We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian's Find Tuscan Comfort and Hospitality Plus”
Review of Sant' Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sant' Antonio
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Canadian's Find Tuscan Comfort and Hospitality Plus”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We just stayed at Sant' Antonio for 6 nights. The location is ideal and a great home base to travel out to many of the great sites in Tuscany. Rooms fabulous, bed was comfortable and the apartment very clean with mid stay cleaning, change of linens and towels. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Tuesday night dinner made by the staff was a super event, lots of fun, food and wine. Nico the owner made our stay even more pleasurable, always willing to help and give suggestions to enhance our time in Tuscany. He has a great sense of humour and is always upbeat and positive. We highly recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed.
Margaret and Blake

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
102
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Sant'Antonio for two weeks in July with our three children (ages 3,8,10). This was the way we had imagined Tuscany to be. From the moment the gates opened and we were greeted by our amazing host, Nico, we were in heaven! Our kids loved San'tAntonio so much that some days we had to tear them away from the resort just to explore the amazing little towns nearby. Our two bedroom apartment had everything we needed and more. The grounds are breathtaking and perfectly cared for. We all loved the running track Nico has built around the property for an early morning workout. Nico and his wife, Elena, host a Tuscan evening once a week where guests can have a home-cooked Tuscan dinner together. This added to the friendly feeling around the resort and helped us get to know the other people staying with us. The outdoor wood-burning barbecues were the perfect way to spend an afternoon lingering over a long lunch with our goodies from the local farmer's market. Nico was a wealth of information on everything from adventures off the beaten path to restaurants and even a pharmacist. We felt taken care of, welcome, and totally relaxed. We know we will be back to Sant'Antonio again. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Every room is spectacular. Nico is great at recommending the right one for you. Book well in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent a week exploring some of the hill towns of Tuscany returning every afternoon to Sant'Antonio resort to recharge before heading out again. Everything about this place is perfect. In retrospect we wished we had stayed two weeks instead of only one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurore48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed last week in "La Terraza" which is located in the town of Montepulciano. It is a beautiful apartment located in the heart of the town. However, this has it good and bad points: parking is quite an issue as with most Tuscan hillside towns and I can only imagine it could be a nightmare in the height of the season. Also you need to be fit to contend with the daily haul up and down to your parked car, along with groceries etc. as it is always a good 10 minute walk. We were hoping to walk out into a lively night time scene - this was not the case as the town becomes extremely quiet after 6:00 pm. We could only conclude that this was because of the location of the apartment - it is at least 2/3 of the way up the main thoroughfare. There seemed to be a bit more life at the foot of the town, but it is not like San Gimignano (where we stayed last year) which is quite vibrant at night. I think it is good to share this information with fellow travelers in order to avoid disappointment... Also the bed in the apartment has a very firm/hard mattress which takes some getting used to - another reviewer pointed this out last month. We shared our concerns with Nico and he did provide a duvet topper which somewhat helped. All in all it was an interesting experience for us and we loved the view from the terrace of the apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlingorla049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pristine Tuscan setting. Pictures do not do it justice. Amazing views and closely situated to Montepulciano. Nico is the consummate host and very knowledgeable of Tuscany and related areas of interest. Miles of walking trails through olive groves, rolling hills, and private woods. Pool and large terrace are a refuge after a long day of sightseeing. The weekly dinner option was delicious and the charm of the renovated old stables was the perfect setting. Very clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds, plentiful natural light through large windows, and kitchen that has everything needed. Restaurants within 5 minutes. Grounds are impeccably kept. Would come again and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We are staying in #6 apartment, which is located on the second floor which lends fairytale views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeReignsHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at Sant Antonio outside Montepulciano for 6 days. The buildings are typical Tuscany and very rustic looking. Inside they are well appointed and equipped. Nico was on a well deserved break when we arrived but Pamela was a great deputy and we were made to feel welcome from the very start. Lots of information about the area, booking restaurants on our behalf and giving advice on what to see an what to avoid. The setting of Sant Antonio is wonderful with fantastic views over the Tuscan landscape. We did the 4K walk around the estate. Hard work on those steep hills but worth it for the views and the wildlife. The only negative for us was the very hard beds which did take some getting used to. Overall a great stay and Nico and the team made it very special for us all.

Room Tip: Number 11 has a great view and a private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for the review and we are happy to read you had an enjoyable stay. Pamela is a star and allows us to “leave” Sant’ Antonio in good hands for a few days at the end of summer with my wife and kids before school starts.
Mattresses: In my 20 years of hotel experience in the UK, Africa and Italy, bedding is perhaps one of the hardest issues to get correct as we all have specific requirements. Some prefer harder beds and some soft. We try our best to provide quality; our mattresses are certified orthopedic and the best we could find according the EEC laws which are specific for resistance to ignition / fire as required by law in a property open to the public. The latter places us under some restriction compared to the vast variety that can be purchased for domestic use, however, after reading your constructive posting, we called our supplier to furnish us with 5cm “top” mattresses to make it softer if one requires softer bedding.
Grazie tanto and we look forward welcoming you back.
Nico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for 3 weeks in the two apartments in the centre of Montepulciano and regularly made use of the facilities at the Sant' Antonio estate a few minutes out of town. Nico was a faultless and accommodating host and I thoroughly recommend a stay. It's not by accident that Sant' Antonio scores so highly on trip advisor. Be sure you attend the Tuesday night dinners and make use of the wonderful bbq sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VPO_BurySE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico-SantAntonio, Owner at Sant' Antonio, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Grazie tanto for your very kind words and we look forward welcoming you back. It was a real pleasure having you stay with us. A presto -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Frateria di San Benedetto
La Frateria di San Benedetto
#16 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sant' Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sant' Antonio

Property: Sant' Antonio
Address: Via della Montagna 6/8, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old converted monastery situated in the heart of the Tuscan country side, a short 3 km drive from the historic Renaissance town of Montepulciano renowned for its wines, olive oil, local cuisine and culture. Sant' Antonio is converted into spacious unique accommodations with wonderful views of the Valdichiana and lakes on one side of the property and the famous rolling hills, forests and olive groves on the other. This historic structure is located on over 70 hectares of gardens with terraces, biological farm land and forests with a private 2 mile walking and running trail that has breathtaking views past each corner... Sant' Antonio is ideally located close to Montepulciano where numerous local restaurants, coffee bars, enotecas, artesian shops and supermarkets are situated as well as to visit towns and medieval villages such as Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Monticchiello, Cortona, Cetona, San Quirico, Siena, Assisi, Perugia, Arezzo, Orvieto.... And many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sant' Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Antonio Montepulciano
Sant Antonio Hotel Montepulciano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing