We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfecto!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Casale degli Amici

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norcia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Casale degli Amici
Ranked #2 of 19 Norcia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My entire family recently spent a couple of nights in Norcia. I had to talk a couple of them into it, as Norcia is not on the standard Tuscan-Umbrian circuit. To a person, we were all very impressed. I would encourage anyone desiring a bit of the true Italy to give this place a try. I stayed here with a friend a few years ago, as well, when we discovered this wonderful region. There is no train service, and Norcia is easiest to reach by car. For those travelers who expect everyone to speak English, I suggest sticking to the traditional venues, but if you want a taste of genuine Italian hospitality, wonderful scenery and genuinely exceptional cuisine, you'd be hard pressed to do better. When we wandered around the beautiful walled town of Norcia, popping into pastry shops and the myriad of cured meat shops, we would chat with the locals and were often asked where we were staying. When we told them we were at the Casale degli Amici, the response was unanimous: "Oh, the chef there is famous throughout the valley." And, justifiably so. Carlo and his staff, and the family who run the place really know what they're doing. The rooms, the service and the dinner? Well, we could not have enjoyed our stay more. Bravo, Ernesto and family!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    77
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
70
143
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Staying at this lovely agriturismo was one of the highlights of our honeymoon in Italy. Ernesto gave us a warm welcome. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. And the home-cooked food was delicious, especially the lasagne with grated truffle. Dining (and breakfasting) in the restaurant was enhanced by the stunning views. And the location is ideal if you want to explore the Monti Sibillini National Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We really like this place. Nice homemade Umbrian food and super friendly staff. Is situated some 5 km outside of Norcia and at our first visit they even drove us back to our hotel in Norcia. The second time we visited them we stayed with them and the rooms were also in a good standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hartwig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parabiago, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The title of this review says it all: this farmhouse is stunning, it has been renovated with great attention to details and it is run like an hotel. The property is ideally divided in different areas: the farmyard, the washhouse, the restaurant (where breakfast is also served), the stable and the cowshed. You can visit them all and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere. Our room was furnished with antiques, while the bathroom had a huge modern shower. The door leading on the outside was actually very old (I believe it could have at least a hundred years) and its key was not pocket-sized (about 20 centimeters!). We had dinner at the restaurant and talked with the owner while looking at a football match on TV (ok, not very intimate if you want my opinion, but I do not like football). If you're visiting Norcia area, please do not miss Castelluccio and its lentils!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We have been very late in reviewing this beautiful property due to a variety of reasons - busy at home since returning to Canada. We came (prebooked with references from trip advisor) for a week in May to hike and walk in the Sibillini, photograph wildflowers and enjoy the beauty of this region. We were a bit too early for the majority of the wildflowers but still walked and took in a lot of the mountains of this area.

This agriturissmo surpassed our hopes for accommodation and food in this price range. The hosts could not have been better and we were truly sorry to leave. The food each day was really excellent. Mama Lorenza and family were attuned to what would please any discerning palate in the evening! The lasagne was to die for! There was always a bottle of white and/or red wine on the table but there was a well rounded wine list to choose from also. We ventured out to Norcia one evening and that was pleasant - just a pizza restaurant but very nice - but were glad to book back in to half board at Casale Degli Amici and just relax in the lovely surroundings without driving (or walking) to Norcia. The after dinner grappas were much appreciated by my husband also! Breakfast was a huge spread and the coffee ample and delicious.

Our room was spacious and clean with up to date security card entry - which was a surprise somehow for a remote non city situation; the furniture rustic appearing which suited the setting and had ample dressers/closets for a week's stay. The bathroom was large and well equipped. You could not hear anyone next door and this far out in the country ensured no traffic noise - very peaceful with a lovely view as you can see from other's photos. I also liked that I could wash out a few things and hang them on the line to dry down in the garden rather than trying to find a laundromat or hang things about the room. As a hiker, it is appreciated.

I heartily recommend a stay here in this location. We just loved our warm welcome, professional dining service, wonderful food, clean and pretty room, fabulous family of hosts. Happy to to say you will not be disappointed if you choose Casale Degli Amici - this super Agriturissmo - for your stay in Norcia. Grazie mille, Mama Lorenza et famille from John and Joan!

Room Tip: Maybe try a suite - but our room next to the parking lot was roomy and quiet and easy to load luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tryfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stumbled upon this perfect gem of a hotel whilst on a cycle tour. Lovely people, SUPERB FOOD, and perfect surroundings.
This Agro-tourism hotel is great in that is has a lovely setting, is very smart and has clear rooms, and a dining room I would travel many many miles to eat in. If they this place was classified it would be a 4 star hotel (if it added a pool it would be 5 star).

As you can see from my other reviews, I tend to be quite critical but realise now that praise should also be given where it is due, and this place is made by the attention and care of its owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Great food and great views. Do not miss the Piano Grande di Castelluccio! And don't come without your phrase book if you don't know Italian...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carefree_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norcia
9.7 mi away
Palazzo Seneca
Palazzo Seneca
#1 of 12 in Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
9.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Salicone
11.2 mi away
B&B Live Paradise Norcia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
FonteAntica
FonteAntica
#1 of 19 in Norcia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
13.1 mi away
Baldassari
Baldassari
#1 of 11 in Cascia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Casale degli Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Casale degli Amici

Property: Il Casale degli Amici
Address: 06046, Norcia, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Norcia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Norcia
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm house in Norcia with restaurant, available standard rooms, and mini suite rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing