We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful property, fantastic week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sant' Antonio
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
445 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, fantastic week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our third visit to Southern Tuscany, so we were well familiar with the area. We chose Sant' Antonio for its fantastic location outside of Montepulciano with an easy access to the perched villages of Val d'Orcia; magnificent countryside; less than an hour's drive to Siena, and equally easy access to important towns in Umbria. We also chose Sant' Antonio based upon recommendations of friends, who return again and again. We spent a week at Sant' Antonio in late May and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We stayed in apartment 9, Giotto. It is a lovely, nicely furnished and very comfortable apartment; a spacious living room with a fireplace (came quite handy during a few chilly evenings); bedroom with beautiful antique furniture, orthopedic mattress and quality linen sheets, and a totally upgraded, modern bathroom with a freestanding tub, stall shower, double sinks, and lots of fluffy towels. The kitchen is fully equipped for those who wish to cook. Unlike other self-catering accommodations, bed linen and towels are changed mid-week and there is a daily trash removal from the apartment.

The property itself is quintessential Tuscany with rows and rows of olive trees, rolling hills, drop-dead gorgeous views, picnic table and benches, and a large swimming pool with lounge chairs all around. There is a security gate so one can feel comfortable that only guests of the resort are on premises at all times.

The owner Nico is a very gracious and welcoming host, and will go out of his way to assist with reservations, touring ideas and directions, "absolutely anything" (quoting Nico here :) one may need during one's stay. In this sense, Sant' Antonio is no different from a full service hotel, only better. Nico's wife Irene and his staff members, Susanna and Leo, are the kindest people and are there to make certain that all guests have the time of their lives.

And we certainly did.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our apartment, Giotto-9, although it was not our first choice. The moral here - reserve e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
102
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here for the last 15 years and every time I return I can feel the weight of the world lifting off my shoulders.
The old monastery has changed over the years, and always for the better. The tasteful updating continues every visit, underground car parking, refurbed appts, lovely BBQ areas and terraces but always in great Tuscan style. Antique furniture and beautiful linen add to perfect holiday stop.
Don't think twice, this is without doubt, the best in the area by a mile

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank MilesHinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
The support over the years from you and your family is really appreciated. GRAZIE TANTO - and we always look forward having you back, including Caio!!!!
Thank you - Nico, Elena and the rest of the whole Sant' Antonio Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a full week in April (the resort outside of town) and were so very appreciative of the pristine, spacious, and elegant dwellings, the gorgeous scenery, and mainly the hospitality extended by our congenial host, Nico. He is a true gem, helpful, patient, enterprising, and passionate. Of particular note, being an avid hiker, I loved the nature course of just under 3 miles that takes you around the property, including panoramic vistas, olive trees, rolling green hills... perfection. . . Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stayed in Apt. 9 Giotto
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
It was great to have you with us and a pleasure to meet you both. I am very happy you enjoyed the walks around our farm land, olive groves and forests. Grazie tanto - a presto and thank you for your positive feed back. All the best - Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

San't Antonio Resort was such an amazing experience with Nico and his wife Elena. From we arrived with the gated gates, our villa, the scenery all around, wine tasting, meats and cheese and more was the best experience my new husband and I had in Northern Italy. Nico and Elena were so friendly. Each day Nico had something new for us to do. He had us go to a winery 45 minute walk each way from San't Antonio, what an amazing, amazing experience. The wine was superb, we have a new appreciation for wine now. As well told us about a lovely meat and cheese place going towards Pienza. So worth it every second of it. He told us where he goes and the locals go, what a experience. Overall amazing. We are from Calgary Canada and plan to come back in the next few years. Thank you so much San't Antonio for the Excellent hospitality.
Ryan and Janine

Room Tip: Where we stayed was great in our own Villa, like Cottage place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanineRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
When a wonderful positive couple turn up like you - then we know that the week will be full of laughs and fun. Thank you so much for joining us and it was a pleasure to send you in the correct direction... food and VINO wise! We wish you both all the best and grazie tanto for taking the time to support us on tripadvisor. Warm regards - Nico & Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks in Italy. Nicco and crew provided us with the perfect home base. A comfortable residence on a gorgeous property of Olive Orchards and Vineyards. Our suite had a workable kitchen but be aware there is no oven. Instead we used their outdoor forno and BBQ. Egyptian cotton sheets and towells made our chambers comfortable. Housekeeping services that include doing your laundry (although a bit pricey). Easy access to anywhere in Tuscany or Italy for that matter. I would recomend this Resort to anyone wishing to explore Italy without having to drag luggage around every other day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItalianMoma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in September (2 couples) and had a 2 bedroom apartment (Michelangelo).

The Sant' Antonio was first rate. The location is beautiful and the grounds were great. There is a pool and outside eating/gathering areas with fireplaces and barbecues.

The owner, Nico, is a great host...and is very knowledgeable about the area.

Sant' Antonio proved to be a perfect location for exploring the Tuscan countryside. We took daytrips to Siena, Cortona, Florence, and of course spent time in the beautiful town of Montepulciano. Nico provides valuable recommendations for daytrips and restaurants.

The Tuesday night dinner was a great opportunity to meet the other guests, but the meal itself was slightly disappointing compared to the other dining experiences we had in Italy. That being said, it was a very enjoyable evening.

Sant' Antonio is a beautiful spot...if we are lucky we'll get back again.

Thanks Nico and staff for a great week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunSeekers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Sant' Antonio is a beautiful resort. It's gated and the grounds are large with several gathering areas making it perfect for large groups, families and kids.

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and used it as a base to explore Tuscany.
Our apartment was private, clean and spacious. Although there isn't anything in walking distance, the town is just a few minutes a way. We made breakfast and coffee every morning and ate in the kitchen or terrace which has beautiful views. We also cooked dinner in one night after a day of wine tasting. I highly recommend stopping at Conads (just 7 minutes away) to pick up water, coffee, paper towels and other supplies before checking in. There's also a large selection of wine in each room that can be purchased.

Nico and his wife were on holiday but his staff were incredibly friendly when we checked in and out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#15 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Property: Sant' Antonio
Address: Via della Montagna 6/8, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old converted monastery situated in the heart of the Tuscan country side, a short 3 km drive from the historic Renaissance town of Montepulciano renowned for its wines, olive oil, local cuisine and culture. Sant' Antonio is converted into spacious unique accommodations with wonderful views of the Valdichiana and lakes on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. This historic structure is located on over 70 hectares of gardens with terraces, biological farm land and forests with a private 2 mile walking and running trail that has breathtaking views past each corner... Sant' Antonio is ideally located close to Montepulciano where numerous local restaurants, coffee bars, enotecas, artesian shops and supermarkets are situated as well as to visit towns and medieval villages such as Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Monticchiello, Cortona, Cetona, San Quirico, Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Arezzo, Orvieto.... And many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing