We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and good pastries!!”
Review of B&B Il Girasole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Il Girasole
Ranked #21 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Il Girasole and were very pleased to be out of the city of Montepulciano and view it from our window. Everything was of good value for a reasonable price for the region. The breakfast was wonderful with homemade pastries everyday (the smell of the cooking every evening was a good sign).
Just keep in mind that you need a car to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie_paris17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

This bed and breakfast is situated in the hills, about five minutes by car from historic Montepulciano. It is surrounded by vineyards and olive trees, still harvested by the B&B's owners, who appear to be an older Italian couple. Upon our arrival, we enjoyed watching the sun set over the Tuscan hills with a glow on the walls of distant Montepulciano. (The owners have set up chairs and tables around their garden, presumably for this reason.)

There appears to be four rooms to the B&B, all on the second floor and having personal balconies and private bathrooms. The owners of the B&B stay in a separate building, only a few yards from the B&B. There was no air conditioning (not sure if they have it), but we enjoyed having the windows to the balcony open. The outside air was cool and we were awaken by the sun and distant roosters. This added to the overall experience of the B&B we enjoy that you don't get when you stay at a hotel. The rooms were clean, however the floors and walls are a bit thin. Breakfast was decent and is served by one of the owners.

Although neither owner speaks ANY English, this was not a problem. And of course, be prepared to pay in cash, as many B&B's in the Italian countryside are not equipped to accept credit cards. I have been told that some B&B's will give you discounted rates if you pay in cash as opposed to card, but I did not experience this.

I would stay here again as this is a no frills, basic B&B at a fantastic rate in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewBarabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Nice B & B just outside of Montepulciano with nice views of Olive Trees and of the Town from the bedroom balcony. The owner was extremely nice with limited english. The rooms were big, nice tile and furniture, big clean, new bathrooms. It was quiet, but there was only one other couple there for the night (week night). Breakfast was more than plenty with cereals, fresh and packaged pastries, meat and cheese, yogurt, juice and coffee. Would recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marriedCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sono tutte ottime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tacan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Siesta
Hotel La Siesta
#2 of 2 in Sant'Albino
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
440 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sant' Antonio
Sant' Antonio
#13 of 28 in Montepulciano
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Agriturismo La Terra
Agriturismo La Terra
#5 of 44 in Montepulciano
115 reviews
0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Ostro
Bed & Breakfast Ostro
#33 of 44 in Montepulciano
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
B&B Vicolo dell'Oste
#2 of 44 in Montepulciano
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Girasole

Address: Strada Per Pienza 31, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range: $101 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Girasole Bed And Breakfast
Il Girasole Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing