We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome and friendly stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Terrazza di Montepulciano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Terrazza di Montepulciano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pie al Sasso, 16, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome and friendly stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Excellent! The most welcoming host we met in Tuscany....Roberto is such a character! He came to meet us outside the city so we could follow him to La Terrazza. The accommodation was very nice, clean and spacious. The decor was nice too. Location is very central, with a back door connecting to a central street.

Breakfast, served in the garden, was vast and Roberto made sure we tasted all the homemade delights baked by his wife Vittoria!

We paid €95 for a night, very reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danmolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    66
    16
    11
    0
See reviews for
36
129
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My girlfriend (Jennifer Lopez as Roberto would call her!) and I spent one night in this hotel. We arrive to Montepulciano by bus from Chiusi train station. 2 Euro 70 for a one way ticket, compared to around 60 Euro in a taxi! The bus drops you off at the bottom of the hill so it was a big struggle for us lugging our suitcases up a big steep hill. However, it was worth it in the end!
We were instantly provided with a map of the area by Roberto's lovely wife and she also recommended a restaurant, La Pentolaccia (see separate review), which turned out to be so amazing and my favourite restaurant of the trip. Rome restaurants could do with having a few lessons from these guys!
Because we arrived at the hotel quite late we missed the 10.30am breakfast cut off point the next morning. However, Roberto and his wife insisted that we could still have breakfast and they had kept things out especially for us.
Roberto is quite the man and is just someone you would love to have as your father! He spent all morning getting to know my girlfriend and I, making us laugh, telling us about he and his lovely family, and showing my girlfriend the Twilight memorabilia which the cast gave to him when they stayed in the hotel.
The hotel is located next to everything you want to see and everywhere you want to be.
I definitely can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeWils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

My wife and I visited La Terrazza in Montepulciano for our honeymoon. Roberto and his family were incredibly hospitable and his local connections and knowledge are invaluable. The hotel is located near the wine cellars of Fattoria Talosa. It is also not far from Contucci, Vecchia Cantina, etc.

Roberto's amici even produces wine and he has plenty of it at his location if you want to relax there with a glass. We booked a stay in Montepulciano and were leaving on Sunday (no buses) and Roberto helped us arrange a taxi to the nearest train station to get back to Rome.

Montepulciano was our favorite stop in Italy and much of it's charm has to do with our experience at La Terrazza. Grazie Roberto!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YV_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My partner and I had a wonderful stay here ~ we really enjoyed Roberto and loved the location and rooms and would not consider staying anywhere else when going back to Monte.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My boyfriend and I loved our stay at The La Terrazza for 2 nights! We had a little difficult finding it. When arriving Montepulcino, look for the yellow signs marked "La Terrazza". The first one may be difficult to find but after you locate the first, the rest are easy to find. After driving the curvy and windy roads, you will arrive to the quaint and beautiful La Terrazza. It is centrally located and easy access to shopping and restaurants in the town. We had a nice size bed room with a suite and a darling balcony with beautiful flowers. Our bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small but most bath rooms in Italy tend to be small. Breakfast consisted of pastry with Nutella, rolls, home made cakes, cheese, yogurt, and fresh fruit. Breakfast is served inside if weather is chilly and outside on the patio if weather is warm. Roberto and Victoria were wonderful hosts. They make you feel like you are at home. Roberto is quite the character and is very amusing! You will see. When we arrived, Roberto gave us a map of the town which was quite helpful. Just make sure you wear good walking shoes as the town presents with steep hills. If you are thirsty in the evenings, you may go downstairs to the kitchen refrigerator to get a water, soda, or juice for a small fee. That was a nice added bonus. I would highly recommend this quaint B & B to anyone traveling to Montepulciano!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherryLynne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

My girlfriend Sherry and I spent two nights in September 2011 at the hotel la Terrazza in Montepulciano. The owner Roberto is a special character that you like to meet in beautiful Tuscany. The hotel is in a good location with private parking and in a walking distance to the beautiful town of Montepulciano (go wild in the shopping).
The room was very nice and well decorated; breakfast in the morning fun with Roberto doing his show presenting fresh fruits and cakes.
We recommend this hotel to future guest.
Ciao
Marco L (road warrior)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I am happy to say that i was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel and do not hesitate to recommend it very highly indeed!

The location was excellent- very central and well sign posted.
The room (i was staying alone) was big, with a lovely comfortable double bed, windows with shutters on to a terrace with chairs and flowers, a spotless bathroom with amenities.
Breakfast was on a beautiful outdoor terrace and was plentiful- your choice of yogurt and any hot beverage, juice (or bottled water) fruit, sliced delicious cheese, bread, assortment of jam, peanut butter etc, croissant and 2 home baked pastries per day- apple strudel and some local delicious cake.
Room serviced and spotless
When i arrived, Victoria insisted on lugging my extremely heavy suit case up numerous flights of stairs.
She gave me a map and recommended a very close local restaurant which was not only inexpensive but the best food i had in Italy! i went back for both my nights
I was made to feel very very welcome by her.
given a key to come and go as i pleased.

In general i was very happy with my stay of 2 nights and would not hesitate to return. There was no air conditioning but there was a fan.

Thank you for a great stay in a beautiful town..

Room Tip: I travelled alone and stayed in room number 9 and would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Duomo
Albergo Duomo
#8 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camere Bellavista
Camere Bellavista
#14 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terrazza di Montepulciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terrazza di Montepulciano

Property: La Terrazza di Montepulciano
Address: Via Pie al Sasso, 16, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Terrazza di Montepulciano 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Terrazza di Montepulciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terrazza Di Hotel Montepulciano
Montepulciano La Terrazza Di

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing