We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true five star”
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true five star”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I got married at Villa Cicolina, and I must say that I cannot imagine a more idyllic setting for such an important day. The beauty of this place is truly out of a postcard, as you can see from the myriad of photos on this site, and cannot be understated. However, what truly sets it apart for me is the level of service you receive from the staff and the great food that Chef Mimmo creates every day.

Sayed and Aliya were most gracious hosts, not only in helping us with day trips and restaurant requests (run, don't walk, to Acquachetta), but also patiently dealing with months of annoying wedding planning emails from yours truly. As expected, the day went off a hitch, with the villa's owner even renting me his fantastic vintage Alfa Romeo convertible for the big day. Mimmo's food was amazing and he provided us with a very memorable cooking class later in the week. You can often see him hand rolling every pici for that night's meal, like he did for us as part of our wedding meal. I was perhaps most impressed with Florjan, who works in the restaurant. He went way over and above what we could reasonably expect for service, even coming in at 6 AM long before his shift to make us cappucinos before our flight home.

You never really do know what to expect on your big day, but I can say that my expectations were exceeded by this magical place and its wonderful staff. Francesca and I look forward to visiting with you again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasDevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    36
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
286
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I spent 3 gorgeous nights at Villa Cicolina and despite all of the positive reviews I had read, it still managed to exceed expectations.
The Villa is rustic and charming, the gardens are well manicured and the infinity pool overlooking the Tuscan countryside is stunning.
Our room ‘Montepulciano’ on the second floor had a view over the vineyards to Montepulciano on the hill. The Furniture was an eclectic mix of antique bedheads, fixtures, lamps, dressing tables and clothing rails, which must have been acquired over a number of years by somebody with a very clever and stylish eye.
As a result of the hotel only having 11 rooms, the staff are attentive and particularly personable. They were happy to provide great restaurant recommendations and local knowledge.
Thank you for a wonderful stay Villa Cicolina.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie-lou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Annie,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all the TA community.

Your description of Villa Cicolina really gets the point: we spent a lot of year to carefully select the best forniture to make our guests feeling as noble Tuscan families used to live in their country villas.

We also spent years to "build" a well prepared and professional team and we are very proud of them.

We hope to see you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Best Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent four nights at Villa Cicolina and didn't leave the hotel once, as it was everything we had hoped for. The setting is absolutely beautiful - I can understand why it has been recommended for weddings, what a romantic venue to tie the knot in - and the hotel has everything you need for a lovely relaxing stay.

We thought we'd try the food on the first night and then perhaps drive into Montepulciano the next, but the food was so delicious that we opted to eat there every night. Four courses of gorgeous, traditional Italian food for $33 euro, absolutely amazing.

Dotted around are lovely little seating areas - we particularly liked the "snug" opposite the restaurant - and the pool is heavenly, stunning views and it never felt busy even though the hotel seemed to be fully booked.

At night there are candles all around the hotel and gardens, it really is magical.

And to top it off the staff are so helpful and friendly - there really isn't anything I can find fault with, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it...and hope one day we will return!

Well done Villa Cicolina for getting it absolutely right!!

Room Tip: We were in Il Balcone, which I believe it the only one with a balcony - lovely for enjoying a nice d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Jippy,

thank you very much for your beautiful feedback and for sharing it with all TA's users.

We are very proud you considered Villa Cicolina fantastic since we always do our best to give to our guests a unique experience.

We hope to see you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Best Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in May. The Villa is absolutely AMAZING - we would highly recommend! Everything about our visit was fantastic - the staff was wonderful, the grounds are gorgeous and the town is just perfect. We really could not have asked for a better experience. Upon arrival, Sayed was so welcoming and continued to provide us with the best service & accommodations throughout our stay. We hope to one day return to Italy and would without a doubt schedule a return to Villa Cicolina during that trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Maureen,

thanks a lot for your beautiful feedback and we are very happy you spent a great time at Villa Cicolina.

Our staff make always its best to accomodate our guests and to make them feeling at home.

Hoping we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at Villa Cicolina in the future,

Kindest regards,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you are considering Villa Cicolina, you should just stop thinking about it and make your reservation now. We just had our wedding there in mid-June and it was perfect. I mean perfect. The setting was gorgeous, the food (prepared in the villa's kitchen by the villa's own staff) was exquisite, and the service was superlative. Anything we needed, it was there. Anything we wanted, we only had to ask. Wine tasting, cooking class, local wines in the divine pool area, all right there on site at this picturesque villa with a view worthy of a postcard or a painting. Montepulciano is quite close, only a few minutes by car, and Cicolina can help you plan other day trips if you'd like. It is about 30 minutes to the Chiusi-Chianciano train station. The managers Sayed and Aliya were exceptional. They are kind and thoughtful and extremely good at making sure you have a good stay. I truly can't say enough about this place. Do yourself a favor and stay here. Then, like us, you'll be stuck dreaming about it and wondering when you'll be able to go back.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comment and for recommending Villa Cicolina to everyone who wants to celebrate a wonderful wedding with family and friends. We are very happy that you and every member of the wedding guests enjoyed a particular wedding stay with us.

We look foward to welcoming you again, maybe when you celebrate your wedding anniversary, so we can remember togather the magic moments which you had during your wedding.


Best regards from Montepulciano

Sayed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The Villa Cicolina is a fantastic boutique hotel a four minute drive from the gates of the city of Montelpulciano. The owners are really friendly, speak amazing English, and helped us to arrange winery visits etc.

The villa has a lovely outdoors area with gardens full of flowers and greenery, a secluded pool with recliners for sunbathing - including a view over the Tuscan hills - and a fabulous dining room and outdoor eating area. Breakfasts are great with a choice of eggs, pastries, cereals etc and the evening meals are either eaten outside or inside depending on the weather (€33 per person plus wine).

If you want to go for dinner in the town, it's a four minute drive to the parking area by the city gates, from where you can walk up into the city. There are some amazing viewing spots at sunset for a picture postcard moment.

A number if people have struggled to find the villa, as your Satnav won't take you to the front door. Having been back onto the map, and my Satnav, I recommend that you head to this address ... Via delle Caggiole Prime 2, 53045‎ Montepulciano‎ Tuscany. About 20 yards from this spot, you will see a large, industrial winery / cantina (have a look on Googlemaps before you set off), go up the 'white road (or track!) next to this. You pass a house on the left, then a steep road up to the right. Just after this, you will see a yellow wall with "Villa Cicolina" written on it. The car park is up the short track 20 yards before this on the right hand side.

Enjoy!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ffatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank a lot for your beautiful feedback and for giving details about the directions to reach Villa Cicolina. We know that problem and we ahave already contacted Google to solve it but they are pretty slow.

Thanks again and we hope to seeing you soon again at Villa Cicolina.

Best,
Villa Cicolina's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 wonderful nights here, celebrating our 20th anniversary. Our suite was very roomy, spacious bathroom, the bed was the most comfortable bed in all of Italy. The grounds are so beautiful and relaxing, the staff very friendly, spoke good english, very helpful. We enjoyed a yummy, full breakfast every morning, we ate dinner here every night, their house wine and olive oil are delicious, we took a cooking class and did the wine tasting...truly the highlight of our trip.
Did a day trip to Montepulicano...amazing village, love it. Next time, renting a car to see more villages

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mchubb93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Proprietario at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your beautiful words about Villa Cicolina, the staff and the food, we really take care of everything details.

We are really proud that you choose Villa Cicolina for a special occasion as you 20th anniversary and that you loved it.

Hope to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
271 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
459 reviews
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing