We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cantina de' Ricci
from $200.14
More Info
from $217.30
More Info
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
240
95
18
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
240
95
18
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine cellar tasting room etruscan cave super tuscan high ceilings several floors lasagna wine home light lunch cellar tour huge wine barrels amazing tour purchase wine oak barrels great wine different wines bread
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 362 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019

What a great time we had! We started with the wine tasting first--our host was very gracious and knowledgeable! The Rosso di Montepulciano was quite good--so much so that we ordered six bottles to be sent back home. A special treat was the 1995 Vin Santo! A very tasty sweet wine! We then toured the wine cellar--knowing that it dates back to the 1300's is amazing! I would recommend this tour!!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Indylaves500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019 via mobile

We booked a tour of the cellar and wine tasting in advance. Serena was very helpful during the process. She was also our guide to visit the cellar. The cellar is a unique experience; the entrance with stairs by the main piazza is spectacular. Serena was very knowledgeable of the history of the place. After the tour, we tasted 3 wines accompanied by lovely cheeses and meats. We ordered a case to ship to the US. We definitely recommend visiting the Cantina de'Ricci.

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank lilii134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2019

Just off the Piazza Grande in Montepulciano, next to the German Music School is the entrance to an ancient multi-story cantina. The route to through the cellars is two stories deep, in original condition in many ways, and amazing in its' atmosphere.

Travel from medieval times at the entrance, through the cellars, to an Etruscan well. The path has giant barrels and new ones full of aging wines.

The tasting room is at the end of the self-guided tour and now features wines of top quality from the Trabalzini family produced under the brand Di Ricci.

Ask about the hedgehog!

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank robertckelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

Perfect thing to do especially when it’s raining. The old cellar tour was great. The staff was very friendly. Meeting and chatting with the owner was special. Great wine. Looking forward to enjoying our purchases at home. Recommend

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Kimpbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

I've come here frequently over the years and love descending from the town center through the vast, cathedral-like caverns with the oak barrels to exit in the tasting area. This year I found it improved, under new management. It has returned to its historic
"De' Ricci" name and offers a nice selection of wine, mostly but not only Sangiovese. We bought a few bottles and tasted several others.
The nice manager showed us the space they use for meals and events as well; very nice.
I WOULD highly recommend it (if I didn't want to keep it from being overcrowded.)

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank TGRinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews