We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful experience..!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Locanda di San Francesco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Ranked #2 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience..!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

All the reviews are correct about this place..!! Views are AWESOME...!!! Rooms are just perfect, and Cinzia the owner is wonderful..such a great host. She really tries her best to make you feel welcome, and is great with helpful local knowledge.
The rooms are immaculate and breakfast is generous. The only negative thing I could comment on was the hallway did smell of cigaret smoke a little..not sure if another guest was smoking in there room.?
All in all this place is fantastic, gets a 10/10 from me!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Locanda San Francesco.
About the smell of smoke you mentioned, we take the occasion of your review to point out that all the property is strictly no smoking (we also reserve the right to charge a very high fee- Eur 200,00- to Guests who should smoke in the rooms).

I hope we will have the pleasure to host your again at Locanda San Francesco !
Kindest regards

Cinzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
304
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here in July, 2011. Enough to simply confirm all that has been written. Montepulciano is a magical place, and I would not think of staying elsewhere. You are not only guests in Luca and Cinzia's hotel, but guests in their world that is Montepulciano. You go to a restaurant, mention their names, you always get a smile, and maybe even a story or two. You want to go somewhere? You don't go where you should go, you go where they would go. You are genuinely their guests. From the moment we stepped into the room and heard the high pitched sounds of the swallows circling outside, we felt transported to another world.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Traveler4691,

Thank you for the beautiful review !
Also, we really appreciate that, even if you staied with us some time ago, you dedicated part of your time in writing so kind words about our Locanda San Francesco.
Hoping we will have again the pleasure to have you as our Guests,
Kindest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Once again we found ourselves at this wonderful B&B and yes, the stars were brightly shining!
How happy we were to see Cinzia and Luca and how comfortable they made us feel from the start. A lovely glass of wine shared on the terrace with the most beautiful views rekindled our love affair with La Locanda di San Francesco. We stayed in the suite and the room could not have been more perfect. Cinzia has lovingly restored and maintained the charm of the historical building with all the modern amenities to make your stay luxurious and relaxing. The views from all windows are spectacular. The bathroom is spacious, clean and well stocked. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning and then set out on our day with plenty of suggestions and directions from our hosts. In the evening we relaxed and recapped with a glass of wine and some snacks before dinner. The wine from Cinzia's family winery was delicious and we were able to purchase some bottles to bring home; however, we missed the view while enjoying the wine at home... not quite the same! The "stars that are shining" at this B&B are the generous, warm and charming hosts. Their love for the area, the locanda and their guests is felt throughout the property. They have attained such a nice balance between being attentive and helpful without ever being over bearing or intrusive. You could not ask for more. The town and surrounding areas give a great Tuscan experience and you can truly recharge and refresh here. We miss La Locanda and we miss Cinzia and Luca... we miss our life there and can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 432travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear 432travelers,
Thank you so much for choosing again our Locanda San Francesco for your stay in Montepulciano!
We appreciate enormously the feedback of our Guests, especially when they already staied with us in the past. Also, we love sharing with them our knowledge of the area, hoping they can live, when here, a true Tuscan experience. So, we are really pleased when they decide to come back a second time to Montepulciano.
We deeply thank you for writing a so kind review, and for the beautiful words you spent about us, our property and our winery Tenuta Valdipiatta.
Hoping we will have soon the pleasure to host you again,
Warmest regards

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We all should be keeping quiet about this place and keeping it to ourselves. All i can say though is GO SOON! and couldn't recommend this place higher. This small boutique B&B/ Hotel accommodation in the fascinating ancient town of Montepulciano was perfect for our Italian Honeymoon.(Second timers). The room with a view (on both sides) over the Tuscan countryside is special optical treat looking as far as other walled towns in the distance and showing a perfect example of what the countryside has to offer.We can't forget to mention Cinzia and staff being casual yet extremely welcoming. One last thing the wine bar is the perfect venue for an afternoon/ pre dinner or after dinner drink or three.
Thanks again Lisa & Jeff.

We'll be back in the next few years (with friends) and here's hoping we can get in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Lisa and Jeff,
Thank you again for choosing our property for your honeymoon, and for sharing with the community of TA your experience at Locanda San Francesco.
Also, we really appreciate you mentioned Locanda's staff : they are always welcoming with our Guests and pay a lot of attention to the quality of our service.
We look forward to welcome you again with your friends,
Warmest regards
Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waleska, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

we visited last February, 2012, and although off season and very cold and windy, the curving late night drive up the hill was MOST rewarding! Cinzia met us at the door and helped heave our heavy luggage up the stairs to our gorgeous room. At daybreak the next morning, I opened the window and "what to my wondering eyes should appear??" but the most absolutely gorgeous view of the countryside of Tuscan hills imaginable! I literally squealed with delight and frightened the birds perched on our window ledge!parking is directly in front of the hotel, which is beautifully situated on the very tip top hill of this romantic and charming winding village. It takes you back in time and totally relaxes you immediately! Our room and bath were simply amazing...gorgeous and comfortable!
Do not miss the little wine tour at Contucci Cantina right down the hill in center of town that has been in production for over 1,000 years!
Adamo will show you a nice tour and several tastings to help you choose which bottles you want to have at home waiting for you when you return! Contucci olive oil is the best we have ever tasted!
Prior to trip, do yourself a favor and rent Rick Steves tour of Montepulciano and surrounding areas, as you will witness the wine star "ADAMO", the rock star, charming Rick with his sparkling wit and heavy accent ( we understand very little Italian, however Adamo's pride and personality need no translation!) Be certain you tell him you saw him on Rick Steves show...this REALLY gets him going!
You can ship wine and olive oil from Contucci and ALSO Cinzia can suggest and ship wine to the U.S...we are heading back in March and staying an hour or so away, however, we will GO OUT OF OUR WAY to visit Cinzia and enjoy a glass of vino at her Wine Bar!
Do not miss this piece of paradise, as it is truly another world!
THANKS FOR ALL THE PERFECT MEMORIES, CINZIA...WE raise a toast to you almost daily! See you soon!
Bruce and Christi
Waleska, Georgia/ United States

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Direttore at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Bruce and Christi,

I really thank you for your detailed and kind review and for mentioning, together with our rooms and the spectacular view, the service of shipping we can offer to Guests buying wine in our wine bar. As wine producer (my family runs Tenuta Valdipiatta), we have special rates in shipping wine to Europe or overseas,. Also, we are always very glad to assist our Guests in choosing, amongst our selection, the wine that can better fit with their personal taste.
I would be really very happy to meet you for a glass of wine at our "E lucevan le stelle" in your next trip to Tuscany.

Looking forward to see you again in Montepulciano,
Warmest regards
Cinzia Caporali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spent 5 great days here in late November and we loved it. The room was great as was the service and the staff. The owner Cinzia was very friendly and helpful and was very attentive. The area has lots of great places to eat and shop and she made excellent recommendations. The views from the rooms were also spectacular as was the local wine. Breakfast in the morning was quite good with a large selection of items. Like one of the other reviewers, we also noticed the smoke smell in the common areas and thought it came from a shared ventilation system with some adjoining space as we noticed it in the room when the heating fan was on. I'd normally remove a star or two for this - but the property, location and service were so outstanding we'll leave the rating at 5. (And I suspect that as conscientious as the proprietor is - the problem will be eliminated.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear MagKit,

I'm very glad you enjoyed your 5 nights stay at Locanda San Francesco.
I thank you, together with our staff, for the kind words you spent about us and for letting us know about the smoke smell you noticed in common areas.

As soon as we read your review, we deeply investigated the problem with the company following the maintenance of our air-con system.
After monitoring the air-con plant for couple of months, we can now say that the only explaination is that the smell of smoke came from one of the several chimneys in the rooftops of the nearby houses, having maybe some problem in the days you were here or because of an unusual wind speed, and it entered in our air-con system.
After your review, we expressely asked to all our new Guests to immediately advise us if they should have noticed any smell of smoke in any of the rooms or in the common areas.
In the following days and months that issue was not reported by any our Guests ,and we also never noticed any smell of smoke, so we consider the problem solved.

I thank you again for letting us know about that inconvenience, and we really apologize if it caused you any problem.
I hope we will have the pleasure to host you again at Locanda San Francesco in the future,
Kindest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel was reserved by my friend who lives in this area.
Hotel is located almost on the top of the old town of Montepulciano.
Like most guests, we drove to this hotel up the hill, which I found very difficult at first.
Parking is located right in front of the hotel, this became pretty handy since it was rainy whole time we were there.

Room was very clean and roomy with huge bathroom. (We stayed at the suite)
Bed was little too hard for me but comfortable.
Only bad part was smell of smoke in the hallway and dining area.
Rooms are all non-smoking, so I suspect some of the staff is smoking in the kitchen or somewhere in the hotel.
Cinzia (one of the hotel owner) was very helpful and nice.
She gave us many good tips including places to eat.
I would recommend this hotel to all of my friends !

Hope Cinzia will tell her staffs to smoke OUTSIDE .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Il0veItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear IloveItaly,

Thank you for the time you spent in writing a kind review about our Locanda San Francesco.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, the rooms and our service.

I would like to spend some time about your complaint: I would like to point out that all the property , wine bar included, is STRICLY NON SMOKING, and neither our Guests, us or our staff are allowed to smoke in the Locanda or in its wine bar.
Also, we reserve the right to apply a very high penalty ( 200 Euro) to Guests who should smoke in our rooms, as you indicated in the paper with all the information we gave you, like to all our Guests, at check-in.

The non-smoking policy is required by the Italian law, but mostly - believe me- we do not have any interest in someone smoking in the property , not only for the higher risk of fire but also and simply because of the risk of damaging some of the furniture, like also for the more frequent washing of all the tissues that would be required.

All smokers are required to smoke in the outdoor area ( the terrace of the wine bar). The kitchen of the wine bar can be seen from the dining area, and there are no "secret" areas that are not seen from the public.
So, the only explaination I can give to your complaint is that some smell of smoke can be entered in the wine bar while some clients were smoking in the outdoor area, with the door of the wine bar open ( or if simply remained open because of clients getting in and out of wine bar).

In any case, I thank you for letting us know about that problem, we will take all the measures to check that the door of the wine bar is closed when someone is smoking in the terrace.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you again at Locanda San Francesco,
Kindest regards
CInzia Caporali
Owner and Manager
La Locanda di San Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Property: La Locanda di San Francesco
Address: Piazza di San Francesco 5, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing