We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Terrazza di Montepulciano(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Il Tosco(Montepulciano)
$281
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Albergo Duomo(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Ortaglia(Montepulciano)
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $246/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$209
$200
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Podere Le Manzinaie(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo La Terra(Montepulciano)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
355
38
11
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
38
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolcooking classour honeymoontuscan countrysidebeautiful groundsfour courseswonderful restaurantbreakfast and dinnerwine tastingolive treeseuros per personpastaa wonderful place to staycakesyogurtsayeddaniele
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 412 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I chose Villa Cicolina based on reviews read on tripadvisor. Because of the issues reviewers raised in locating the hotel I put the co-ordinates into our sat nav and it took us straight there - no problems at all.

When we arrived it was early evening, the candles were alight in the courtyard, the tables set for dinner in the garden, cushioned seating areas were dotted around. It was idyllic. By the time we had checked into our delightful attic room ("Montepulciano" named for the view from the windows) and sitting in the courtyard enjoying a glass of Vino Nobile my husband and I were pinching ourselves to make sure we were not dreaming!

Our room and bathroom were spacious, comfortable and clean with a comfy bed and nice bed linen.

Dinner served in the garden (or in the dining room if the weather is inclement) was a delightful four courses - a choice of main but otherwise a set menu. At 33 euros each it was also a bargain. Breakfast was also good and whilst the breakfast hours were suppose to end at 10am we saw many guests arrive after that time and not have any problems being seated and served. The breakfast buffet consisted of a good choice of cereals, jams, honey, bread, cakes, yogurts, juices, fresh fruit, dried fruit, hams, cheese etc and also a toaster, egg boiler and scambled eggs. Everyday the same waiter took tea and coffee orders and was friendly and very efficient.

The infinity pool is surrounded by olive trees with plenty of seating for guests. A wonderful place to relax. We spent most of our days relaxing by the pool before heading out in the afternoon. The gardens are an absolute delight and we noticed that they were being constantly attended to!

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. If you are the sort of person who requires a sound system to plug your ipod into to enjoy your holiday then this hotel is not for you. For anyone wanting a truly relaxing time in a beautiful location with friendly and welcoming staff, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all the TA's community.

We appreciate a lot your comments about the food quality and the care we have for the gardens and the infinity pool.

We hope to see you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Best Regards,
Villa Cicolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place is magical. The people were very friendly, the rooms amazingly pretty and clean, the food served in the onsight restaurant was fabulous. The grounds are perfect for wandering, the olive trees and flowers positively becon. Absolutely lovely. Note: if you opt to drive, set your gps at the street rather than the parking lot.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear April,

thank you very much for your wonderful comment and for sharing your positive experience with all TA community.

We are very happy to contribute in making your stay pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again and again.

Warm Regards,

Villa Cicolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

'Graved inside it, Italy!" Robert Browning's heartfelt quote could have been written about this lovely property, a villa built in the late 16th century and once owned by a family of nobility. What a welcoming place this extraordinary treasure is to the traveler! Our first trip to Villa Cicolina was in early April 2011. Two years later, in August, we are here again, and we are so happy to return!

We were greeted warmly by the host of the hotel, offered a glass of Prosecco and immediately made to feel welcomed and at home. We had been traveling nearly nonstop for two days and so this genuine reconnection is one of the reasons why we came back.

Villa Cicolina is situated on a beautiful piece of property in the heart of Tuscany, the views complete with patchwork patterns of fields dotted with the iconic cypresses of the area. Fruit-laden olive trees that shimmer silver in the breezes are all around the property. There is a main residence that has several rooms, including junior suites, some with extraordinary views of the valley below. Our room was behind the converted barn which houses the restaurant and is, across the gravel drive from the residence. There is private parking above the driveway that leads to the villa. The space is well-cared for by a very meticulous gardener. There is an infinity pool that overlooks the valley and vineyards below. Breathtaking, really.

The staff is personable and genuinely friendly, taking great interest in their international clientele. Who wouldn't want to return to such a relaxing atmosphere in the midst of the wine country of Tuscany?

Breakfast is included and offers a wide variety of local cheeses and cured meats, breads, cereals and cakes as well as a delicious selection of fresh juices along with eggs that perhaps come from the small farm just above the drive! The caffe lattes are steaming and there are teas as well. Dinner is available and notice must be given earlier in the day; the menu is prix fixe and offers two possible entrees with appetizers, contorni and dessert as well. Villa Cicolina has a very nice selection of wines from the region, with prices both reasonable and varied as well. We enjoyed a bottle of the Montepulciano with the house label and we found it to be full and delicious.

This is a very special hotel and lives up to its five star status. It is a privilege and pleasure to recommend Villa Cicolina to all travelers who want a sincerely unique and relaxed stay. We will, no doubt, return again and again.

Room Tip: As soon as you decide on your stay, call well in advance to request a room with a view of the valley or the separate junior suite behind the barn.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntebrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Buongiorno from the sunny Montepulciano,

Thank you so much for the sweet comment, thank you for visiting us again, we are very glad that our guests who return and stay with us for several times is growing very fast. I was very happy to see both of you and to contribute in making your stay pleasant and comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you again and again.

Best regards from Montepulciano.

Sayed
Villa Cicolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I got married at Villa Cicolina, and I must say that I cannot imagine a more idyllic setting for such an important day. The beauty of this place is truly out of a postcard, as you can see from the myriad of photos on this site, and cannot be understated. However, what truly sets it apart for me is the level of service you receive from the staff and the great food that Chef Mimmo creates every day.

Sayed and Aliya were most gracious hosts, not only in helping us with day trips and restaurant requests (run, don't walk, to Acquachetta), but also patiently dealing with months of annoying wedding planning emails from yours truly. As expected, the day went off a hitch, with the villa's owner even renting me his fantastic vintage Alfa Romeo convertible for the big day. Mimmo's food was amazing and he provided us with a very memorable cooking class later in the week. You can often see him hand rolling every pici for that night's meal, like he did for us as part of our wedding meal. I was perhaps most impressed with Florjan, who works in the restaurant. He went way over and above what we could reasonably expect for service, even coming in at 6 AM long before his shift to make us cappucinos before our flight home.

You never really do know what to expect on your big day, but I can say that my expectations were exceeded by this magical place and its wonderful staff. Francesca and I look forward to visiting with you again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThomasDevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I spent 3 gorgeous nights at Villa Cicolina and despite all of the positive reviews I had read, it still managed to exceed expectations.
The Villa is rustic and charming, the gardens are well manicured and the infinity pool overlooking the Tuscan countryside is stunning.
Our room ‘Montepulciano’ on the second floor had a view over the vineyards to Montepulciano on the hill. The Furniture was an eclectic mix of antique bedheads, fixtures, lamps, dressing tables and clothing rails, which must have been acquired over a number of years by somebody with a very clever and stylish eye.
As a result of the hotel only having 11 rooms, the staff are attentive and particularly personable. They were happy to provide great restaurant recommendations and local knowledge.
Thank you for a wonderful stay Villa Cicolina.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annie-lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Annie,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all the TA community.

Your description of Villa Cicolina really gets the point: we spent a lot of year to carefully select the best forniture to make our guests feeling as noble Tuscan families used to live in their country villas.

We also spent years to "build" a well prepared and professional team and we are very proud of them.

We hope to see you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Best Regards,
Villa Cicolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews