeed, as the whole place) completed our stay.
The breakfast offers many variants, and specially the food is extremely fresh.
A special note to the Vespasia restaurant, and candle light dinner, where you're really pampered with tastes and good level of service.
Mr Bianconi himself welcomed us in the middle of the dinner and we really felt welcome and it was very nice to receive such personal and not invasive attention.
Definitely an experience to try in a place where the soul is still alive in a modern world which has not anymore soul.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danilo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear DaniloF,

thank you very much for sharing your experience here. We are really happy when our guests are satisfied...

Hoping to see you again soon

our kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 608 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Palazzo Seneca over the black truffle festival (Nero Norcia, 28 Feb - 2 March 2014). We were efficiently transported to the hotel from the Best Western Hotel as the old town was closed off because of the festival. The Palazzo Seneca is an elegant and extremely well-maintained property close to the main square of Norica. We were met by friendly, helpful and very professional staff. We stayed in a triple room which was quite spacious. The room was extremely clean and refurbished very stylishly.

As we were attending the gourmet dinner at the Vespasia restaurant located in the hotel itself (A lunch or dinner service at the Vespasia is definitely not to be missed!), the hotel staff arranged a babysitter for our 2 year old.

Breakfast at the Vespasia is wonderful with a range of cakes, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice, cereals, yogurts, an a la carte menu with eggs etc. They also naturally feature local products - Norcia salume, black truffle on the menu...absolutely delicious!

We had a fabulous time in Norcia and at the Palazzo Seneca and look forward to our return to this fabulous town and wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vierah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We spent three nights at Palazzo Seneca (11-13 October 2013) and could not have been happier with our choice, not only in the hotel but also in the town of Norcia itself.

The drive into Norcia, which is situated in one of the beautiful, verdant valleys of the Umbrian Sibillian Mountains is quite lovely. We followed the river Sordo and came in via Serravalle so were quite surprised at the open plain after winding through the valley between soaring peaks. The town is completely encircled by walls that have survived from the 14th century and Palazzo Seneca itself dates from the 16th century.

Don't be afraid to drive in the main city gate which appears from the outside to be reserved for pedestrian traffic - as soon as you drive through there is a barrier directing you to turn right which ultimately leads you to a small piazza with a fountain and a large church facing you. Continue on this street and just past the church is Palazzo Seneca. Street parking is permissible, however, anywhere marked with blue lines is paid parking during the day and only free from about 18:00-08:00 (in other words, overnight). Alternatively, if you turn right at the church there is a sizable car park a short way down the lane on the left and that one is completely free of charge.

Palazzo Seneca has been very cleverly converted into a sophisticated and stylish hotel yet still retains many 16th century features such as the beautiful fireplace in the sitting room, artfully blending old and new. There is no traditional Reception Desk, rather we were greeted in a warm and personal manner by Serena (who was on duty that afternoon) as though we were guests in a private home. After the formalities were completed and Serena had made some suggestions of what we could see and do during our stay in Norcia, we were shown through the ground floor sitting rooms (one has complimentary cookies and cakes on offer along with tea and water while the other has the ancient fireplace, a beautiful desk and chess board), the gorgeous library with a private room (suitable for meetings or private dining) leading off through an almost secret door and the chic restaurant "Vespasia" which is divided into separate rooms. All are furnished with comfortable and stylish leather couches and wing backed chairs in a colour palate complementary to the warm stone hues of the original building.

We had very kindly been upgraded from a Romantica room to a Superior room (we had room 106) and could not believe how large and beautifully laid out it was: entry with minibar, safe and storage, full length mirror on the wall and then further storage for baggage with hanging space, shelving and then a door opens into the bedroom (the entry provides a buffer to any noise from the corridor) which is gloriously spacious. At the foot of the iron four poster bed were two comfortable armchairs and a coffee table facing a large flat screen television mounted on the wall between two doors, one leading to the bathroom and the other to a separate toilet with bidet. The bedroom also contained a desk and chair and our bedroom windows opened onto the path leading to the public entrance for the restaurant "Vespasia". Once again the interior decorating was lovely in soothing colours and giving an immediate impression of luxury. The bathroom was complete with a wonderful rain shower over the bath as well as a hand-held shower head, plenty of towels, an array of amenities and of course there were bathrobes and slippers. Everything one could possibly want in a luxury hotel.

Breakfast was quite simply the most wondrous spread imaginable with an array of local cheeses and meats, honey (also local), jams, fresh baked breads, fruits, pastries, yoghurts, cereals, made-to-order eggs and omelettes, tea, coffee and hot chocolate. A delicious and decadent start to anyone's day! At breakfast we were reading the Bianconi family's mission to recreate the childhood breakfasts they enjoyed with their grandmother growing up - what an ideal childhood they must have had with breakfasts like that to greet each day!

The hotel is only 50 metres or so from the main piazza, Piazza San Benedetto and the Castellina, previously a brutal gaol which now houses a museum (well worth a visit for the collected artefacts from ancient occupation of the area, art works and the fabulous views over the Piazza San Benedetto and the mountains from the windows!). Norcia is a relatively flat town and not overly large which makes it easy to walk around even for those with mobility difficulties. We circumnavigated the outside of the town following the wall which took about 45 minutes on foot. The town is crammed full of shops and restaurants. Many of the shops specialise in the locally produced specialties of cured meats such as wild boar, local cheeses and black truffles - for which the region surrounding Norcia is famous.

Don't miss out on a meal or two at the restaurant belonging to sister hotel Grotta Azzurra which is literally across the street. Ristorante Granaro del Monte is massive, catering for what we estimated to be crowd of around 500 people! When we were there one room alone had about 240 dining simultaneously and that was in only one of about 4 rooms, quite astounding! The food is good simple fare with excellent pasta and delicious desserts on offer and not expensive. For fine dining, however, don't go past Palazzo Seneca's own Ristorante Vespasia (named after the Roman Emperor, Vespasian, whose mother was born in Norcia). Your tastebuds will be tantalised by the rich and varied dishes, all served whilst you relax in the stylish surrounds of Palazzo Seneca's décor.

Two other must sees whilst staying at Palazzo Seneca are a visit to Castelluccio, a small town over the mountains in the next valley - the scenery is breathtaking, wild and unique, and a visit to the basilica dedicated to St Benedict (San Benedetto), where the Benedictine monks (who live in the adjoining monastery) conduct their evening services by candlelight in Gregorian chant - it is an amazing experience and the monks' voices are beautiful.

To sum up, Norcia is a very beautiful and interesting place rich in history (the town is also the birthplace of San Benedetto, founder of the Benedictine monastic system and his twin sister, Santa Scolastica (St Scholastica)), set in a gorgeous part of Umbria and what better place to base yourself to enjoy and explore the area than the luxuriously stylish Palazzo Seneca?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SJDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here - 2 Adults, a child and a toddler in October 2013. We had a wonderful stay, the rooms were fab, the little rooms were like a home away from home. On our first night it rained hard and it felt great to sit in the room with a warm fire playing chess.

Breakfast was delicious, and there was a great selection.

Unfortunately never got to use the spa but it looked lovely. The shower in our room was heaven- i never wanted to get out!

We had rented a car also and had a great time touring the area- but it was great to have a selection of bars and food on the doorstep. We did also use the swimming pool facility and the children really enjoyed this.

Great hotel and we would recommend this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennypeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the most fantastic four nights in this very comfortable and beautifully maintained hotel. Management and staff we truly helpful and did everything to make our stay very memorable. We will definitely revisit this lovely hotel and town.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay. We just checked out and I had to write my review now while its fresh, although the experience is unforgettable. The hotel is lovely, the town is lovely and the restaurant was delicious. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel staff went above and beyond. Helping with lost luggage and arraigning horseback riding, truffle hunting, hotel transfers and helping to find shops to replace items in the missing luggage. The spa has a Turkish bath, sauna, and steam room. The town has several good shops and beautiful church's. The surrounding landscape is so beautiful and easily viewed off the back patio. We saw the owners a few times during our stay. One even greeted us at dinner. I hope we are lucky enough to return someday.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal79k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Palazzo Seneca for two nights as part of a recent holiday in Italy. We could not have been happier with our choice. It is a well appointed hotel in a great location only a few steps from the main square of Norcia. Our room was very comfortable. From start to finish, the service was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast offered a great selection to start the day. We enjoyed dinner in the hotel restaurant Vespasia on our first night - a fine meal in an elegant setting. We didn't get to the spa - we were too busy exploring Norcia and surrounding areas. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrGrace365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
22.4 mi away
Villa dei Platani Boutique Hotel & Spa
23.4 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
18.7 mi away
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
Il Baio Relais & Natural SPA
#1 of 1 in Camporoppolo
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
#1 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
1,169 reviews
22.4 mi away
Relais Metelli
Relais Metelli
#2 of 17 in Foligno
151 reviews
19.1 mi away
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
#1 of 7 in Trevi
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Seneca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Seneca

Address: Via Cesare Battisti 12, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range: $187 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Seneca 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At home in an Umbrian palace, this is the atmosphere that you live in this XVI-century building of charm that has reopened after an accurate restoration. Fusion between design and tradition, simplicity and quality is the secret of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palazzo Seneca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Seneca Norcia
Palazzo Seneca Hotel Norcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing