We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place for nature lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Seneca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palazzo Seneca
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Norcia
Certificate of Excellence
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great place for nature lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have found this hotel via Relais Chateaux hotels chain, that we used to stay at in the past.
It's our first visit to Norcia which is in the center of a beautiful national park.
We spent wonderful time there, we would love to come back.
The hotel is just a great place to stay. It׳s situated in the middle of this lovely village called Norcia. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and clean. The stuff is professional , generous and always at your service. breakfast is very special, elegant and well served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Niva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your enthusiast review. We hope that you can come back in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    73
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
340
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just came back from Norcia. Beautiful town calming but exciting at the same time. I would love to go back to enjoy mountains fresh air, Tartuffe and all..... I would definitely will stay at Palazzo Seneca, I loved almost everything about the place , Beatiful blend of old and new in such a harmonious way...I also liked the type of guests that the place attracts.... staff was extremely courteous and helpful in everything. We ate at Vespasia restaurant which was good not excellent,
But very promising as a gourmet restaurant. However We have found the restaurant too quite ( which is bizarre because I personally hate and complain about noise in most restraurants) but this one is intimidatingly quite...although the tables are perfectly set in distance from one another, you still can not have a conversation because you are worried about breaking the silence!!!!!
I also found large lighting fixtures overly dominating otherwise very Beatiful simple room...The young woman who served us was extremely competent, confident and pleasant...she Infact served all other guest may be 15 all together, with same attention to detail and pleasant manner and speed...I was surprise to see her again at our breakfast early in the morning with sunrise like smile on her face and same confident serving skills..by the way breakfast was excellent quality and variety .. I did not use the spa but when I asked about fitness room I was advised and gently transferred to another near by recreation centre with Olympic swimming pool, all fitness facilities, And driven back when I was done..I would definitely go back to this hotel...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a good quality (if small) room at the stair-end of the second floor, with a decent bed (although poor pillows) and good shower. V small but nice balcony, which didn't have a view but was a nice place to have a quick drink. Seemed like good sound-proofing between our room and the next, but you do get noise coming from the corridor (like so many hotels, it seems to me these days). There are also several nice rooms on the ground floor in which you can sit and read.

Helpful staff, great breakfast and good location right in the middle of Norcia - seconds away from Plazza San Benedetto.

(If the weather is good then do drive up to Castelluccio, which is a stunning route through the mountains and into a huge plain which I've never seen the like of in central Europe before. And have a coffee at the top!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2FK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We would like to thank again the friendly staff for making our stay very relaxing in our tour through North Italy. Rooms were comfortable, and at our arrival we were shown different roomtypes in case we wanted to change or upgrade. The palace itself makes you really feel home and the restaurant serves traditional local food with a twist. A beautiful place in a fantastic scenery...we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I find it difficult to write an unbiased account of Palazzo Seneca, simply because our stay in Norcia was near-perfect.
Palazzo Seneca is a beautiful building, carefully restored. It is the staff that keeps it alive. Even though it is a Relais & Chateaux ownership, it does not suffer from the sterile-grandeur that I have experienced in other R & C establishments. The main reason for this difference is the Bianconi family management, their staff, and their relationship to Palazzo Seneca.
Apart from being one of the very few completely walled Italian towns (still intact), Norcia has two major attributes;
It has a fantastic local cuisine, and its inhabitants show a friendly humility in relationship to tourists.
Both of these points are reflected at the Palazzo S. The breakfast at the P.S. is, alone, well worth staying for. All local produce and supplied with information.
We choose Norcia as a base for walking in the mountains (typical Norwegian pastime!). Umbria has fantastic scenery, and the ground is “kind” to your feet. I can highly recommend the area around & above Castelluccio. October turned out to the right choice, we were lucky. The nighttime had a temperature of around + 8 rose to + 27°C in the afternoon, even at 1900 meters. Out all day, returning to the town to enjoy its gastronomic delights in the evening. Late spring was also recommended to us, due to the flowering on the plains.
Do keep an eye open for watching the sheepdogs at work.
There are numerous restaurants in Norcia, we tried a selection (all varied but no disappointments).
If in need of a “easy” lunch – I can recommend buying a couple of slices of pizza from the small shop on the side of the square, accompanied a bottle of beer, then just sit on a bench and watch the local life!
Other than the time of year, try to evade going to Norcia in the week-ends. Norcia is practically invaded every Friday by Italians whom arrive to purchase the black truffels, Norcina, and lots of other delights. They usually leave on Sunday, late-afternoon. Start your stay on Sunday or Monday, to find the serenity of Norcia.
Finally, whether you have any religious believes or not, try to (respectfully!) be allowed to listen to the Gregorian Chant in the evening at the Church St. Benedetto.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank That-was-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel represents all that you would hope for from a Relais & Chateaux. The rooms are lovely and the food is excellent and in keeping with most things Italian this is very much a family operation with a matriarchal mother in the background!

We were looked after wonderfully and wanted for nothing, you arrive and are greeted fondly and made to feel like an old friend or repeat client. We stayed for a few nights and I am so glad we were there for two dinners as the chef is excellent. We were fortunate to meet the chef having said how much we enjoyed his cooking and mentioned that we were hoping to visit (the Michelin starred) La Bastiglia in Spello but didn’t expect to be able to book a table, the chef turned around and said he’s a friend of mine, picked up his mobile and booked us a table – what service and connections!!

Go visit, eat and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrickthehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We spent 2 amazing nights at Palazzo Seneca and honestly could not fault a single thing. The staff are so accommodating and helpful (incl. parking our car for us 300m away from hotel and bringing it back for us), the accommodation superb, location perfect - just off the main square so no noise, and the breakfast spread amazing! We also ate at their restaurant and had the most incredible meal, once again the staff doing everything possible to make sure it was memorable. I regret not going down to the spa but well, next time! The surrounds of Norcia are breathtaking! Well done to this hotel - in a league of your won

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonandLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DA81, Direttore vendite at Palazzo Seneca, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Dear guest thank you for your important feedback. It is a pleausure read about your statisfaction.
We hope to have you again in Norcia as our guest. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Salicone
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
Hotel Grotta Azzurra
#3 of 12 in Norcia
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Corte Belvoir
Corte Belvoir
#5 of 12 in Norcia
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Agriturismo Casale nel Parco dei Monti Sibillini
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 12 in Norcia
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
19.1 mi away
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
Il Borgo dell'Ulivo
#1 of 7 in Trevi
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Seneca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Seneca

Property: Palazzo Seneca
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 12, 06046, Norcia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Norcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Seneca 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At home in an Umbrian palace, this is the atmosphere that you live in this XVI-century building of charm that has reopened after an accurate restoration. Fusion between design and tradition, simplicity and quality is the secret of this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Palazzo Seneca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Seneca Norcia
Palazzo Seneca Hotel Norcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing