We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treasure!”
Review of Villa Cicolina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Cicolina
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Orewa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I searched long and hard for a "magical" place in which to spend our last two nights in Italy. Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found it. Staying at Villa Cicolina was one of the highlights of our holiday. We were greeted very warmly and shown to our Suite - The Pearle Room. A beautiful, roomy suite with lovely views across the countryside. Exploring the beautifully kept grounds, we found the infinity pool - which was a delight to come back to each day after a day of sightseeing, for a swim. It was also a lovely spot to rest with a book as there were plenty of loungers to lie on in the sunshine.There are also many private places in the garden where you are able to sit and relax either in the sun or in the shade.
We booked in for dinner on the first night which was served in the garden, complete with music softly playing and candlelight - very romantic. The set menu is displayed each morning for you to peruse and decide whether you wish to book for that night's meal.
We booked for dinner on both nights and we were glad that we did. The service was outstanding and the meals were delicious.
A car is a must, but the lovely walled city of Montepulciano is not far away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwisHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    36
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
286
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I am sitting in the Junior Suite as I type this. Our first night and day has been an extreme disappointment. If you are considering coming here, you should carefully consider our experience.

We arrived our first night around 8:15 PM. Took a bit to find the place but that really isn't an issue. We are used to tramping around Tuscany and having to find places. That's part of the Tuscany charm and we never skip a chance to go exploring when we come here.

Once we got in, we were asked to leave our passports with them in the office until morning. We did not want to leave our passports so they had to check us in then. We drove down the road for a quick bite of pizza and got back around 9:20 and that's when the fun started.

Our room windows open over the entrance and courtyard. We opened them until we realized that we were going to get to listen to the details of the reveling going on during and after dinner as folk carried on right below our windows until around 11 when some of them continued the party until around 11:30 in the halls and their rooms. We closed the windows and went to sleep.

Around 8 we awoke to another vibrant courtyard scene as people were leaving for bike trips or checking out or...who knows what. All I know is it was loud enough to clearly hear conversations through the closed windows. Ok fine.

Up next the bath...our bathroom does not have a shower. It has a bathtub, which we knew about when we reserved, but what you cannot tell from the pictures is the fact that the handheld shower head has nothing to support it. Very inconvenient. Took quite a bit of time to wash, caused quite a bit of mess on the floor, you were cold while you were trying to bathe and once you were done you really were not sure if you were clean. Not a happy camper at this point.

Ahh yes...the breakfast. What can I say about this? Well how about $267/US is apparently not enough to get any hot food at breakfast here. Nice.

Walked the grounds after breakfast then asked if they had another room available for us to use for the next six nights. Gal got sidetracked a bit with another customer.

We went in to Montepulciano, got back around 2:30 and asked again.
No there isn't another room.
OK we need to check out.
Oh there is this room on the back of the restaurant you can have.
The bath issue was resolved with that room but we could not see how that was going to give us the quiet stay in Tuscany we were expecting since now we were going to be right next to where the people eat and gather so we said no, thank you.
We have another room for three nights.
Move in the middle of our stay, no. (We have done that in the past and it is a real hassle.)

Well if you leave you will have to pay for your entire stay.
(screech to a halt!)
Yeah, you pay for your entire stay. If we book the room we will refund it to you because you have a reservation and we are just a small place.

I said we should not have to pay for the entire stay if they could not fix the issues but they were adamant. The owner was called, they conversed entirely in Italian in front of us, the owner left without even a look at us and we were told again...you will have to pay for your entire stay.

Went back to room. Simmered down. Went to Pienza, shopped, had dinner, came back at 10:50 PM to the sound of some music playing somewhere on the grounds. It hasn't stopped and it is now 12:20 AM.

Bottom line: It might be worth it for us to have to pay for a room we won't use for five nights to get away from here.

FWIW...We are pretty experienced world travelers and are on our third trip to Italy since 2006 and have stayed in Tuscany every trip. We are flexible when it comes to travel and can take the cost of European travel in stride. We live near Chicago and are used to having to spend money to do fun things. We get what coming to Italy is and what it costs. We will come back because we love it here.

That being said...this is one place off of our list. This review is our way of letting others know our experience here. Safe travels.


(12:40 AM now - Music still going and now plenty of noise downstairs.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Russell_III
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Owner at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Mr/Mrs. Valkman,

We really thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all the TA users and for giving us the opportunity to answer to his feedback in order to preserve and show the reliability and accuracy of our services and modus operandi.

We were/are very sorry that they had a negative experience at Villa Cicolina and we tried with all our effort to get a chance of recovering the situation while they were still here.

ISSUE RELATED TO THE BATHROOM
As a tradition for requests of reservations received, we usually send different pictures of the rooms (including those of the bathrooms) to our Guests to select from. These Guests selected the suite “il Camino” at the price of 212 Euro per night with breakfast included for a total of 7 nights.
It’s true that the bathroom of the suite is not one those terrible modern shower boxes since it is an antique bathtub that was used by noble Tuscan families in the past but restyled in order to be functional as required by today’s standard of life. Guests who use it are usually excited and loved the experience of living the ancient Tuscan life style but this is not the case. Maybe we are wrong but we believe that this kind of furniture and way of preservation of the Villa is what people coming in Italy (and mainly in Tuscany) are looking for.

ISSUE RELATED TO THE CONVERSATION OF OTHER GUEST IN THE HOTEL
On the first night, we had a nice small cyclist group who had dinner at the Villa until 10.00 pm. After dinner some of these Guests went to the Capanna, a small outside living room in front of the Villa, where could relax and have a glass of wine and chat without making any noise for half an hour. We believe that the Capanna could be very nice area where people coming from different parts all over the world can know each other and compare experiences and opinions. Mr./Mrs Valkman complained about the conversations coming from the Capanna but instead of writing a feedback on TA, while conversations were going on, they could have called the reception or ask to the other Guests to stop these noisy conversations.

ISSUE RELATED TO THE MUSIC
The music didn’t come from a stereo or an ipod in the Villa but from Acquaviva a 10 km far away village from Villa Cicolina where there was a local village festival. We are very sorry if you were irritated by the music but we find it unfair to accuse us for something we didn’t do.

ISSUE RELATED TO THE BREAKFAST
Everybody says that we have an excellent breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, home-made pies, home-made jams, salami, pecorino cheese, muesli, coque eggs etc. and you can just ask to our waiter to prepare scrambled eggs, espresso, cappuccino and everything you wish.

ISSUE RELATED TO THE ROOM CHANGE/PAYMENT
When the clients asked to change room we gave them two different possibility: i) stay in another suite for the remaining 5 nights (out of 7) but they didn’t like this suite; ii) we showed another suite which were available for 3 nights but they didn’t like this suite as well.

What else should we do to satisfy them?

We decided to charge them the entire stay in force of our cancellation policy they accepted at the moment of the reservation.

We would like to remind them and to all the TA users, as already told at the moment of the check-out, that we are open to refund the amount of the 5 nights charged if someone else will reserve the room they left.

Finally we are very sorry of this inconvenience and we hope that these Guests will change opinion on Villa Cicolina.

With Best Regards,
Villa Cicolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt as if we were in heaven. Alijah was at the front desk and immediately made us feel at home. We were taken upstairs to the El Camino suite and it just kept getting better. We met Flojan who brought us a bottle of champagne with delicious green olives and nuts to enjoy by the infinity pool with the fabulous views. Dinner in the garden prepared by Mimmo the chef was amazing. Everything from the first course to the dessert was wonderful. On the nights we were dining at the Cicolina we looked forward to another wonderful meal. The entire staff including Sayad, Daniela and the unwearying gardener were wonderful and friendly.
There were fresh sheets on our beds each day, which was such a welcome treat!
We will definitely return to this wonderful little piece of heaven, and we can't wait to embrace the wonderful people who make it such a special place on earth.

Room Tip: The second and third floor suites have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpokaneCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels, belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We (family of 4 ) stayed in the cottage the second week of our 2 week holiday in Tuscany.
Having spent the first week at UNA hotel Versilia (great place), we felt a bit disappointed by the lack of quality offered at Villa Cicolina.
Villa Cicolina is nicely situated and offers a nice pool view over the Val di Chiana valley; by car You can easily visit the wineries in the region, Avignonesi surely recommended, or the towns of
Montalcino, Cortona, Pienza etc..
Staff is friendly and helpful but the place just needs money to be upgraded to a real 4 star hotel. The cottage feels worn out, half of the wardrobe space is occupied by blankets they use in the winter season, the airco was not always functioning and if it did , it was very noisy.
The bathrooms are about ok but again : no space to put your classical beauty case stuff.
Outside of the cottage, you'll find 2 half-broken long chairs which are not useable, a lot of ants
and other insects also spoil the fun.
Breakfast average and basically the same during all our stay.
The restaurant at night offers good quality ( no à la carte menu, you choose from a limited number of proposals ).
Overall : ok but nowhere near our expectations and in our opinion , 3 stars seem more appropriate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter_luypaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacicolina, Responsabile reception at Villa Cicolina, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, we feel very sorry that our property did not satisfy your expectations, we are sorry that you did not like the rustic cottage which we left with rustic furniture to match a typical tuscan house sorrounded by olive trees, rosemary, sage and Cypress trees in top of a hill...
When you informed us about the problem with the air condition, you arrived on Sunday and we couldn't find any tecnician available, so we could do nothing and we explained this to you and we appoligized in adequated way during your dinner in the evening.. In the morning we called somebody who fixed it and it came to work again.

We will provide some spaces to our guests to put their stuff in the bathroom. Outside the cottage there was one long chair ( not broken ) I checked immediately after your comment, and it was requested by a previous guest, you could have asked us to remove it if you did not like to see it. Breakfast is the same rich one with homemade cakes, 4 types of cereals, juices, homemade jams, honey, butter, eggs, yogurts, milk, three types of cold cuts, cheese,5 types of bread, fresh fruits, if you want, you can ask for scrembled eggs with anything you like.

Finally our propery is not four stars hotel, it is a 500 years property used to be owned by a noble family of Montepulciano, so we cannot classify it as three or four stars, it is only an elegant rustic-chic boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

If you're like me, you have a very clear picture of what you’d like your stay in Tuscan paradise to be. As a frequent traveler with very particular tastes, I knew what I wanted, hoped I would find it, but searched for what seemed like forever without any progress. Every time I found a promising property, something was missing and I got more frustrated - as I'm sure you know by now, there are a million options in Tuscany and finding the right place can be overwhelming at times.

One night, I happened to click on a Trip Advisor user's profile after reading an excellent review of her stay in Venice; there it was, my Tuscan paradise!

To say that our stay at Villa Cicolina was magical doesn't even do it justice - it's like stepping into a fairy tale! As everyone has mentioned, the grounds are beyond gorgeous, meticulously maintained, and just absolutely perfect. The groundskeeper puts in so much effort and you can tell he cares so much for the property - it shows. Beautiful fragrant flowers everywhere, hydrangea and lavender...heaven. There is great attention to detail here, from the lanterns where candles are lit in the evenings to the birdhouses and hidden gardens and sitting areas.

We stayed in the Il Balcone Suite for our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, a bottle of prosecco and a congratulatory card awaited us - this was the ONLY property of five that we visited on our 16 night trip that acknowledged our celebration, despite the fact that we stayed at mostly small boutique hotels. Little details like this are just a small part of what makes Villa Cicolina so special. The suite itself was beautiful all-around. If I had to be nitpicky, the air conditioning wasn’t as strong as I’m used to. The balcony was small and the chairs not the most comfortable, but the views were incredible.

The pool is to die for, with its infinity edge practically dripping right over the hills. We spent much more time here than we had originally planned - it was just absolute tranquility, nothing but the sounds of the birds, bumblebees, and the water falling over the edge of the pool.

The food was also worth mentioning – I am still dying for one more freshly made croissant, better than those we had in Paris just a few months ago. Excellent breakfast and excellent, well priced dinners. Of our four nights at Villa Cicolina, we had dinner on the property twice and weren’t disappointed.

I can’t imagine that anywhere else in Tuscany would have exceeded the experience we had at Villa Cicolina. Excellent experience from start to finish. Huge thanks to the entire staff for making our stay so perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostinmadrid28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We tried to reserve a junior suite for 5 nights, but they could confirm only 4, we accepted to take 4 nights because this hotel was highly recommended by a friend, we got more than our expectations, we arrived at noon, we only wanted to leave our lugagge as we know that we were early, but they insisted to offer us a drink and in 10 minutes we had the room ready, very large room with a lovely view; the staff was very kind and expert, they parked our car and took our lugagge to the room as they told us that from the moment we arrived, we have to do onlly one thing: Relax, and that what we did.
We had a daily dinner there as we tried the romantic dinner in the garden with candles and fresh flowers on a rrival and we coudn't go our for the following days for not missing the delicious dinner with this lovely atmosphere.
This is really what we desired from our Tuscan Adventure. Thanks you Villa Cicolina

Room Tip: Ask for Wine Tours, they can arrange reservations and if you don't want to drive, they can arran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Villa Cicolina is located approximately 1 kilometer from Montepulciano. It is a great place with nice green gardens and fruit trees. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean with all the necessary facilities. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and it was just excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martijn_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montepulciano
2.9 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#6 of 28 in Montepulciano
246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
411 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
269 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
458 reviews
15.9 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Cicolina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Cicolina

Property: Villa Cicolina
Address: Provinciale 11, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Cicolina 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored villa dated back to the 16th century with charming gardens and endless pool located in from of the secular olive grove, some of the rooms have an amazing view to the tuscan countryside, Villa Cicolina offers daily tuscan dinner with chef Mimmo, cooking lessons, wine tasting in the historical cellar, organization of wine tasting tours in the countryside, wedding at Villa Cicolina is a dream which can be realized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Cicolina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Cicolina Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing