We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than fabulous”

Ristorante La Grotta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Opened till 1966, tuscan food, garden for summer time, romantic dinner.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than fabulous”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The food was incredible,the building inspiring but the wait staff made this restaurant memorable. It was the best meal we had while in Italy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    173
    41
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but expensive”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Walking distance from Relais San Bruno, nice garden for dinner. Inside restaurant too noisy. Prices very high according to Italian standards.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corine en Geor... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had dinner in the garden here on a beautiful summer evening. The food was outstanding and creative and the wine was excellent. We found the service equally fine, and we thoroughly enjoyed dinner. I would recommend making a reservation particularly in the summer, if you want to sit it the garden. After reading some of the other reviews, I also wanted to say that this is a fine dining establishment - if you a visitor to Italy wanting a standard trattoria or osteria experience, this is cut above. They do serve traditional dishes so that if a member of your group wants a classic pasta, they'll find it. If you're a foodie looking for a gourmet meal, then you've found it. Since we are in Montepulciano for three more days, we plan to return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann-TexasTraveler073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
187 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“We lost track of the number of visits - consistently good”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Whenever we are near Montepulciano, we have to eat her. Sunday lunch combined with a visit to San Biagio is a family tradition.

This time it was quite hot so the restaurant was a bit quiet. Nevertheless, we had an excellent lunch. We were welcomed and discussed the number of visits we'd made.

We ordered antipasti and primi. With it we drank a supertuscan from Abbadia. It was a special (they have always some wine specials which are worth trying, last time we had the no-vo-li from fontecornino which was also excellent. ) For antiapsti, the best dish was the egg with truffle. We also had a tartar of veal. Primi was pici and gnocchi - always good.

We ended with coffee.






Fortnuately we'll be in Montepulciano in a few weeks ..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Hands down, the best meal in Tuscany!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We dined at La Grotta in 2004, 2007, and again this May. The quality of food, presentation and service are truly faultless. Husband raved about his tomato soup and steak with grilled vegetables. My first course of picci with duck ragout and main rack of lamb were both sublime. We also shared an appetizer of crostini with chicken liver pate and dessert each. The owner and head waiter, David, recommended a fantastic bottle of Vino Nobile. We spent a very memorable evening in one of our favorite restaurants in Italy. Please go - you will love it!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Grotta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Ristorante La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing