We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We found the hotel extremely difficult to find - it took us about one hour -the directions and map were of no help. The room was overcrowded with big old fashioned furniture such that it was difficult to get around. One tiny window that could be opened meaning the lights we on all the time and it felt like being in a cell. The bathroom was for one person and should have been renovated years ago. The toilet systern was high up and did not have a cover such that when one pulled the chain water splashed down. Unlike other guests we prefer to have breakfast in a relative quiet and peaceful atmosphere. We will not return even though we understand some rooms have been renovated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jonas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 275 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

In the 60s, this place would have been on Frommers "Ëurope for $20 a day". Still has the same crazy multi-floor layout for a dozen rooms, ubiquitous on site owner, original furniture, paint job and questionable plumbing. But it sure ain't $20/day anymore. Maybe I've outgrown such places, but what other business hasn't upgraded in the past 40 years? There are probably 100 other places to stay in Montepulciano; consider some of them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TideGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Very difficult to navigate around the town and find the hotel - but once there Roberto makes it all very worthwhile. He goes well out of his way to make you welcome and enjoy your stay in this lovely hilltop town. A great family run hotel with passion that shows through in the great service and attention.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FfastEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

finding a hotel for 3 couples for 3 nights in Montepulciano during the height of tourist season was a challenge. We were told hotel after hotel that they were full. But, Roberto, the owner of La Terrazza, said he could accomodate us. What luck we thought....well, we weren't so lucky after all. Upon arriving...after a very difficult time finding the hotel ( signage and directions were useless)...we were told by our host that he only had us down for 2 nights. He actually told us the next day after we had checked in and spent one night. Roberto is indeed charming...but i felt disingenuous. The rooms were nothing special and could use some refreshing for sure. Breakfast was simple and the coffee was terrible. Roberto was helpful in directing us to restaurants...but he made no effort whatsoever to try to help us find another hotel for the 3rd night that he failed to reserve for us. Instead, he directed us to the tourist information office at the bottom of the hill....really??

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Let me say up front that finding this little hotel is not for the faint of heart. We eventually parked the car while one of us walked to find the hotel. Having said that, Roberto, the owner, came to the car and rode with us providing the guidance we needed to get there. And then came all the very pleasant surprises! First of all, parking out front which is unusual in the hill towns. And, easy to get in and out of the town once you know the route. Second, the room. We were shown to one of the newly renovated rooms and it really was beautifully done up. Very comfortable bed, table and two chairs, huge armoire, and the bathroom was just great in every respect. Later, we did get a look at one of the older rooms and they also are very comfortable. We would be happy to stay in either.

Breakfast with Roberto is, to say the least, entertaining. Juice, yoghurt, very nice selection of salami and cheese, croissants and other pastries. And all the while, you have Roberto personally serving you as his guest, kidding with you and the other guests, and just making it all very pleasant. We would have stayed longer but, unfortunately for us, the place was fully booked for weeks ahead. Make your reservations early!

One last thing. Roberto keeps a supply of wine for sale. As we were out of wine when we arrived, we purchased a bottle of San Gimigiano white and a bottle of Vino Nobile Red. They were both excellent and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toucantango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went in this really nice hotel at the beginning of May.
We couldn't have been more lucky with an accommodation.
We went to Montepulciano by car and as my GPS is not up to date and I couldn't work it out how to get to the hotel, which is located in the centre of the town, so I called the reception to try to find out where to go, the Lady asked where we were and without any stress she came to pick us up with her car. The hotel as a private park for the guest, which is very good.
Our room was just stunning. The room was with a nice four poster bed and we had also a really nice living room which comes with sofa, chair and a fire-place. The bathroom was small but equipped with all new essentials. We had also a big nice terrace (shared with another room) at the entrance of our room.
In the morning we went downstairs and had a really nice time while having breakfast as Roberto (the owner) was there helping the wife with the breakfast but above all making jokes with the guests. He was so funny and we had such a great time! The continental breakfast includes homemade cakes and croissants, local cheeses, juices and yogurts.
I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its perfect location, amazing rooms (Roberto took us around the hotel and showed an other really fabulous room) and the nice people that own it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurasuper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Everything in this town is hard to find until you have a map from your hotel or the information center. Roberto, his wife and son are very helpful in getting you back to your car and showing you the way up to their parking area just outside the hotel. We were lucky and got the last room for that evening. It was large and clean. As well as comfortable. You will need to be able to handle stairs though. We were given a fair price. Roberto also directed us to a great restaurant for dinner. You will not leave hungry from breakfast. There is plenty of food and good variety too. Roberto allowed us to keep parking there for the day even after we checked out which was very nice of him and helpful for us because it was a very confusing area to get around in. Over all very good but would consider it more a b&b than a hotel. Trust me Roberto will not leave you wanting for anything.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Wynnelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 28 in Montepulciano
486 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#7 of 28 in Montepulciano
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#10 of 28 in Montepulciano
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#3 of 28 in Montepulciano
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Il Marzocco
Albergo Il Marzocco
#19 of 28 in Montepulciano
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#15 of 28 in Montepulciano
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrazza di Montepulciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrazza di Montepulciano

Address: Via Pie al Sasso, 16, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range: $111 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Terrazza di Montepulciano 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your La Terrazza di Montepulciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terrazza Di Hotel Montepulciano
Montepulciano La Terrazza Di

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing