We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievably lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fattoria San Martino
Ranked #17 of 44 Montepulciano B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unbelievably lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

This place really is magical. We couldn't have asked for anything more. We just wanted to stay for days and days of hazy sunny days on end. Everything is so beautiful and peaceful. We slept like babies in the most amazing calming room with the most amazing comfortable bed (that we are still trying to replicate today!). We met some lovely people while we were there too - it seems to attract them :)
Our hosts looked after us extremely well - including our dietary needs - cooking us gorgeous vegan meals that we relished. We felt the love in Karin's designs and special touches - and bought back some lovely mementos for our own home that remind us of this special place.
Thanks for making our stay so memorable. We hope to be back some day and hope you make it to New Zealand in the future.

Room Tip: Loved the "good mood" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I couldn't believe our fortune when we arrived at San Martino. After 20 trips to Italy, we found a truly unique and magical place, where people and food combine with heart and soul to make for a beautiful and peaceful stay. What serenity, what luxury! The comfort and size of the rooms are second to none, each one with its own lovely personality and story. We loved the breakfasts which were hearty and healthy - sumptuous and organic, all things that good food should be. Karin and Antonio have worked hard to create an unforgetable and very beautiful place in a way that is respectful and responsible to the planet and to Italy. We are grateful that they are prepared to share their energy, ideas, and home with guests, and we cannot wait to return to this gem.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank olivina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

When we arrived at Fattoria San Martino, my heart stopped for a second. This is a Magical place. Our room was huge and very comfortable, cozy. At night I didn't want to sleep so I could be looking for every detail that was left behind. Karin, the owner, greeted us with big smile and good talk about life and choices. The natural fabrics, organic foods, an exuberant nature and all that in the center of Montepulciano. I wish to go back with more time. To finish: a place to rest, see beatiful things and feel love.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharoneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrettsville, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Fattoria San Martino. The owners were out of town, but MariaAngelica was there to host us and was such a warm and helpful caretaker. She made our stay at this house pleasant. We especially enjoyed the use of the kitchen. We had been traveling for a week and it was so nice to be able to make a home cooked meal while we were there.
We thoroughly enjoyed the bed linens and comfortable beds (the best of our trip), the plain, simple, yet fresh and natural breakfast and the friendly atmosphere of the house. Unfortunately, the first night we stayed there, we had a horribly loud neighbor that brought with her a barking dog. They came in after midnight and woke us up with their noise and then they got up early and woke us up again with their very loud voices and loud boots stomping all around. I think when they built the second building, they must have forgotten to put any insulation in the walls. We could hear EVERYTHING! Lucky for us this guest was only there one night. But other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyJarrettsville_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

‘Tuscany’ is summed up nicely at San Martino.

Your arrival seems to be an occasion to celebrate: you are greeted by rows of lavender, each plant competing with the next to be the first to give you a warm welcome. As you follow the natural curves of the heady-scented path leading you to ‘reception’, you slowly realise San Martino isn’t just another agriturismo villa. Something special is about to happen. You’ve been here for only a few minutes and already you’re beginning to wonder what makes this place feel a bit magical.

The location - As you look out over the rolling hills, the panoramic view is framed by gentle olive groves and graceful grape vines. Then, turning 180° in the opposite direction, a picture-perfect postcard of the ancient town of Montepulciano, poised high on the hill, peers back at you, beckoning to be explored. Easily done - after a mere 20 minute stroll you find yourself standing at the entrance to the fortified medieval town.

Two levels of luxury - San Martino works on you in two ways. On an aesthetic, superficial level you are well cared for - indulged by the perfect dose of beauty and luxury. Your five senses are let loose to explore and discover all the things they’ve been deprived of for so long whilst busily going about life in the hectic back home. The sights, scents, touches, sounds and tastes are orchestrated as one perfect package that is everything but a ‘package holiday’.

On another, deeper level the owners pay careful, thoughtful attention to every detail. With great precision, they make sure guests are given only the best of what nature offers: pure cotton and woollen fabrics; organic and vegetarian dishes; natural fibre pillows; all-organic soaps and cleaning products; furnishings and designs crafted from recycled materials; flowers and plants that bow humbly to the principles of biodynamic horticulture and ancient ‘Wabi-Sabi’ philosophy.

But you don’t need to know about all those things. That’s what the friendly staff at San Martino are there for – setting everything up just right for you so that you can simply relax and unwind and find yourself saying:

“I wonder why I feel so wellL…”

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucky138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

if you think organic means grubby and slightly hyppieish, think again. fattoria sanmartino combines the two elements so well. on the one hand you have this carefully interior designed property, where every detail speaks of love of nature and love of beautiful things. On the other you get to eat marvellous food, surrounded by the most luscious natural surroundings, and get to exchange couple of words with the most interesting people. The owners are great and really believe in what they do. and Mariangela & Giulio are so lovely!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank carotina74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

The little villages around, the landscapes and the fattoria itself are breathtaking, you can check out their web page, the food prepared by them was marvelous..and the people there make sure you feel comfortable. We couldn't ask for more.. were very sad to leave and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidiacic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
Etruria Resort & Natural Spa
#13 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria San Martino

Property: Fattoria San Martino
Address: Via di Martiena 3, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pale-yellow three-storey main house was restored using natural materials and finishes, such as lime, wood, stone and beeswax. The family lives on the ground floor, while four large guestrooms, all decorated by Karin, occupy the upper floors. In the guesthouse, breakfast is served with organic products sourced or farmed locally - the five-hectare farm counts olive oil, fresh vegetables and fruits among its produce. Decor is a blend of handmade wooden pieces, local antiques and collectables and reinvented pieces - Karin gives items a new lease of life, creating cushions out of old Dutch mailbags and turning scraps linen into lampshades. When Karin Lijftogt and Antonio Giorgini moved in Tuscany and bought the 18th-century villa Fattoria San Martino, just 800 meters form the town and 1 hours drive from Florence, they had in mind a life of natural beauty and rural bliss. The couple had been working in the fashion industry in Milan throughout the '80s (Karin in design, Antonio in finance), and while they loved the place, it was starting to take its toll. I had my own collection - life was good and it could go on forever", recalls Karin. " A life around fashion and trends, a hectic life indeed, yet we loved Milan and its atmosphere. But there where disadvantages." Among them was the fact that she was spending more time "driving around on the autostrada than at home". Then Antonio's mother died an event that became a turning point in their life. " We both wanted to bring rest and quality into our lives and go back to basic, to a simple country life," explains Dutch-borne Karin. So began a new era for the couple and their two sons Flores and Miran. After have been running a farmhouse and B&B in Chianti, they finally discovered such perfection on a hill outside the walled town of Montepulciano. March Heldens from "Under tuscan skies" in the home magazine "inside out. Inspiring homes with heart". sept/oct 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fattoria San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing