We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Il Riccio”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
1 review
“Loved Il Riccio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2007

Meuble Il Riccio is a Tuscan jewel. It was the highlight of our trip - the surroundings were lovely, location perfect and the hosts very wam and welcoming. We highly recommend it and hope to return soon! E and G, Vancouver, BC

  • Liked — beautiful surroundings
  • Disliked — one flight of stairs to carry luggage
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VancouverEandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    83
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
103
430
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed here for 6 nights in March and found Gio, Ivana & Elena all to be gracious hosts & very helpful too. Be aware that the town can be very difficult to find your way around -- we ended up driving in a "no traffic zone" because we missed a turn. No one stopped us & we finally found our way to the Piazza del Duomo, & around the corner is Il Riccio. After unloading, we were shown the way to the parking lot -- we did park again on the Piazza when loading the car to leave.
Ivana went out of her way on 2 occasions for us. One was a matter of the incredibly hard beds which my bad back did not do well on. The first morning, they asked how I slept, and I mentioned the hard bed. Without further hesitation, Ivana & Elena flew up the stairs and started changing mattresses to find a softer one for me. The 2nd occasion was a bad auto grease stain on my husband's shirt, which Ivana removed, then laundered in her machine, then ironed-- all without charge. It definitely helped that I speak some Italian, but that kind of service is rare anywhere.
We did not have a room with a view-- would have been nice, but it was still a very quiet room with a decent sized bath, good lighting for reading, an in-room frig, etc.
I do agree with several things mentioned by johnaitch -- I think the family does a disservice to its clients by not recommending many restaurants. We were also given the very strong steer toward Acquacheta -- the owner is definitely bizarre and enjoys being perceived that way. The food is country Tuscan, very good, but also a very limited menu if you don't enjoy eating all sorts of internal organs! We then were sent to one around the side of the Duomo --nothing extraordinary. Finally we found Ristorante Il Cantuccio on our own (down near the bottom of the town). It is fabulous, costs a bit more, but worth it for the top-notch service, charming & quiet dining room (good place for romantic meal), extensive wine list and incredible food. The owner & staff are all so friendly, we loved eating there!
I also agree there should be a note stating internet fees -- we asked how to log on and were told we had to sign into the book stating the time we started-- we knew then there would be a cost, but why not put a note on the computer?
We did not choose to eat the breakfast there. We tried it one day but the fancy pastries, etc were too rich for us. We like a simpler breakfast, so we went to the local grocery & bought yogurt & fruit -- put them in our room frig -- we enjoyed going out for our coffee at Caffe Poliziano.
All in all...a very nice hotel with very friendly, helpful people. Just a few quirky things. We would definitely return -- we will just continue to follow our own noses when it comes to restaurants!

  • Liked — The host family
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanapapa-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2007

We have no complaints about iL Riccio but question whether it deserves the "Excellent" rating given by most reviewers. Somehow some have elevated it to the status of a Palace - which in English terms it certainly isn't. According to "Eyewitness" it would qualify as a Palazzo which is "a townhouse of stature", so if you expect that then you probably won't be disappointed. Just a few words of warning. The entrance is on the first floor and a bit of a trek from your car - so may not be suitable for invalids. There are only 2 rooms with views - we didn't have one but our's was comfortable and spacious - room 6. Gio is charming but may have something going with the Osteria dell'Acquacheta. He wasn't there when we arrived so we went off to the Osteria at the recommendation of Elanor (lovely girl-very helpful). When we arrived there we were very curtly asked if we had a reservation and when we said "no" we were pointed to a table without a word of welcome. We actually left to look for somewhere else. The following evening Gio, who knew nothing of our experience, was very insistent that we eat there and was determined to get us a reservation. I think he was a bit puzzled when we declined to take up his offer.
Breakfast at the Mueble is worth the €8 each he charges. Don't use the internet unless you are happy to pay outrageous rates.
Good place but don't expect a Palace.!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2007

When looking for small towns to visit in Tuscany I did an image search on Google for Multipulchiano. What good fortune it was that one of the aerial shots that came up was from the website for this lovely small hotel. Lodgings at Il Riccio are in the meticulously restored medieval palazzo belonging to Gio and Ivana Caroti who could not be more gracious hosts.
Our room was lovely with a view into the magnificent courtyard and another over the roof tops of other buildings in this magical town.
Mr, and Mrs Caroti and their assistant, Ellen were continually congenial and helpful to us throughout our stay, helping us with driving directions and suggesting absolutely terrific, truly Tuscan places to dine. We even got a chance to meet the Caroti's newest granddaughter, Mathilde, who is a cherub!

We plan to return to Il Riccio again and again.

  • Liked — Exquisite, beautifully restored building in medieval hill town.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AABCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2007

Gio and Ivana made Il Riccio and Montepulciano our home for a week, We visited ten years ago out of pure luck - and returned this time for a week with no disappointments. This is an 800 year old palace just 20 meters off the main square in a wonderful town. Gio's family has occupied the building for 7 generations. Ivana's baking is wonderful! And Gio and Ivana made us feel like good friends staying in their home. Make reservations - stay there a few days or hopefully a week. It's a great experience and wonderful value.

  • Liked — Warm and welcoming owners
  • Disliked — Leaving - I wanted to stay another week
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2007

Amazing! I reccommend this hotel to anyone lucky enough to book it and visit the wonderful town of Montepulciano. The owners were outstanding - friendly, attentive, caring, genuine, all around nice. The room was great - simple, not overdone, with all the amenities, comfortable bed, large bathroom, great view, tv, phone, etc. The breakfast was also nice, and the hotel itself is so picturesque. Lovely and wonderful and if I am lucky enought to travel back to Montepulciano one day, I would definitely stay at Meuble Il Riccio! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nattyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

We chose this place based on its high rating and rave reviews on Tripadvisor and are very happy we did. We echo every positive thing which has been written about the place, and have added a few photos of our own. The best place to stay in Montepulciano, hands down. The bonus is that it happens to be a great deal as well.

  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a view over the town and valley
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Property: Meuble il Riccio
Address: Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing