We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, location, and very friendly owners!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meuble il Riccio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montepulciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meuble il Riccio
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, location, and very friendly owners!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

If you stay in the town of Montepulciano, we recommend this place! The owners are very friendly (the husband, Gio, speaks English). We stayed in room #6 (I think there are only 6 rooms), which was huge! It had two large windows, one overlooking the street, and one the courtyard. It also had a desk, large closet, small table with two chairs, large bathroom, etc. A great value, it includes AC, wireless internet, and computer access, as well as parking in the town not far from the hotel (which if you know how hilly the town is, their parking is a great asset!). There is a small patio on the roof...where we had a bottle of wine and a pizza one night. Breakfast is not included in the rates, but we enjoyed going to a local patisserie called Caffe Poliziano. This cafe had an excellent view from their balcony of the wine country.

We found this hotel via Rick Steve's 2009 guide for Italy. Very pleased with his recommendations for this town, as well as other areas. If you go, the wine tasting he recommends at Contucci Cantina is very good, and very close by. Also, his recommendations for Ai Quattro Venti and Osteria del Conte are great!

A wonderful hotel for a memorable trip to Montepulciano!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrierofthePitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    81
    15
    2
    5
See reviews for
101
425
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

My wife and I found Meuble Il Riccio on our first trip to Tuscany in 1991 and returned July 2009 with our 2 children (aged 10 and 14). The hotel is even better than we remembered with a new reception/breakfast area where our family escaped the heat, watched some TV and enjoyed cappucino and cake for breakfast. The room had a king and 2 comfortable single beds - and a window opening onto the quiet medieval street below. We enjoyed a glass of "Rosso" on the rooftop terrace after dark and took in the view of the towers in the main square next door. More than we expected - and a fair price.

Toronto

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

My husband & I , along with another couple spent 2 weeks in Italy; staying in both apartments & hotels . We rated Meuble il Riccio & Montepulciano our overall favorite. The hotel is elegant & beautiful with a great location; the views from our rooms & from the rooftop terrace were terrific! Gio is an exceptional host - gracious, friendly & informative. Ivana served the best breakfast we had - it was plentiful & delicious! We were sorry we were only there one night but will be sure to return for a longer stay. .. staying here was a wonderful experience!
I also highly recommend Osteria Aquacheta - great meal!

Karyn, Boston,Ma.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KOKBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We showed up late without knowing where to stay. We spotted the hotel and asked. The proprietor was the most gracious host. And the public rooms were beautiful. Extremely spacious and gorgeous dining room, really nice courtyard, and fantastic views. Very impressed. It was a tad higher than what we wanted to spend, but did not mind after staying there. Also, access to a computer is great although there is wireless service but only in the dining room, not the rooms. The room itself was fine, although the bed was a little rigid, although it did not disturb our sleep. Finally, the parking space was a fantastic benefit, just a short 3 minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeroMagine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

Had a little trouble finding the place and driving in to drop our luggage off was interesting through the main narrow road of shops. Great location, couldn't ask for better. Carpark just on outskirts of town provided which is a real bonus. Room was clean and tidy and had a great view. Make sure you check out the roof top terrace. Staff friendly and helpful. The house has been in the family for 8 generations! Owner has some classic Italian cars which he will take you on tours if you want

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi_coupleauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
552 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

May 4-6, 2009
Montepulciano is a well-positioned town to stay while in Tuscany, and this hotel served as the ideal base. We stayed three nights and felt more comfortable after each day with the strategic location of the town and of the inn. From Montepulciano, one can motor very easily to Monteriggioni, Pienza (smelled of pecorino cheese), Montalcino (wine town), Montichiello, Cortuna, Chiusi, and Cetona. The postcard scenes of the Tuscan countryside come from this region. With free parking available to guests, we were glad we had a car to accomplish our itinerary.
Gio and Ivana were helpful with the daily itinerary as well as reliable restaurant recommendations. They resided on the premises. Ivana prepared wonderful breakfasts. While not included in the room rate, the fresh fruit torts (one day it was fig, another day it was apricot), cakes, and coffees started each day on a happy note. The breakfasts were very popular, judging by the patronage. The cost at 8E per person was well worth it.
We were in room #4, a spacious room with a view. The water pressure in the shower was good, and the bed was comfortable. From our window we could see the dozens of chirping swallows flying back and forth each morning.
Although the inn is located in the main plaza at the top of the hill, the shops are located 10 minutes down the side. There are about 5 restaurants in the plaza and the very popular Contucci Cantina , where one will find Adamo who will lead you on a tour and wine tasting.
We will miss Meuble Il Riccio and would recommend it.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

This hotel is a real treat. I stayed there in 1999. The rooms have not changed--simple with all necessities, clean is ever. Really good location steps from the main square.
Since my last visit they have added a most elegant great entry and breafast room. This room is beautiful!
Ivana made a fresh torte each morning of our three day stay(one better than the next). Breakfast costs an extra 8 euros, well worth it.
This is not the most luxurious place we have stayed at, but one of the most charming.
Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinoperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montepulciano hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Cicolina
Villa Cicolina
#3 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#6 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Poggiano
Villa Poggiano
#7 of 29 in Montepulciano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Il Rondo
Albergo Il Rondo
#5 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Stelle
Hotel Tre Stelle
#4 of 29 in Montepulciano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meuble il Riccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meuble il Riccio

Property: Meuble il Riccio
Address: Via Talosa 21, 53045, Montepulciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montepulciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Montepulciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caroti family is delighted to announce the opening of another new place to stay called "Riccio Suite" on the first floor of the family's palace where, on the second floor there is the "Meublè il Riccio" which has been open twenty-eight years ago.The "Riccio Suite" has five beautiful bedrooms with panoramic view and old fashion Tuscan style furniture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Meuble Il Riccio Hotel Montepulciano
Meuble Il Riccio Montepulciano
Hotel Meuble Il Riccio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing