We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Ristorante La Grotta
Ranked #5 of 101 Restaurants in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $52 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opened till 1966, tuscan food, garden for summer time, romantic dinner.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The best restaurant we ate at in our entire 11 day trip to Italy. The owner and staff were incredibly nice and welcoming. The setting is beautiful right outside the own walls. The white truffle dishes and eggplant parmesan was to die for, and the wine selection outstanding. The pasta with tomatoes, garlic and basil and the Tuscan beef stew were amazingly delicious. We will eat there every time we go back to Montepulciano.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kjmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    175
    43
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good, but not #1”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this off a recommendation from our Italian server at our villa and had it as a birthday dinner during our honeymoon trip. While it was definitely upscale and great food, it just wasn't anything special to us. All portions were very small and wines a bit pricey for being local. For the price, I think there are better options. You really need to pull out the wallet to make this your favorite restaurant. We preferred other restaurants in Montepulciano.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StompyChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“World Class”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went for lunch. La Grotta is definitely a fine dining restaurant. The waiters and waitresses are trained to serve and pour as in the finest dining establishments. The food is prepared perfectly and the plating is an art work. We only ordered a salad and a couple of pasta dishes. This place is flawless.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeyteJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Locally and internationally of a high standard”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We went there twice, the first time during the day so we were able to sit in the charming garden area from where you have a view of the Tempio di San Biagio which is next to it. Parking is directly outside which is great as parking in Montepulciano can be tricky. The food is seasonal and local, the cooking is traditional to the highest standard. A hare salad, we both had each time we went, intense flavour and perfectly balanced salad and dressing. Pici (local pasta), was light and melt in the mouth and a pigeon dish was the best eaten anywhere so far. The standard was consistent throughout, so the breads, puds and coffees were all excellent. The staff are very efficient, fluid and make one feel comfortable. They have a good wine list, not only local wines but the best from other areas. The house white is reasonable and surprisingly good. Inside is just as pleasant, we were a larger party then and all thoroughly enjoyed themselves. I would actually make a trip to this area just to go to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Should be number one on the list.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been here for 5 days and our 6th Tuscany trip. We have enjoyed meals at many of the top restaurants on th Montepulciano list, including the top two on the list. In our opinion, this one (La Grotta) should be top of the list for sure. From the moment you walk in, you know you are in for a quality experience. You soon also realize that the staff is there to serve you, to make your dining experience all it should be, and Not to be your new best friend. The house wines are truly fine wines. The service is timely, effiencient, and non obtrusive. My wife had th eggplant parmigian which was outstanding. I had the stewed beef, which was cooked with mushrooms and was outstanding. But, the suprise of the evening was the tomato soup--never had I had it as they preparared it. If you are even here, do not pass this up. It is a dish that may have been the best of all the dishes we have had as we criss cross Tuscany. The restaurant itself is a delight. We did not get to experience the garden due to a light rain, but the interior could not have been more attractive and conducive to fine dining. This is not a "cafe" but in fine dining at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PopsandMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Grotta also viewed

Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
 
Montepulciano, Province of Siena
Sant'Albino, Montepulciano
 

Been to Ristorante La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing