We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and exclusive trip into the past”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda di San Francesco
Ranked #2 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful and exclusive trip into the past”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Accomodation super, cozy, elegant and charming. Owner welcome guests and make us feel very confortable. Wine bar and restaurant is also marvelous. Great place to relax and get into the past of this little village called Montepulciano.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Luciana M,
We would like to thank you , together with our staff, for the beautiful words you spent about our Locanda and its wine bar "E lucevan le stelle".
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
323
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayer, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Cinza and Luca were outstanding hosts. The wide selection for breakfast was perfect way to start each day. We picked up a wonderful Rome tour guide tip from a couple from Texas while eating one morning. We had a sick person in our group of 4 and Cinza arranged for a doctor to come onsite and spend an hour with that person, amazing, but just a small sample of how wonderful the hosts are. They can offer alternative places to checkout and visit and the wine bar is a great way to end the day. We slept wonderful in the beds and the views from the rooms; something we'll never forget. The only thing I regret was our 4-night stay wasn't longer. Thank you for helping make our first European trip so memorable; you have a wonderful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear David S R,
Thank you for your time in writing a so nice review about our Locanda San Francesco!
We and our staff are eager to handle a special request and assist our Guests, even in situations that usually are not expected during a holiday, like in the case of the sick person in your group.
So we are especially pleased that you have beautiful memories of your stay, and we hope we will have again the pleasure to host you at Locanda San Francesco.
Kindest regards,

Cinzia and Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this place is perfect! Accommodations , food at wine bar, location, view, and most especially the owners. Loved it even more the second time around and can't wait to return again. Make La Locanda your base for visiting Montepulciano and the surrounding countryside. Our absolute favorite place to stay in all of Italy!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank storms12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Storms12,

Thank you so much for choosing again our Locanda San Francesco for your second stay in Montepulciano, and for the kind words you spent about us.
We look forward to meeting you again in you next trip to Tuscany,
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge City, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this Locanda on our honeymoon. We loved every minute of it. We had an excellent view from our room. Everything was perfect. Upon arrival we were welcomed with a glass of wine. The wine bar is an excellent addition. We ended up purchasing a case of wine to ship back home and Cinza and Luca were very helpful. Cinza was more than willing to set up reservations, arrange taxi's, etc. She also provided gluten free bread and crackers for breakfast, after I had informed her I was gluten intolerant. It was the perfect addition to our stay in Montepulciano. My husband and I have already decided that we will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitsybackes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Owner at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Bitsybackes ,
Thank to you and your husband for choosing Locanda San Francesco for part of your honeymoon: we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that our Locanda will be part of the memories of a so important occasion.
We would be really glad to re-welcome you at Locanda San Francesco in the future,
Kindest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you stay in Montepulciano, you must stay here! We made the mistake of walking from the bus station (don't do this if you don't want to climb up the hills) but the reward of reaching La Locanda di San Francesco at the top was worth it. Cinza sat with us and gave us a glass of wine when we arrived and told us her favorite restaurants and shops for us to visit during our stay. There was a computer for everyone to use which was nice. We had mentioned we were staying for our anniversary trip and we were given a bottle of wine with a personalized note in our room - what a great touch! The rooms were nice and we had great views of Montepulciano from ours. Breakfast was very nice with a great spread of fruit, pastries, cereals, etc. We had a really great night in Montepulciano, especially thanks to La Locanda!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0linaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Owner at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Car0linaTraveler2,
Thank you again for choosing our Locanda for your anniversary!
We shared with our staff your kind review and we thank you for the beautiful words you spent about your stay.
We would be really glad to have again the opportunity to host you at Locanda San Francesco,
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Thank you Cinza for your warm welome and personal attenttion to details with every aspect of our stay. This boutique B&B is amazing. Our room was perfect with beautiful views and Cinza attention to details with every aspect of our stay was fantastic. The wine bar was great to come home to and have a glass of wine after a long day and enjoy winding down in a very relaxed atmosphere. We would highly recommend La Locanda di San Francesco to all and look forward tooo returning one day.

Room Tip: An amazing town - a must for everyone to enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sail100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Sail100,
I really thank you for your kind words and for writing a so beautiful review about Locanda San Francesco and its wine bar "E lucevan le stelle"!
We really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Locanda San Francesco,
Our warmest regards,

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh 61
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed yet again in this beautifull Locanda and enjoyed ever minute of our 4 night stay. As this was our 3rd visit we hoped we would not be disappointed but Cinzia and Luca and there staff gave us a warm welcome and looked after us just as well as our previous stays. We stayed in the suite again with its fantastic views. We spent our days exploring the beautifull region and arriving back in the late afternoon to enjoy sitting in on the terrace of the wine bar which accompanies the Locanda drinking some of the best wine we have tasted on our many visits to Tuscany. Thank you again Cinzia and Luca and hope to see you both again next year.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 Rooms would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nethybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LocandaSanFrancesco, Proprietario at La Locanda di San Francesco, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Nethybridge,
It's always a pleasure for us having you and your husband as our Guests at Locanda San Francesco! We thank you for kind review : as returning Guests, your feedback about the standard of our service is very important for us.
Hoping to welcome you again at Locanda San Francesco next year,
Warmest regards

Cinzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#3 of 44 in Montepulciano
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Tosco
Il Tosco
#1 of 44 in Montepulciano
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda di San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda di San Francesco

Property: La Locanda di San Francesco
Address: Piazza di San Francesco 5, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusivity of just four luxury bedrooms in a fourteenth century palazzo in the heart of the old part of Montepulciano. All the rooms have a breathtaking view over the Val d'Orcia and/or the Val di Chiana, and each of them is decorated individually and furnished with fine antiques from the family collection.Free wi-fi is provided in all the rooms and common areas, and free parking is available for Guests near the entrance of the property.On the ground floor, the jazzy Locanda's wine bar-bistrot "E lucevan le stelle", a perfect spot for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on its panoramic terrace, admiring the unforgettable sunsets on the Val D'Orcia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Locanda di San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Di San Francesco Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing