We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Returning to a first class property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Returning to a first class property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Having stayed here before and enjoyed the 4 nights we started our Italian break here and were not disappointed. The place is excellent great food and wine from local sources, staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are a delight.

Room Tip: The balcony room looks away from the property across a landscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    33
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
277
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

After a fantastic week in Lucca and Cinque Terre where we had fabulous accommodations in beautiful places, we wondered if Villa Cicolina could live up to our expectations. The short answer is, Yes! We arrived almost warily at Villa Cicolina in the pouring rain. The staff immediately came out with umbrellas and collected us and our bags, parked our car for us, then escorted us to our lovely room (which was larger and nicer than the one I reserved). My wife was under the weather and the staff went out if its way to help with a prescription for her, which immediately got her back in the groove, which was a good thing because by the morning she declared that the breakfast, including the amazing spread, the presentation, and the gorgeous dining room, was the best she ever had. The villa, and its grounds and pool, is exquisite, with stunning views. The service is exceptional. This really is the Tuscan dream experience. Villa Cicolina ended up being the perfect place to end out Italian vacation. We were very, very sad to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyhl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was one of the best hotels I've ever been to. This hotel is more like a charming farmhouse, with a lot of character and warmth. It is set on beautiful grounds with an infinity pool, separate house (looks like a carriage house) for dining and food preparation, a cottage for a family or large party staying at the hotel, outdoor dining, and gardens to roam around in. It is far enough away from the main road so that you don't hear cars or traffic and is only a one mile walk to the city of Montepulciano (very charming town - I recommend going there for dinner). My husband and I were upgraded to a beautiful room that had views of the property on one side, and views of tuscan wine and olive fields on the other. The room had a king size bed, fire place, lots of windows, sitting chairs, and a huge bathroom with two sinks and a claw foot bathtub. It was a perfect room and setting for our honeymoon. The staff was wonderful and extremely accommodating and always had a smile on their face. We decided to take the villa's cooking class which was fun, but different than what we expected. We thought we would be taking a cooking class and learning how to make recipes and have multiple people in the class, however it was just my husband and I with the chef of the villa and we helped prepare dinner for the villa guests that night. It was fun but not what we expected. The restaurant was great, the food was delicious. I highly recommend this hotel. My husband and I will definitely visit Villa Cicolina in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jessica,

thank you a lot for your beautiful review and considering Villa Cicolina as one of the best hotel where you ever stayed.

For that reason we hope to seeing you soon again.

Warm regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

When we visited Tuscany unfortunately the weather was not so good and we did not have the chance to seat much outside, but the villa was very cozy and beautiful and the people so polite that compensated for the bad weather. The restaurant was also cozy, the food was delicious and the view from the rooms spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chryssi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The villa is quaint with 11 rooms only. Views are lovely especially from the room. The gardens are exquisite, and the pool area also. Montepulciano is 2 kms away. I personally found the restaurant to be of good quality, but overrated from the reviews I had read. The only pity about the place is the fact that the via provinciale runs not far from the hotel and if one sleeps with the window open, you get woken up early by the odd noisy motorbike passing by.

Room Tip: great biking pit stop or to cycle around from
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andresonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Andre,

thanks a lot for your beautiful review and for considering Villa Cicolina a beautiful place.

We also appreciate you like the restaurant and we hope you can defenitely come back soon.

Best
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Villa Cicolina while celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Everything about or stay was magical- the room the grounds, the pool the staff and of course the food. What a wonderful place to stay! The gracious staff went above and beyond to help make our stay special and memorable. I hope to be able to go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Jana

thank you very much for your beautiful review and for sharing it with all the TA community.

We are very proud that you consider Villa Cicolina as a perfect Tuscan experience and we hope to seeing you soon back again.

Regards,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

As part of our DigNGo bike tour we stayed 2 nights in this elegant & quaint Villa. EVERYTHING was 1st class from the service to the grounds to the food. Our Room (Le Pearle) was exquisite with large windows which let the cool fresh air of the scenic valley freshen up the sleeping area. The pool a area is amazing and the pool itself was a refreshing infinity pool. Wow! Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IKE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all the TA community.

Thank you for appreciating all the details we take care every day

We hope to seeing you soon again

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#17 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing