We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice, clean place, reasonably good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Girasole B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Girasole B&B
Ranked #21 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice, clean place, reasonably good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Located close enough to Montepulciano (5 min drive), this B&B has clean rooms and great views.
A few things to be aware of:
1) the owners speak almost no english at all, though they have phone access to others who do
2) if you need to cook, make sure to book one of the apts and not just a room-- the price is the same
3) There is no a/c, which in summer could be an issue, even at night...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Booked this and was pleasantly surprised - great location close to town -big room with comfortable bed and modern bathroom with balcony overlooking vineyard- very clean

Owner doesn't speak English but hand signals work and they are very friendly and accommodating

Made gesture that hair dryer was needed and when we returned from town there was one in the room

Breakfast was simple meats cheese bread and the price was right

Don't hesitate if your looking for clean comfortable and friendly -

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Il Girasole and were very pleased to be out of the city of Montepulciano and view it from our window. Everything was of good value for a reasonable price for the region. The breakfast was wonderful with homemade pastries everyday (the smell of the cooking every evening was a good sign).
Just keep in mind that you need a car to get there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie_paris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

This bed and breakfast is situated in the hills, about five minutes by car from historic Montepulciano. It is surrounded by vineyards and olive trees, still harvested by the B&B's owners, who appear to be an older Italian couple. Upon our arrival, we enjoyed watching the sun set over the Tuscan hills with a glow on the walls of distant Montepulciano. (The owners have set up chairs and tables around their garden, presumably for this reason.)

There appears to be four rooms to the B&B, all on the second floor and having personal balconies and private bathrooms. The owners of the B&B stay in a separate building, only a few yards from the B&B. There was no air conditioning (not sure if they have it), but we enjoyed having the windows to the balcony open. The outside air was cool and we were awaken by the sun and distant roosters. This added to the overall experience of the B&B we enjoy that you don't get when you stay at a hotel. The rooms were clean, however the floors and walls are a bit thin. Breakfast was decent and is served by one of the owners.

Although neither owner speaks ANY English, this was not a problem. And of course, be prepared to pay in cash, as many B&B's in the Italian countryside are not equipped to accept credit cards. I have been told that some B&B's will give you discounted rates if you pay in cash as opposed to card, but I did not experience this.

I would stay here again as this is a no frills, basic B&B at a fantastic rate in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewBarabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

Nice B & B just outside of Montepulciano with nice views of Olive Trees and of the Town from the bedroom balcony. The owner was extremely nice with limited english. The rooms were big, nice tile and furniture, big clean, new bathrooms. It was quiet, but there was only one other couple there for the night (week night). Breakfast was more than plenty with cereals, fresh and packaged pastries, meat and cheese, yogurt, juice and coffee. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marriedCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#4 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Il Ciliegio Errante
B&B Il Ciliegio Errante
#7 of 44 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Dimora del Corso
La Dimora del Corso
#11 of 44 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Girasole B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Girasole B&B

Property: Il Girasole B&B
Address: Strada Per Pienza 38, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Il Girasole B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Hotel Montepulciano
Il Girasole Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing