We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tuscan gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tuscan gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Villa Cicolina is an absolutely beautiful place to visit. Set at the foot of Monepulciano with beautiful gardens and the pool area overlooking the valley is breathtaking. A perfect place to watch the sunset with a bottle of wine (which we did). Diner was delicious in the romantic dining room. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Our room unbelievable... A pretty sitting room and an extremely large bedroom with 2 windows overlooking the valley. Incredibly views! And the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!! Can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all TA users.

We appreciate a lot you consider Villa Cicolina a Tuscan gem since we put all our efforts in developing our services and customer satisfaction.

We hope to see you again at Villa Cicolina.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    34
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
281
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Villa Cicolina is absolutely the most wonderful, beautiful place we have ever stayed. We were engaged here and just spent our 5th wedding anniversary here. The staff are professional, the grounds and pool are beautiful, and the food is outstanding. We hope to be able to spend many more anniversaries here. I don't think I would ever want to stay anywhere else in Tuscany other than villa Cicolina!!

Room Tip: We love the Montepulciano room and it's view of this fairytale village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Theresa,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for your beautiful words about us. It is always a pleasure to have guests like you.

We hope to see you again soon in Montepulciano. You will be always welcome.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Let me start with the summary:
Everything lived up to our expectations. The setting rustic yet elegant; the garden pretty and awesome; the views indescribable stunning and beautiful; the décor delicate and refined; the restaurant romantic and intimate; the candlelit courtyards and lounge areas as taken out of a 1001-nights’ theme - and all with a genuine Tuscan ambiance. The most important asset of Villa Cicolina is, however, its staff! Helpful, attentive and displaying an outstanding high level of service. We felt very welcome and almost as family or good friends passing by. From the very first approach our request was met with an interest and personal involvement out of the ordinary and way beyond what can ever be expected of any hotel employee or establishment. Service in the true sense of the word! Villa Cicolina is the most lovely little gem in all aspects, which we hope the owners will be able to keep unspoiled, personal and intimate also in the future. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and give Villa Cicolina our best recommendations!

Villa Cicolina is a small, boutique hotel at the foot of Montepulciano located in a converted old noble house surrounded by the prettiest garden from which you find a “to-die-for” view of the valley below and mountain range far beyond. The “Villa” dating back to the 16th century is with its square three-story building typical for the Tuscan architecture and to-day housing 11 lovely rooms beautifully decorated with antique and/or old style furniture and fine textiles. Everything done with the finest attention to detail. Very delicate and lovely, indeed. In the “Villa” you do likewise find the reception with old wall-paintings and Venezian glass chandeliers and a cozy lounge for relaxation. In the basement, a maze of tunnels links underground ancient wine-cellars. The major treat of this lovely place is, however, its gardens – more resembling a fine park with various sections incl. a small rose garden with a pretty splashing fountain, a courtyard surrounded by manicured flowerbeds forming a refined outdoor lounge area, where you can enjoy a pre-dinner drink or a bottle of wine in the warm summer nights - and not the least a tiny olive grove leading to a dreamlike pool-area boasting an infinity pool from which you have the most breathtaking view! We could never get tired of sitting there gazing over the Tuscan scenery far below and towards Cortona and the Apennines in the distance. In each little corner of this magnificent garden you find sunbeds and garden furniture for secluded private relaxing or along the pool edge for socializing with fellow travelers. Furnished with fine cushions and plaids. In a separate building you find the hotel’s very romantic restaurant with rough brick walls, rustic wooden beams, large glass windows and fine laid tables. Catering to the guests of the hotel only and hence very intimate and personal. And a great place for easy getting to know the other guests. The food was delicious, home made from the ground and typical for the region using its many local ingredients. 4-course dinners and sumptuous breakfasts are offered here daily, while at lunch time you could have the kitchen prepare you a sandwich or a plate of Tuscan specialities to enjoy in the courtyard or outdoor dining area. Coming dusk the entire courtyard transforms into an almost fairytale like venue with countless lit living candles placed everywhere…

To top it all we found an outstanding staff extremely dedicated to their jobs. I cannot remember when we have last experienced such a high level of service! Already by placing our booking we felt a personal interest in our coming and stay, which only was further confirmed upon our arrival where our name immediately was recognized and we were warmly welcomed. Whenever we met a staff he/she would smilingly greet us. They prepared us a late afternoon snack although outside restaurant hours, helped us with suggestions for wine tastings and made us hand drawn maps to follow - and when one evening we were discussing with fellow travelers whether Tiramisu should be made with Marsala or Amaretto, the waiter did immediately bring us a glass of the special sweet wine, they used in their very own special recipe for us to sample. Everyone we met were extremely helpful and made us feel well.

Placed at the foot of Montepulciano, evidently you can visit this pretty little hilltop town by foot. Takes you 15 min. to walk to the town-gate though, so will recommend driving to one of the many parking lots surrounding the town or taking a taxi. It’s a very lovely medieval town offering good shopping, numerous tasting rooms for the Vino Nobile, pretty little alleys and cobblestoned lanes, cozy squares and not the least a vast number of eateries. Don’t miss out of the old school Tea Room (Caffe Poliziano) with miniature balconies offering grand views while you enjoy specialities such as paneforte, the Italian Christmas cake. Dining typical Italian food in gaudy surroundings while the jolly owner serenades you and kiss all ladies at Restaurant Degli Archi is a fun night out not easily to be forgotten either. Many other well known Tuscan hilltop towns and villages are easily reached on day tours too. We enjoyed especially visiting Montalcino in the Orcia valley. The latter home of the famous Brunello Wine and hence the place where we stopped for wine tasting. For spectacular views of the vineyards, a visit to the old castle and a first taste of the Brunello wines, we can suggest a visit to “Castello Banfi”. Being one of the largest wine-producers in Tuscany and with American connections everything is grand and impressive – but likewise quite touristy and impersonal. Hence this is NOT where you should purchase your own wine – for that purpose we can highly recommend the lovely “Poggio Antico”, which is a small family run winery. Their wines were great and the introduction personal and intimate. They do likewise offer cellar tours – book in advance though. A drive into the somewhat more barren area of the truffel country to Asciano between Montepulciano and Sienna was also a lovely experience, although we lost our way numerous times on the little roads. Tempted to laze a day or two by the inviting pool, we ran out of time – otherwise, a visit to likewise nearby Cortona - made internal in the movie “In the Tuscan Sun” - was in our planning but will have to be explored next time. OBS: You will most definitely need a car to get around. Although public transportation is available you will be very limited in your options of exploring the lovely environment.

Needless to say, we shall be more than pleased to recommend this little pearl of a relais to anyone appreciating beauty and understated elegance combined with a rustic Tuscan ambiance and top notch service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank purple_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Purple,

Your review is one of the greatest words I've ever heard in my lifetime, we thank you so much for the time which you dedicated to review our hotel, your comment can be used as a detailed guide for everybody who wants to visit our hotel as he can imagine what they are going to find here, you left the most attentive tips for cities, restaurants, wineries to visit and to enjoy the best of Tuscany.


We cannot thank you enough for this mini guide which exceeds Lonely Planet's it self.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and we send you our best regards from a very worm Montepulciano.


Sayed, Alijah, Stefania, Enrico, Pina, Loriana, Simona, Mimmo, Marcello, Fabrizio and Famiglia Brettoni ( Villa Cicolina's staff )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived at the Villa Cicolina as the middle point between Florence and Sienna and it was the perfect spot. We were lucky enough to be there in the middle of the week so it was very quiet, with only 3 couples at the Villa( all from the US) so we felt very special. The staff were wonderful and very helpful with everything we asked. We met Andrea the owner on our first evening and as we were not going to town that night he fixed us a cold dinner of meat, cheese, bread , and wine, which was just perfect. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the view is spectacular. There are many different areas to sit and relax while enjoying the beautiful surroundings and many little areas to explore. The Villa itself is quite beautiful and it felt like a home rather than a hotel. The restaurant is small and intimate and the food is delicious. There was a variety of food for breakfast and a fixed price, 4 course meal for dinner which changes every day, and the Chef both cooks and serves the meals. The courtyard and grounds are lit by candles in the evening which adds to the beauty of the Villa.

We loved every minute of our time at Villa Cicolina and would recommend it to anyone visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Buongiorno from Villa Cicolina,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we had the pleasure to have you with us and we are very glad that you like every moment you spent in our property.

Thank again and best regards from Montepulciano

Sayed
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Six of us were traveling through Italy and stayed at Villa Cicolina for four nights. We loved every minute. Though it was just about two weeks ago and thus in mid-October, we could not swim in the infinity pool or spend everyday having lunch in the garden. But, the Cicolina grounds are beautiful and the views from every window, including sunrise and sunset, are spectacular. We saw figs and pomegranates in the garden and the caretakers harvesting olives. The small adjoining restaurant is private and beautifully arranged. Whether we slipped downstairs for coffee first thing in the morning, ate a spectacular breakfast each morning, or joined the chef for dinner, it was all first class. The staff was attentive and considerate. Villa Cicolina is just a beautiful spot in the world to spend quality time with yourself or others.

Room Tip: Be careful of the old brick stairs that are covered with carpet. They slope downward and are diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringaroundtherosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks you very muche for your beautifiul feedback and for the nice pictures uploaded.

It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our property, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I got a last minute reservation on the day of our stay through TA. We were not let down. The grounds are beautiful and we wished that we could have spent more time there. The room was exactly like the picture with great wooden beam ceilings.

It is about a 2-3 minute drive to town, but not a big deal at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Front Office Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Todd,

It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our property, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Best regards from Montepulciano

Sayed
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at Villa Cicolina 3 nights and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. A truly beautiful place with wonderful grounds. The gardens are lovely and the view from the infinity pool is spectacular. We took the cooking class and had a great time with the Chef and actually prepared the meal for the Villa's dinners that evening. This is such a relaxing place that we decided to just relax one day instead of rushing to see other sights. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. We stayed in the balcony suite which was just incredible. We loved coming back after dinner and sitting there with a glass of wine. A very special place.

Room Tip: The balcony suite was very comfortable. It was very special to have the balcony and no other rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaST3618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Front Office Manager at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi Lisa,

Thank you very much for your kind review, happy to know that you had a great time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best

Sayed
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing