We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd stay in Borgo Tre Rose”
Review of Borgo Tre Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Tre Rose
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This was our second stay in Borgo Tre Rose, so it`s obvious we liked in the first time. On arrival, we had a warm welcome, and were shown to our suite. We were surprised by this, since I was convinced I booked a classic room. It was very spacious, but I liked the classic room more because it has a bigger bathroom. The one in the suite was really small. Unfortunately, I couldn`t downgrade. Something to keep in mind for the next time I make a reservation. The stay was like our prevuious one, very good. We booked half board, you can`t go wrong with that here. 4 course Tuscan dinner and rich breakfast. You need to drive a bit to get to a restaurant too...
On our last night, we couldn`t eat on the outside restaurant due a wedding reception. We weren`t warned about this and our table was set inside. We couldn`r agree with that. The manager was very understandable and after appologies a table was made for us outside on the other side of the restaurant(very kind waiters and waitresses by the way). This was fine for us.
Getting back to the room, there was a gift box with wine and appologies for the discomfort.
Borgo Tre Rose is very nice if you want a few relaxing days and discover the Val D`Orcia. It is locate on top of a hill, very quiet, so you do need a car.
I sure will be back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wekke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valiano, Responsabile reception at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Dear guests,
We thank you for your visit at Borgo tre Rose and your comments that give us the opportunity to improve our services trying to do our best to offer our guests a relaxing and comfortable holiday.
We hope to have soon the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Located off a country side road 20mins drive from Montepulciano,built on a hilltop surrounded by vineyards and working farmland with beautiful gardens and pool area. Receptionist was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms/suites spread in two storey blocks across garden. In ambience the place is more of a rural upmarket holiday apartment complex than conventional hotel. We had a two room suite which was spacious, well maintained, decorated in a slightly dated rustic style and had self catering facilities. The modern and stylish restaurant served an excellent Italian style breakfast buffet and an equally excellent dinner (fixed 4 course Tuscan country menu changing daily). Service was outstanding and the restaurant accommodated our food allergies without problem.
If you want a peaceful, comfortable stay with good service in the Tuscan country side not far from Montepulciano/Pienza/Cortona this is the place for you. NB: car essential.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandMDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valiano, Responsabile reception at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear family,

We thank you for your kind message and your positive comments that give us the input to improve our services in order to offer our guests a relaxing holiday with all comforts, including fine and tasty regional cuisine with a good glass of wine !

Looking forward to meet you again at Borgo Tre Rose

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Stayed with my wife in this vey beautiful hotel last summer. The location was somehow out of the way so one has to have private transport to reach. Well secured place so it took time before they let us in and showed our room. The rooms were very basic really!!! The hotel scored with the views from the campus...its on top of a small hillock with breathtaking views. Greenery all around and the gentle meadows will please your senses.
If you want to be pampered and looking out for a luxurious holiday this is not the place. Its basic, clean, comfortable enough, nice breakfast and you will get a good sleep at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Their location is amazing, right in the valley betweeen Montepulciano and Cortona, with wrap-around views of the Tuscan hils, just like you imagine when you think of Tuscany. There are 40 rooms with a pool. Rooms are pretty private, a little simple but very clean. Restaurant is very nice. Be sure to call ahead to plan cooking or winery tours. Great location to visit Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino, as well as Cortona.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank petercharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

I travelled to this venue with my wife and son (5 years) and we were extremely pleased with our stay. We will definitely return here (we're Belgian):

- very friendly and helpful staff: the two ladies at the reception (very good English, French & German, not evident in Italy), the restaurant staff, the gardeners, etc

- the venue is very well kept: the rooms are very clean, the gardens are impeccable, the pool is lovely (stunning view over the vineyards). Our room was also very spacious (seperate living room with little kitchen, seperate bathroom and bedroom. Of course, I presume that's depending on reservations. For us, the price was very reasonable.

- the food meets the high Tuscan standards. We didn't eat much at the venue's restaurant, but preferred to visit a little town and eat out. However, the few times @ the hotel's restaurant were very good, nice view on the restaurant's terrace

- the location is very good. Close to the most known and charming Tuscan cities/villages (Montepulciano is the closest by, Siena, Firenze, Arezzo, Cortona, Pisa, Pienza, Castiglione del Lago: lake with a beach nearby) so very nice for short excursions. Excellent for wine lovers: a lot of wine domains that offer visits. People on this board have been complaining that you need a car when travelling to this venue, and this is indeed true. There's no public transportation. But, this seems evident to me, when travelling to (quite rural) Tuscany... If you want the crowd and subway of Times square, a borgo on the Italian countryside may not be for you....

- the hotel offers wine tours to the three family wine domains. We visited Val di Suga in Montalcino, where an excellent Brunello is made. Nice tour, very informal

- very well kept tennis court, swimming pool (with restaurant-snack service during limited hours), children playground

Because of my academic occupation, I regularly travel across the world and have a lot of experience with hotels. This was one of the best holiday's I've ever spent. Very charming hotel, will definitely come back

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DukeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2009

you definitely need a vehicle to get around, as there was no bus service and the location is remote. The rooms were well decorated and very typical of what you would expect in a Tuscany apartment. The diningroom had some great meals and the breakfast was excellent. We had some problems with our booking. We ended up with an extra one bedroom suite and the people at Borgo Tre Rose wouldn't refund our money; they said it was the fault of the bookiong agent. The booking agent said it was the fault of Borgo Tre Rose; so we ended up out of pocket about $1000 Canadian. We were also told we would receive free breakfast daily; however, we were charged to breakfast when we got there. We had wanted to take a cooking class and a winery tour, but found the tours offered by the company to be quite pricey. Also no one is in the office after business hours for assistance if you need it.

The pool area was nice and very scenic. Decor inside the rooms was very well done.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy55Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2008

For the folks who like the simple life and no true comforts while away from home, then I strongly reccomend this place. The drive in is difficult for even a seasoned traveler like me and once there, the dissapointments kept coming. Do not arrive after 8:00 p.m. as there is no one there and you will end up sleeping in your auto...do drive a car!
The rooms are small and I felt like I was staying with the Flyntstones as the beds are harder than stone and near the floor. The rats crawling through the walls kept us wondering if they would be visiting us in bed! When discussed with the staff, they snickered and did nothing. For the money spent and the uncomfortable surroundings, this is one place I would pass by and remind others to do the same!
The hightlight...the food is marvolous, as there is NO WHERE wlse to go.
take note: the restaurant has very rigid hours,

Stayed: September 2008
Thank ellebooshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoMontepulciano, manager at Borgo Tre Rose, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2008

Clients Boucher were staying in a beautiful, spacious Classic double room, during their stay, they made only one complaint about the bed, they were shown another room but decided to remain where they were. On the day of departure , the clients were happy and had nothing else negative to comment to us.
It seems quite strange that a client who is writting about rats in his room spends 2 days in the hotel without complaining !

By the way, this client left the hotel without paying his bill, saying that he had already paid his stay to Expedia before their trip...we called Expedia and they told us that the client should have paid his bill to the hotel .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
8.7 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
440 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
491 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
8.9 mi away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#17 of 28 in Montepulciano
53 reviews
8 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Tre Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Tre Rose

Address: Via Dei Palazzi 5 | Loc. Valiano, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: $84 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Tre Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Tre Rose is an antique medieval hamlet perfectly conserved and restored, gathered on a hilltop that dominates the surrounding countryside at the borders between Tuscany and Umbria, just a few minutes away from Cortona and Montepulciano. An oasis of tranquility and beauty, it is an ideal place to relax. The enchanting setting of the Tuscan hills is the perfect starting point for a vacation rich in history and art works, and to discover its wines and cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Tre Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Tre Rose Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing