We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat lover's heaven”
Review of Osteria Acquacheta

Osteria Acquacheta
Ranked #10 of 98 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Osteria ACQUACHETA, open for over 25 years, has retained the characteristics of the old Tuscan taverns. The kitchen, sharing tables, one glass for water and wine, and not least an authentic welcome and true, typically Tuscan, make it a local flavor ... you feel at home ... Managers, CHIARA and GIULIO, have maintained intact over the years the tradition of pasta, bread, cakes and homemade preserves to which are added succulent steaks cooked Florentine embers of wood. Local, small and very popular, is located in the upper part of the old town, a few steps from the main square.
PA, USA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Meat lover's heaven”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you want to eat a real good fiorentina in Tuscany, this is the place. The dining room is jam packed. You order by the size of the cut of meat (minimum 1.5 kilo) and Giulio cuts the meat and presents it to you before grilling. Don't order anything else besides a salad, you won't have room. The wine list is the few bottles lining the wall. You can drink the vino casa but I highly recommend the vino nobile Poliziano Reserva 2007. The whole experience is just amazing. And the price is too. The fiorentina is only 3 euros per 100 grams. One warning though. You won't get in unless you make a reservation well in advance. Otherwise, hope for a 9:30 seating.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllanChg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,086
    795
    167
    66
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I will start by saying that you must make a reservation as this place is tiny and very popular. Our group of seven reserved for 2:30pm and had to wait until almost 3pm. Well worth the wait. Outstanding food, excellent service, great prices. Put all this together and add an eccentric owner and you have the recipe for a great experience. Can.t say enough about the prices. We had appetizers, pasta, 3 bottles of local wine and one 1.6 kilos t-bone steak. All this for 138 Euros. Keep in mind that 60 euros alone went for the steak and it was worth it. Unbelieavable value for the money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Decame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great steak with great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Let be another in the line of reviewers to tell you this place is amazing.
The first thing you should do when you know you will be coming to Montepulciano is make a reservation for the first night.
Here is how it works, there are two evening sittings, 7:30pm and 9:30pm.
At about 7pm, there will be a group of people outside waiting for the lights to come on and the chef to allow us in. There he will ask what your reservation is and if you don't have it, he will make you wait til the ones with reservations are seated.
So it is a tight squeeze, essentially everyone sits right next to each other.
The waitress comes hands out menus, and the specials menu is passed around.
So don't fret if your significant other doesn't eat meat, you can always get a filet and you may want to ask the couple next to you to share a meat (it really makes sense) and anyways chances are you will get to know them by the end of the meal.
We met a lovely couple Rita and Rob celebrating Rita's b-day.
Rita kindly offered me part of her steak, as neither my wife or her husband ate meat.
As we shared stories from our travels and a terrific meal it ended up being one of the best days in Italy so far.
Thanks

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our worst meal in Montepulciano.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I just don't get all the hype around this restaurant.

I'm sure the New York Times review had a lot to do with it but, are you kidding me? I was in Montepulciano for the past two weeks and this was by far the worst dining experience we had. A huge disappointment.
To begin with, the restaurant is crowded and noisy. It is impossible to have a conversation. You are seated with other diners so if you don't feel like being friendly, don't go here.

I have had Bisteca Fiorentina before and this by far was the most tasteless and toughest piece of meat I ever ate. I couldn't eat it so I filled up on my sides (which were very good).

One more thing. The restaurant has a policy where you only have one glass for both your water and wine. Are you kidding me? At these prices, I deserve a separate glass for my wine!

Don't fall for the hype.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank philc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner in traditional restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you like stake you have to come here, you will be surprised how food is served here. Very delicious and welcoming atmosphere, owner looks his area specialist! You will be surprised how little you will pay compared to other places in Plaza Grande! Very recomended!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virtusas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Acquacheta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Sant'Albino, Montepulciano
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria Acquacheta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing